Fit Do You Do On The Rigs?

Sonic

work offshore nae on a rig though on a DSV (diving support vessell) its arite work 12 hour shifts 6-6 month on month (suposedly) off , foods pretty good cooks are fillipino , have sky ,tinternet on suite bathroom in the cabin , theres also a gym sauna etc etc on there. also working on a ship you usually get a port every couple of weeks , so can go for a beer after shift which breaks up the trip !

• Replies 156

Im sure i replied to a similar thread the other day :dontknow: Anyways im a planner working 2 on / 3 off for Petrofac. Its a good gig.

My usual routine offshore is:

6am - Get up

6.30am - Have breakfast

6.45am - Start work

9am - Hit the galley for some tabnabs

11.30am - Lunch (either sleep for an hour or go to the gym)

12.45pm - Work

3pm - Galley for some craic

6.30pm - Dinner

7.30 - 9pm - Gym

9pm - Watching an episode of whatever tv series im watchin (The Shield at the mo)

10pm - Sleep

By work i mean work/talk sh*t/internet. The only alteration to that is film night on a Sat. Now x14 and you'll get my two weeks.

Couldn't go back to working 9-5 Mon-Fri

I used to work ad-hoc all over the world (from Norway to Equatorial Guinea to South Africa) for a Gyro company, doing surveys of oil/gas wells. Did that for 3 years. Trips could be from 4 days to 6 weeks. On all longer trips I would spend half the time in a nice hotel getting pissed every night waiting for the next job to begin in whatever country i was in. Never spent more than 15 days in a row on a rig. Sometimes it was like a holiday with your mates that you were actually getting paid

A lot more civilised offshore now when I first started 30 years ago the entertaiment was a table tennis table and the films were the reels and projector often you would watch the first reel then someone would put the 3rd one on instead of the 2nd.There were some real rig pigs then I was on a Yank owned rig with communal showers and most of the toilet cubicles had no doors often you would be having a shower and some fat yank would be sitting on the bog reading a porno mag ! But the job is easier now and things have definately changed for the better.

Im sure i replied to a similar thread the other day :unsure: Anyways im a planner working 2 on / 3 off for Petrofac. Its a good gig.

My usual routine offshore is:

6am - Get up

6.30am - Have breakfast

6.45am - Start work

9am - Hit the galley for some tabnabs

11.30am - Lunch (either sleep for an hour or go to the gym)

12.45pm - Work

3pm - Galley for some craic

6.30pm - Dinner

7.30 - 9pm - Gym

9pm - Watching an episode of whatever tv series im watchin (The Shield at the mo)

10pm - Sleep

By work i mean work/talk sh*t/internet. The only alteration to that is film night on a Sat. Now x14 and you'll get my two weeks.

Couldn't go back to working 9-5 Mon-Fri

I don't trust the planners on my platform, there wasn't such a thing as a planner only a few years ago so where have they appeared from? Anyway since you're a dandy we'll let you off :unsure:

I'm also watching the Shield offshore this trip, got 2 epsiodes of series 1 to watch then I'll need to get a hold of series 2, seems to get better as it goes along.

I did try the Mon-Fri work for a year or so at a gas terminal but I couldn't get used to it, found myself living for the weekend and when it came it was over in a flash. Give me 3 weeks off any time.

Used to work for the Fac, they were Atlantic Power when I started with them. My bro works for them now.

The platform I am on is alright, got most things although no xbox which is pissing me off to the point that I am considering buying myself one to leave in the cabin.

What if the next guy in your cabin nicks it?!?

I'm also watching the Shield offshore this trip, got 2 epsiodes of series 1 to watch then I'll need to get a hold of series 2, seems to get better as it goes along.

O/T, but it's brilliant. Definitely gets better as it goes along (think you can pick up each season for about

I work onshore but have to go off every now and again for surveys, dont really like it that much even though im only away for usually a few days at a time (longest been away 5 days) i think of it as a prison apart from you have to work and you dont get jobbie jabbed.

Give me a 9-5 ish with concrete under my feet anyday!

The best thing i think about working offshore is the cheap fags! under

I dont understand how people are desperate to work offshore when they have never done it before, its not exactly glamorous.

Money talks min.

They hear their mates coming home saying "I made x amount for 2 weeks, its great you sit around doing f-all all day"

Not saying its a bad thing, just not for me.

You can easily put it in your locker to stop everyone but the most determined thieves stealing it.

Btw, see when you're offshore, are you allowed holidays over and above your time off? Say if you've got a wedding to go to or something?

Depends on your rota. Some on 2 and 2 and ad hoc rotas get 4 weeks paid leave a year. On 2 and 3 you don't. Hence why I have missed 4 mates weddings thius year. The last one being this saturday past. It's part of the job though so you just get on with it. If you do not get holidays you need to work it out with your back to back (boy that comes on the rig to replace you) and either work extra time for him or give him your days wage. I cna never be arsed and if you start doing it for 1 mate then the rest expect you to do it for them as well which would rapidly turn into a nightmare.

not like bruce willis in Armageddon - more like Ed Harris in the Abyss. "I'm the toolpusher on this rig, there's me, then there's god".

I've not worked on a driller as crew for 7 years, I just knew it would wind up platform softies!

That will be Rousty pusher then :thumbs: :hysterical:

Btw, see when you're offshore, are you allowed holidays over and above your time off? Say if you've got a wedding to go to or something?

Could put it in the locker, my back to backs are in the same cabin so if they promised to look after it I'd maybe leave it out for them.

Anyway my back to backs are sound so never have a problem getting time off if I need it as long as we end up doing the amount of days we are supposed to. We'll even work Christmas and New Year to make sure it's always fair on all of us, not sure what will happen this year yet though.

Can undersrtand what CoopyLoopyPoopy says, if you work within a group then it might be a bit of a pain if you needed time off because then everyone will expect you to do it for them, different for me because there is only me and my back to backs that do my job.

As for not seeing the attraction of offshore, 3 weeks off in every 5 to do whatever you want and loads of

Money talks min.

They hear their mates coming home saying "I made x amount for 2 weeks, its great you sit around doing f-all all day"

As for not seeing the attraction of offshore, 3 weeks off in every 5 to do whatever you want and loads of

My attraction to offshore is probably the length of time you'd be working, the money and the conditions, my dad has worked offshore for 35 years and I know what the risks are and I know about all the little good things aswell which appeal to me. I just hope I get and stick to a suitable weight aswell as find a suitable job for myself which will allow offshore work.

Could put it in the locker, my back to backs are in the same cabin so if they promised to look after it I'd maybe leave it out for them.

Anyway my back to backs are sound so never have a problem getting time off if I need it as long as we end up doing the amount of days we are supposed to. We'll even work Christmas and New Year to make sure it's always fair on all of us, not sure what will happen this year yet though.

Can undersrtand what CoopyLoopyPoopy says, if you work within a group then it might be a bit of a pain if you needed time off because then everyone will expect you to do it for them, different for me because there is only me and my back to backs that do my job.

My attraction to offshore is probably the length of time you'd be working, the money and the conditions, my dad has worked offshore for 35 years and I know what the risks are and I know about all the little good things aswell which appeal to me. I just hope I get and stick to a suitable weight aswell as find a suitable job for myself which will allow offshore work.

I don't think there are any real risks, probably safer than most labour type jobs on the beach what with the safety controls for just about every task offshore. It can be a pain but it's there for a reason, to stop people getting hurt and costing the oil companies money in fines. Also I don't even think about the flying in a helicopter aspect of working out here now, maybe the first trip after that accident but not now.

the time off and the money is good like , i couldna work 9-5 now ! does any one ever get the dreaded could you do us a favour after you v been home about 3 days :cry:

I don't, well not often. I have more than enough to do at home before doing other people jobs. I did offer to help coopy100 decorate his house but his living room has been sitting half plastered for 3 months now, I think he's beginning to like it.

I work offshore on an as and when basis. Can be for as long as 5 days,1 week,2 weeks or 3 weeks. Depends on the job really. I'm currently on the AUK for a shutdown and this is like my 4th trip in a row out here,so got to know the guys out here quite well. And they're all good guys.

But sometimes when we're not busy i can be home for weeks on end and still get paid my monthly salary. So that's not to bad. Just spend more than normal in the pub though.

Usually busy during Shutdown season and quiet at winter time.

See lots of different rigs/platforms. Worked on Fixed,Semi'-subs,Jack ups,FPSO's,DSV's,Pipelaying barges,Land terminals etc.

Quite enjoy it and the varied work and could never go back to the Plumbing & Heating 9 to 5 lark i used to do.

And like the other guys have said,your well looked after on the rigs.

I kinda fancy working in the Oil, been getting bored at College. The only thing I don't want to do though is give up my season ticket for Aberdeen though, I mean yeah I'll have an ace job but my main hobby is Aberdeen and I hate not being at games. Would love to go offshore if it was Monday to Friday.

I wanted to be an offshore worker when I was a bairn and all of our lodgers laughed at me. Not so hilarious now that my pals working offshore earn 3x my money.

Should've stuck to my guns, although does sound a bit boring and you've got to hope that the missus has not blown your whole trip on Prada.

Definitely has it's attractions, but there's also alot to be said for coming home at the end your working day and being able do/go where you want and having every weekend free. Also means you can pick and choose your holidays as and when you want and not miss things like Euro away games etc...

I've done both. Spent 6 months in an office monday to friday 9 to 5 and hated it. The thought that you had to get up every morning to go to work depressed me no end. Much rather be doing what I am just now.

I don't, well not often. I have more than enough to do at home before doing other people jobs. I did offer to help coopy100 decorate his house but his living room has been sitting half plastered for 3 months now, I think he's beginning to like it.

Aye and if it isnae din by i time I get hame then I'll be haein words we the wee sh*te that is dein it.

Personally I hated working offshore.

There seemed to be a high percentage of guys offshore who were divorced. :tumbleweed:

Not sure if there is a higher percentage of boys offshore divorced than the population at large. It probably helps save a few marriages as well with the husband not always getting hen pecked by his missus!

I wanted to be an offshore worker when I was a bairn and all of our lodgers laughed at me. Not so hilarious now that my pals working offshore earn 3x my money.

Should've stuck to my guns, although does sound a bit boring and you've got to hope that the missus has not blown your whole trip on Prada.

Or getting drilled (no pun intended) by the next door neighbour.

I'm at the stage of my trip where the job just keeps getting better. When you first get offshore it isn't too bad because you see all the guys again and get all their stories from their time off. After a day or 2 you start to feel doomed up because reality has set in. You get the first weekend out of the way but then you get the mid trip blues. Once that's over and you realise you only have 1 more weekend to do and you are all but home you all of a sudden start to feel good realising you are only going to work 4 days in the next 25, this is the stage I am currently at. 1 more fish and chips, 1 more Saturday night, 1 more Sunday roast and 1 more boat drill and I'm done.

I kinda fancy working in the Oil, been getting bored at College. The only thing I don't want to do though is give up my season ticket for Aberdeen though, I mean yeah I'll have an ace job but my main hobby is Aberdeen and I hate not being at games. Would love to go offshore if it was Monday to Friday.

They do an offshore season ticket that is a book for 10 home games in a season.

Works out fine for me.

I don't agree, I feel like an alien when I first get home because everyone has been getting on with their lives with you not there and all of a sudden you are back and things just seem different, back to normal after a day or two.

The platform I am on is alright, got most things although no xbox which is pissing me off to the point that I am considering buying myself one to leave in the cabin. Even though it's ok it's still balls being away from home, when you think about what you miss when you are away you realise that you earn every penny you make out here and I don't even have kids yet.

tainboy is obviously some drilling muppet who thinks he's some sort of offshore hero, drilling for oil like he is Bruce Willis in Armageddon. Either that or he has no clue because no matter where you work it's tough leaving everything behind when you go unless your life at home is that sh1t you don't care.

Xbox for the room sounds like a great idea, although would need to get some games too. how much is an xbox nowadays anyways? I am guessing that between 3 people it would cost almost nothing?

Personally I hated working offshore.

There seemed to be a high percentage of guys offshore who were divorced. :dancin:

i have herd some tales of divorce in my time offshore, off to denmark next week for a month quite looking forward to it but know when i get there ill want to come home . At least the football season ll be away to start when i get back

Money talks min.

Aye i know that, just think thats all that people think about, some forget the fact that they will not see friends & family etc.

The way i have it suits me to be honest though, normality of working onshore but get the extra beer tokens when there's a survey needed done.

Each to their own at the end of the day :ThumbsDown:

I work offshore on an as and when basis. Can be for as long as 5 days,1 week,2 weeks or 3 weeks. Depends on the job really. I'm currently on the AUK for a shutdown and this is like my 4th trip in a row out here,so got to know the guys out here quite well. And they're all good guys.

What are you doing on the AUK? We are just finishing off a job there on the old derrick.

I work onshore but have to go off every now and again for surveys, dont really like it that much even though im only away for usually a few days at a time (longest been away 5 days) i think of it as a prison apart from you have to work and you dont get jobbie jabbed.

Give me a 9-5 ish with concrete under my feet anyday!

The best thing i think about working offshore is the cheap fags! under