Scotland V England

Guest LondonScottish
Im watching on iraq goals so maybe a wee bit behind the actual score. But looks like Scotland have a real chance of beating England at something!

Its going to be mighty close. 6 overs left.

I'd prefer if Pietersen was out.

Guest LondonScottish
Its going to be mighty close. 6 overs left.

I'd prefer if Pietersen was out.

Pietersen (53 no ) smashed the winning 6 with an over to spare. 141 off 19/ 136 off 20.

Guest LondonScottish
Wouldn't say pieterson is a awesome cricketer. If you watched the ipl you would have seen that once he's up against quality players he actually looks very average. He's a one trick pony.

Anyone else play grades cricket out of interest?

He's one of the most exciting batsmen in the World. Flamboyant, aggressive, massive hitter. Was amazing in the 2005 ashes. KP is anything but average.

LOL

He was awesome 4 years ago, but he is certainly not one of the most exciting batsman in the world.

Do you actually watch cricket?

Wouldn't say pieterson is a awesome cricketer. If you watched the ipl you would have seen that once he's up against quality players he actually looks very average. He's a one trick pony.

Anyone else play grades cricket out of interest?

Have always secretly wanted to play cricket but always thought it was played by toffs (judging by who played for the Broch when I lived there)in the North East, drove past the Lairds cricket park in Methlick today the grounsman was lining it imagine it would nice there on a summers afternoon having a few beers and watching a game.

when was that??

going by the players that i've seen there in the last 10 years they would be anything but toffs

Guest LondonScottish
LOL

He was awesome 4 years ago, but he is certainly not one of the most exciting batsman in the world.

Do you actually watch cricket?

Why not? He's one of the most powerful hitters, can hit any area of the ground, perfected the switch hit, and is the man you want in there when runs are needed.

Do you actually watch cricket? You've probably never seen a cricket match in your life. (bar a wee knock around at Mannofield perhaps)

I'll be at Lords and the Oval as usual for the Ashes......

Guest LondonScottish
Why not? He's one of the most powerful hitters, can hit any area of the ground, perfected the switch hit, and is the man you want in there when runs are needed.

as will I.

So your wrong about the Mannofield suggestion, although do play there.

Care to answer the part about KP?

KP is a great player. He can appear abrasive but thats cos he is a great player playing in a sh*te structure and a 'jobs for the boys culture' (atleast under the previous regime). He demands that everyone gives 100% and that is when he gets frustrated...ie when people don't pull their weight.

Perfectly understandable and Id like to think id have a go at teammates (if i had any talent that is).

Heard an interesting fact aboot cricket in scotland. Apparentley there is more people play cricket in Scotland per head of population than in eng;land. I canna find anything to corroberate this story but can anyone else confirm if this is true?

I'll agree Pieterson 4 years ago was agood player. Although nowadays he has come very predictable.

I reckon we are going to have to agree to disagree on this matter, as you think he is awesome and I think he is average.

We will see how he copes in this years ashes I guess thats the real test.

Guest LondonScottish
I'll agree Pieterson 4 years ago was agood player. Although nowadays he has come very predictable.

I reckon we are going to have to agree to disagree on this matter, as you think he is awesome and I think he is average.

We will see how he copes in this years ashes I guess thats the real test.

We'll just have to wait and see. Just out of interest what sort of batting average would make KP an average player during the Ashes?

Guest LondonScottish
35 or below.

What do you think?

35 is quite high for an "average" player against Australia I'd think. In fact I'd say an average score of 35 would be damn good scoring from a batsman on either side in this ashes series.

I would think this series, the very top batsman, from either side, will be around the 45 mark., maybe 50 at an absolute push.

Heard an interesting fact aboot cricket in scotland. Apparentley there is more people play cricket in Scotland per head of population than in eng;land. I canna find anything to corroberate this story but can anyone else confirm if this is true?

i heard that per head of population there were more cricket players in Aberdeenshire than Yorkshire.

Philip Hughes around the 45-50 mark.

Spot on , If this kid starts well he will be the star of the ashes.

KP can be great on his day , But recently he has been very inconsistent and in the shorter game especially 20/20 he been pretty poor for a player with his skills.

Also in tests he seem to be unable to turn a 100 into a big big score , Thats prob more to do with his ego than anything else.

Spot on , If this kid starts well he will be the star of the ashes.

KP can be great on his day , But recently he has been very inconsistent and in the shorter game especially 20/20 he been pretty poor for a player with his skills.

Also in tests he seem to be unable to turn a 100 into a big big score , Thats prob more to do with his ego than anything else.

f**k off! surely nabody from buckie kens anything about cricket!!!

changed days up there!