Poker

dervish

I play on fulltilt. I'm on there now, just playing a freeroll.

Used to play a lot of $3 +30 KO tournies and $6 + 60s they start with 90 players. Most KOs I got in one game was 15, so made $7.50 @ 0.50 a KO, winner gets $72, the $6, only won 1 and that was $144.

Won $100 in a freeroll the other week on partypoker, it was Newcastle mad, only about 8 players turned up :laughing:

But I definitely go periods when I can't be @rsed.

Yeah see I got for the low stakes or satellites most of the time too. Take a big game mentality (i.e. boring) to low stakes and you tend to do ok IMHO. Normally play on Sky (used to be one of the few plays linux would let play). Way I used to do it was playing the sat for a sat so have a 50/50 for getting into a £20-£50 game for £2 and do okish against some pretty reasonable players. But... used to take ages so got c**ted off.

Same with live 90% of people are total pi$h but you still need to listen to their "advice" on their 5th rebuy halfway through a tourny. Right now on a sort of healthy liking for it but two years ago was mad for it, never lost much or anything just got bored, but thinking of starting up a game with my mates or something. Local club has a game but gads used to playing down the line in £1k prize games every week so hearing some d1ck from down the street (in wick...) wearing shades... tell me how to play over some buttons is peeving.

Should have said, IMHO think the key to winning a bit is to know your level then play a bit lower. Me I'm not great prob a £10-£20 player online (sort of breaking even at that level barring drinking... :P), but if I play lower I tend to do ok.

Same with live 90% of people are total pi$h but you still need to listen to their "advice" on their 5th rebuy halfway through a tourny.

Aye this. Doesn't matter where you go, it's always full of "experts". The general rule of thumb is, the more they expound on game theory, the worse they are.

• 10 months later...

Getting half decent at this malarky now.

Won last two games at work. Play on a Monday and Friday with a fiver a head and a fiver buy back that ends after first set of blinds. (20 minutes)

Anyone here decent at it and willing to share the odd tip or two?

Don't bother with online as I'd prefer to see who I am playing face to face but every tip welcome.

I've got it into me that 8,9 suited can be quite a good hand to play.

Is that a fair assumption?

Fatshaft I see for all your ranting and raving in various other threads you appear to be shit hot at poker.

What's the script?

Tips?

Tactics?

I'm utter horse at it lately weird combo of not being arsed and being rusty. Think I've lost my last like 8 games online (only play sporadically and shite....).

Easiest tip is see when the cards get dished out, don't just pick yours up and take a look leave em and watch everyone elses reaction. Sometimes you'll spot someone else doing the same is quite funny wee knowing nod of the head when you spot each other.

Getting half decent at this malarky now.

Won last two games at work. Play on a Monday and Friday with a fiver a head and a fiver buy back that ends after first set of blinds. (20 minutes)

Anyone here decent at it and willing to share the odd tip or two?

Don't bother with online as I'd prefer to see who I am playing face to face but every tip welcome.

I've got it into me that 8,9 suited can be quite a good hand to play.

Is that a fair assumption?

Fatshaft I see for all your ranting and raving in various other threads you appear to be shit hot at poker.

What's the script?

Tips?

Tactics?

Yes, no.

Played for a long time, was playing pro before moving back to Aberdeen. Tips? Ye can fuck off. :spunk:

On second thoughts, a bit harsh.

you playing cash or tournies?

:laughing: at first post.

Nae sure what that means to be honest FS.

We all get 100 chips and last man left wins the pot. I presume that's a tournament?

Took 70 quid on Friday and 55 on the Monday.

Playing tonight again. Normally at least 7 of us playing.

The 8,9 suited is definitely something I'm interested to hear about as I've been having some considerable success playing it.

89suited just plays well post flop. It's one of those hands that's worth calling/raising in position because it has pretty decent equity at all times. It's only ever at worst a 34% underdog against the top 10% of hands(88+,A9s+,KTs+,QTs+,AJo+,KQo):

equity win tie pots won pots tied

Hand 0: 66.185% 65.86% 00.32% 554854424 2724776.00 { 88+, A9s+, KTs+, QTs+, AJo+, KQo }

Hand 1: 33.815% 33.49% 00.32% 282149592 2724776.00 { 98s }

:laughing: at first post.

Nae sure what that means to be honest FS.

We all get 100 chips and last man left wins the pot. I presume that's a tournament?

Took 70 quid on Friday and 55 on the Monday.

Playing tonight again. Normally at least 7 of us playing.

The 8,9 suited is definitely something I'm interested to hear about as I've been having some considerable success playing it.

That's a sit and go Boof.

Cash games - you play with whatever amount of chips (subject to a minimum/maximum) you like, and play with a level of blinds that never changes. You play for as long or short as you like.

Multi-table tourney (MTT) - A number of players creating two or more tables of players buy in for the same set amount, and play for all the chips in play with escalating blinds that change ever 'x' minutes. Usually 10% of players get paid out, the majortiy going to the top 3 normally. Tourney ends when all the chips are are with one person.

Sit and gos (SNG or STT) - A single table tournament run like an MTT but with just one table, and finishe when someone has all the chips.

I used to be a cash player, now I'm an MTT player, never - apart from a rare change of scenery - been a SNG player.

Theory for all three games is different, though a general get in cheap with speculative hands, don't play junk out of position, and raise your big hands is all you need to know for most live games, and especially live games amongst mates.

• 7 months later...

First cash game in Aberdeen last night. First visit to the G Casino. My mate was up for the weekend so we had met at The Grill for one before a curry and a minor pub crawl (man the toon is dead these days) and dived in to the Casino about 10.30 ish.

My mate was needing hame but having had success in the Gala on Sauchiehall Street a couple of years ago the only other time I've played at a cash table - got escorted out by security with

I don't know how to play poker.

Would like to learn though.

I play twice a week at work.

Do OK at it but my biggest failing is not being able to recognise when there is a hand that beats me when I think I have a belter of a hand myself.

Often miss the flush or the straight when there are 2 of one suit out on the flop and another comes out on the turn or a 9, J, K on the flop to give a chance of a straight. I could have pocket kings with that last one and think I'm home and dry with three kings nae thinking some cunt has a 10,Q.

It's an easy game to learn but an incredibly difficult one to master.

Being able to suss percentages would be an advantage as well. I basically only know you've a 2% chance of hitting any given card which although is obvious it's not always thought about.

If you can't even see, let alone consider the implications of, straight and flush opportunities then you'll never make money at poker.

I know. I do see them just not all the time. I just get hand blind to what I have especially if I happen to have a decent hand. The flushes are easier to spot than a potential straight with a couple of cards either side of a straight. Difficult to describe and the 9, J, K was probably a bad example but you maybe see what I'm getting at. I would be hopeless pished.

I win the odd game but I'm more in it for the time spent than the win and wouldn't dream of playing in a casino. Purely for fun at the moment.

What I do find amusing is when I win a hand and the more experienced guys say why the fuck did you bet with that?