Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

Derek McInnes has given me some of my best moments supporting the Dons.

That semi at Tynecastle

Knocking Celtic out the cup at Parkhead

Ending the trophy draught

Beating Groningen away

Beating Rijeka away

Maddison's last minute winner

Beating Hibs at Hampden

Winning at Ibrox three times

Beating them at Hampden

And loads of good bounces in between.

I'll take being shite sometimes to enjoy all that. Topping it off with a Scottish Cup would be fucking marvellous, especially if he does it by beating Rangers at Ibrox, Celtic at Hampden, then doing Hearts in the final.

Been to them all barring 2 of the 3 wins at Ibrox. Some bounces looking back on it.

His record in Glasgow now is fucking amazing

I thought thats what you all wanted!!!

And that’s without the gimme of Partick.......

I wonder if the board have said they’d back him with signings as long as he was more proactive in bringing the youth players through? Or was he just being patient and knew we were due some good players through the ranks?

That semi at Tynecastle

Beating Groningen away

Beating Rijeka away

Beating Hibs at Hampden

Beating them at Hampden

I'll take being shite sometimes to enjoy all that. Topping it off with a Scottish Cup would be fucking marvellous, especially if he does it by beating Rangers at Ibrox, Celtic at Hampden, then doing Hearts in the final.

I'd add the Motherwell away game on the way to winning the League Cup (when Shaughnessy got sent off early) to that list.

I have to admit that I have criticized DM a great deal in recent times, including my perceived opinion that he didn't give youth a chance in past seasons i.e he only played McKenna because we were so pish in the previous game against Motherwell.

However completely happy to eat humble pie after last night. Three teenagers in midweek and beating the Huns in their own back yard was like a throwback to Fergie years.

Our season had to be focused in taking out the Tims and winning the cup

He had a pretty funny comment on the radio post match about being the new Jim McLean with all these kids signed long term.

As mentioned elsewhere he had a fair comment about why Deano isn't playing as often as we'd like but gets a game against the bigger teams.

What was he saying about young dean?

Aye I'd like to know as well because Deano's lack of game time has been pretty bewildering.  He's looked up to the challenge in every game he's played, which is more than can be said for some of the established first teamers.

Is it because Huns and Tims try and play football* and putting him out against shit like Hamilton will result in his knee's getting split?

*the huns dinna play football.  They fanny around and dive about for 90 minutes and sometimes get penalties.

He had a pretty funny comment on the radio post match about being the new Jim McLean with all these kids signed long term.

As mentioned elsewhere he had a fair comment about why Deano isn't playing as often as we'd like but gets a game against the bigger teams.

what was the explanation

That he's better in "technical games" and is less accustomed/ready to scrappy, battle type games. And that he needs to essentially learn how to play in games vs carthorses who'll just boot him about the place. However in games against guys who'll play football, he's happy that Campbell can hold his own.

That semi at Tynecastle

Beating Groningen away

Beating Rijeka away

Beating Hibs at Hampden

Beating them at Hampden

Add in scoring about 1000 goals against Partick, Dundee and Motherwell in those barnstormers, knocking high flying Killie out the cup and that backs to the wall LC victory against Motherwell and it’s not too shabby!!

You know if we don’t win on Saturday people will be back calling for his head though don’t you

Inconsistent at home the biggest criticism, mainly due to lack of creativity when we need to make the play.

Seeing some younger players break through has been the biggest bonus. We haven't had a crop with potential like this for a long time. I'm pretty excited about it.

Oh and knocking the Huns out of both cups.

Agree with all the above.

Young players breaking into the team is certainly the biggest bonus this year.

Bringing our own young players through or signing good young players from other teams and then selling them on when it suits us is certainly the model which will see us florish in years to come.

That he's better in "technical games" and is less accustomed/ready to scrappy, battle type games. And that he needs to essentially learn how to play in games vs carthorses who'll just boot him about the place. However in games against guys who'll play football, he's happy that Campbell can hold his own.

Traditionally a young lad would get loaned out to toughen them up . That likely to happen with Deano next year ?