Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

...You go to work, you do a great job every day, everyone is impressed with how you are doing and then you are presented with a project that is deemed more difficult. You panic, you try to change your usual approach and you fuck it up. You then go back to your every day, normal job and again do well, everyone is again impressed with you. Another difficult project comes up and you now have an opportunity to redeem yourself, what do you do? approach it the same way or try and change it? with Mcinnes, he approaches it the same way, every time. He doesn't ever try to change his approach to the so-called "big" games. How many games has he now gone without a win in those games?

If he could change his ways and start to really believe we can beat Sevco and Celtic, he may just turn out to be better than good. Until he does, he will always be remembered as a decent, but a frustrating and average manager. He needs to take us to the next level if he is to be classed as a huge success. IMO, we are doing about as good as should be expected.

McInnes will be no more than a footnote in the history of AFC.

Prediction: we will not win another trophy under his leadership.

Probably this.

Like i've said previously, off the pitch is where he has done his good work for us, dragging us up out the gutter and back to where we should be performing, and being at the forefront of sorting out the stadium/training facilities.

On the pitch, as just said, he's got us to where we SHOULD be performing. He's had the 2nd biggest budget in the premiership for most of his time here, and we've been the second best team in the league.

We should really have won more than just 1 league cup (which we just managed to scrape a victory in) during his time here based on the money he's had to spend as opposed to the rest of the clubs.

...You go to work, you do a great job every day, everyone is impressed with how you are doing and then you are presented with a project that is deemed more difficult. You panic, you try to change your usual approach and you fuck it up. You then go back to your every day, normal job and again do well, everyone is again impressed with you. Another difficult project comes up and you now have an opportunity to redeem yourself, what do you do? approach it the same way or try and change it? with Mcinnes, he approaches it the same way, every time. He doesn't ever try to change his approach to the so-called "big" games. How many games has he now gone without a win in those games?

If he could change his ways and start to really believe we can beat Sevco and Celtic, he may just turn out to be better than good. Until he does, he will always be remembered as a decent, but a frustrating and average manager. He needs to take us to the next level if he is to be classed as a huge success. IMO, we are doing about as good as should be expected.

What a load of pish

Point stands

He has broken points records, as a season is judged over 38 games

If he beats Celtic and rangers all the time he wins the league

Not winning the league doesn't render him below average son

He's judged over cup competions too.

Europa League- Hasn't improved.

League Cup- 1 win in his first full season. Failed since.

Scottish Cup- Hasn't improved.

So barring one game, he has only lost to clubs that spend 4 to 10 times what he does?

Interesting

It’s the manner of the defeats. He bottles it before the games even started.

What is it like 7 and a half hours we’ve played them and only managed one goal? Blame Rooney all you want but the manager needs to take most of the blame.

We don't know that he bottles it

The scum players seem to genuinely raise their games against us, which is a compliment

A season is judged over the entirety and he has been bloody brilliant

Are you on drugs?

The final we lost 3-0 is a good enough example of him fucking around with the team/bottling it. He plays to limit their strengths and forgets playing to ours. It doesn’t work.

We don't know that he bottles it

The scum players seem to genuinely raise their games against us, which is a compliment

A season is judged over the entirety and he has been bloody brilliant

Settle, bloody brilliant is a bit over the top. We have the 3rd highest budget in the league and did well last season to finish second in everything, but this season we are about on par with where we should be in the league. Its not losing to them both that i hate... well yeah i do hate it, but its more the manner in how we lose. I agree they do raise their game against us, but we should know that by now and should equally do the same.

The performances against Sevco so far have been shocking and I mean shocking. Celtic are miles ahead of us, but again we just fold against them. Christ, in all of those games he has played 6 defensive players and somehow expects to walk away with a good result? I like McInnes, but he is't void of criticism when it is due. Im not saying he HAS to beat them, but he has to show that he can at least compete on the pitch and so far we just haven't.

He was the first manager to win there in 25 years was he not?

If he was brilliant in approach against each and every different challenge he wouldn't be here

So, would you rather have someone great at geeing them up against the old firm, but not as adept as dispatching teams he should and therefore not amassing as many points as we do under him at the end if each season?

I would prefer him to do both. If you can beat Sevco or Celtic, then you should be beating anyone else any way. Its not a case of one or the other. Yes, he was the first to win there in 25 years and he deservedly got credit at the time for achieving that. The performances there since, havent even come close to that night and he has to share responsibility for that.

I think you are getting me wrong here, im not saying he is shit and im not saying he should be sacked or anything ridiculous like that, Im just saying he has done good, but he could do better. There is always room for improvement and Derek's Kryptonite thus far this season has been the cheeks. He is frustrating because he gets us playing well, winning games and then changes everything for those cunts and we are back to "we go again". We cant keep burying our heads in the sand all because we can beat Killie and Hamilton.

We would all love him to do both

What I an saying though is if he did that we would win the league

So by association you are saying because he doesn't win the league it isn't good enough

If he could manage a team to win the big games AND despatch wee teams, he would be managing a top club in a top league

I am generally speaking a supporter of McInnes but I do think he tries to be too clever in the bigger games by picking weird formations/teams rather than just picking a team and formation that plays to our strengths. I agree if he was good at everything he wouldn't be here but take Hibs as an example this season of what can be done against the bigot brothers - yes they have only won one out of six but all have been competitive games (agg score 14-11) and nobody can tell me they have better players than us and compare that with us who have not laid a finger on them in five games.

It depends on what you want from a football season I guess. Piling up the points like we have done over the last 3-4 years (generally by beating the poorer teams much more effectively than anyone else - even Celtic at times) gets us second place and maybe third in the future depending on whether Sevco get their act together or not and so a place in Europe. However our general inability to win anywhere like a fair proportion of the big games that the second/third team should do in any league means we will always struggle to win a cup because unless we get lucky in the draw to win a cup you generally have to beat at least one of the other big teams and maybe more.

I know we all want everything but on balance I would rather we had an approach that focussed on playing to our strengths in every game (Shinnie at left back for instance) so give us an opportunity to win a bigger proportion of the games against our main competition even if that meant that occaisionally we dropped silly points against the bottom six teams for example because we didn't match up to them physically. It looks like it will get harder to win cups in the next few years compared with the last few but we do need to figure out a way to win more silverware than we have done given the team we can be.

I would prefer him to do both. If you can beat Sevco or Celtic, then you should be beating anyone else any way. Its not a case of one or the other. Yes, he was the first to win there in 25 years and he deservedly got credit at the time for achieving that. The performances there since, havent even come close to that night and he has to share responsibility for that.

I think you are getting me wrong here, im not saying he is shit and im not saying he should be sacked or anything ridiculous like that, Im just saying he has done good, but he could do better. There is always room for improvement and Derek's Kryptonite thus far this season has been the cheeks. He is frustrating because he gets us playing well, winning games and then changes everything for those cunts and we are back to "we go again". We cant keep burying our heads in the sand all because we can beat Killie and Hamilton.

2015/2016 he beat celtic twice in the league, however he also lost more games against the rest than he has done in any other season in charge.

Seems like it IS one or the other with McInnes

We would all love him to do both

What I an saying though is if he did that we would win the league

So by association you are saying because he doesn't win the league it isn't good enough

If he could manage a team to win the big games AND despatch wee teams, he would be managing a top club in a top league

I agree but I don't think folk are necessarily saying they expect him to win against the shite AND win the big games.

They're saying they'd accept defeats in the big games if he wasn't so fucking negative in the way he sets up the team in them.

How many of our players raise their level in the big games? How many of them shite it and are a shadow of themselves?

Why is the blame for our poor performances in big games this season all seemingly aimed at the manager?

Good question.

Players have to take some of the blame for sure.

But McInnes does have to take a good portion of the blame to be fair, he picks the players, sets out the strategy and is supposed to get them mentally prepared for it.

I agree but I don't think folk are necessarily saying they expect him to win against the shite AND win the big games.

They're saying they'd accept defeats in the big games if he wasn't so fucking negative in the way he sets up the team in them.

Fans just want to feel like we have a chance in those games and we'll fight for it best we can rather than meekly roll over or put in a sub par performance.

Good question.

Players have to take some of the blame for sure.

But McInnes does have to take a good portion of the blame to be fair, he picks the players, sets out the strategy and is supposed to get them mentally prepared for it.

I agree he got it wrong the first game at Ibrox, and his hand was forced into a lot of changes at Parkhead this season. Other than that his lineups have been what we would expect in any other game.

If the players aren't already motivated to go out and beat the clubs most hated rivals, and our closest competition in the league and cups, I don't understand what McInnes is supposed to do?

So hibs, that have only won once against them

Where are they in the league and what's happened between us and them this season?

That's my point - we have beaten them twice (arguably two of our best displays this season) because we are better than them. Yet somehow with their players they have one win, two draws and two one goal defeats against Celtic/Sevco. I'm not saying that's great but its a hell of a lot better than we have done with superior players. What can we learn from how they have played against them?

If we are to improve and hopefully win more trophies it's not from getting better results against the poorer teams as they are already almost as good as can be, it's about getting better results against other top 6 teams and I was using Hibs as an example of a lesser team who have matched the bigot brothers in pretty much every match they have played this season

I cannot fathom some folks mentalities on here. ebbe and V for Vendetta; as I recall; are two of the few posters who continually call it as it is. It does not make us (sorry for speaking on your behalf) overly negative or unrealistic - it is stating the obvious and not settling for our initial unlikely progress under McInnes which has since been in plateau for some time.

He may well be media savvy and have certain fans charmed - but he is a conceited bastard who is openly trying to use our club as a stepping stone despite being distinctly average in his role. He has trouble addressing the consistent problems on-field through his consistently poor decision making and lack of bottle.

I support the boy as long as he is our manager and hope he proves me wrong, but there is absolutely nothing to suggest he can take us further due to his own limitations.

Before the usual raft of "who'd we get in that can do any better?" - that's not for me to answer.

McInnes has the good will of fans because of the off-field changes (which he deserves most of the credit for) and the scraped cup win years ago. But the product is the fitba. We are second, that's where the budget suggests we should be, yadda yadda. So fucking what? The quality of the play is inconsistent, disjointed and confused.

If we "should" be beaten by Celtic because they have x times the budet we do, then why not actually just have a real go anyway? I know this will be met with replies along the lines of caution, counter-attacking, sneaking a goal is the best chance to win against Celtic.. but it belittles the entire teams mentality which is to bully all the other clubs and attack them to win.

It is accepting you are not as good before a ball has been kicked.

Yeah, based on budgets we should be finishing 3rd. But if the quality is shite and we are finishing 3rd then are we expected to be happy?

I'd rather we were have a go heroes and end up tailing off, finishing third or fourth, blooding youths and try to rectify where we could've done better the following year. As opposed to just grinding out another 2nd with a wad of loans we can't afford to sign, shite fitba and a complete lack of ideas about our fitba identity.

No doubt it'll be open season for the usual range of insults from the usual dour posters - but I'd point out that the people who are often seen as the most negative on here are actually the most positive about the club. They are not settling for the pish on the pitch or settling for being insulted by McInnes who thinks himself better than he actually is.

I agree he got it wrong the first game at Ibrox, and his hand was forced into a lot of changes at Parkhead this season. Other than that his lineups have been what we would expect in any other game.

If the players aren't already motivated to go out and beat the clubs most hated rivals, and our closest competition in the league and cups, I don't understand what McInnes is supposed to do?

Well quite simply he is supposed to find out WHY the players are not motivated to beat our biggest rivals and then remedy that problem. That exactly is his job.

It's been pointed out in the past, accompanied with the relevant data, that league placement generally has a direct correlation to money spent.

In a league like ours, though... where the one big club struggles on the European stage... a savvy manager and a team full of guys with the right mentality could realistically win the league.

But going up against Celtic... and for whatever bizarre reason, Sevco... our manager and players seem to leave their nuts at home,

Fuck knows why that is.

It's been pointed out in the past, accompanied with the relevant data, that league placement generally has a direct correlation to money spent.

In a league like ours, though... where the one big club struggles on the European stage... a savvy manager and a team full of guys with the right mentality could realistically win the league.

But going up against Celtic... and for whatever bizarre reason, Sevco... our manager and players seem to leave their nuts at home,

Fuck knows why that is.

Mentality is a big part of a successful players make up, the fact ours are, in this context, mentally weak is a part of why they are at a club of our standing in the modern game.

If you look at the big money teams down south, its fairly obvious that 90m lukaku is not a big game player.

Cost Man utd a fuckload of money to find out he's a shitebag and a flat track bully.

We have the same here in Rooney.