Scottish Communities Cup 3rd Round Draw

I recall a 1-0 defeat in the Cup '81.

That curly heeded fat lazy fuck scored it.

Remember being in a chinese restaurant (of sorts) behind their crumbling ground before the game, tucking into the biggest mountain of chips I've seen in my puff, then playing space invaders next to there while mi Da' and his mate got pished.

Then...on the wie back almost suffered serious injury.

We went doon in a pintirs van, so my Da' and his pal were in the front, while I was rummeling aboot in the back wi' all the tins and brushes and steps and shite.

So...almost hame...taks a left onto the newly created sliproad at Charleston to come into Altens.

Dinna think the thing was right finished yet.

Onyhoo, the driver misjudged the bend. Badly.

We went right up the bank, onto 2 wheels and the van landed practically on it's side against the slope.

So. That was fucking sair. And i was absolutely covered in pint (and bruises the next day) and louping o' turps and athing. They jist pushed the van back onto 4 wheels, gave me a wee dicht wi' some cloots, stuck me in the back again then drove aff.

Drapped me aff at my Ma's. Nae best pleased.

They jist pissed aff and dumped the car at the pub.

Good een.

May travel differently if I end up doon there this time... :unsure:

Used to be a graveyard for Dons teams in the 1980's

That fat bastard Andy Ritchie used to rifle them in from 40 yards and they'd beat us 1-0

Tricky tie, but no excuses if we don't get past them.

Last time I was there 14 February 1981 in Scottish Cup fourth round. We then went on an unbeaten cup run winning threeScottish cups and the ECWC and the Super Cup.

I'm sure there was even a game when we were in the middle of our Cappielow jinx, where a shot from one of the Morton players deflected off the ref straight into the path of a Morton striker to score the winner late on in the game.

I was at the 7-3 game back in 1996 (if I recall). Antonie Kombare (spelling) made his debut. I seem to remember there was a debate as to whether Dodds scored three and Windass scored four or whether Windass got three and Antonie scored.

Terrible ground. Pies are poor and Greenock...well the less said the better.