Tv Series

16 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

I thought it was brilliant. Started watching a couple of months ago. Finished watching a couple of months ago. Binged it in less than half a week, which is unusual for me. I recommend it but different strokes different folks. Some people like Dads Army and Allo Allo and Only Fools and Horses and Gavin & Stacey etc., programmes I fucking detest and can't last beyond 5 minutes and it's the same for films and series, if a lot of folk like it, I usually don't. 

Cheers rocket. 

Similarly, I can't stand any of the programmes you've mentioned above. Watched the first two episodes of Succession last night and thought it was brilliant. Right up my street. Look forward to watching the rest. 

dinna hink its much o a stretch fir tenant tae pliy a nonchalant scotch manny..e cid dae it in is ez sleep..n is gade is e is meh praise is fir the cunts behint the scenes thit bring it tae life..thon merk wan escort..furnishins..thon grainy rover polis motors..it wis liket bein beck ther a wee bit..wit eh didna like wis it jist bein aboot the eftermeth o the killins..hink stv tried tae swerve a bullet wi that..thi didna want ony grizly stuff thid cid offend..victims names changed innaw.. bit o tip toein aboot wi that tae avoid troubl..thi shat a bit..hink its ganna b a courtrim drama noo n that's ok tae ?

2 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

@Oregon Red are you ok?

Horrendous fires on the west coast the noo.

I see Trump has the answer - it'll cool down, you wait and see - but what's the consensus over there?

Personally I think it's unsurprising that a planet getting warmer will see more fires like in Australia too and more extreme weather e.g. hurricanes etc.

The news seems to be putting it down to "climate change" but I'm not convinced. It's always been cyclical. The destruction of the forests and wetlands are a contributory factor for sure but I think the temperature increases that are melting the glaciers are more planet than man-made, with an acknowledgement that our pollution of the environment is a devastating and counterproductive disgrace. We will have plastic in our bloodstreams soon. 

I am fine. I think its very much man made climate change. I know world temperatures go through cycles, but this is happening way too fast. Been in Oregon 20 years and seen the summers getting hotter and drier every year, and the  famous rainy Oregon climate less every year. 

Now these fires right now are a combination of the dry season and really  strong very hot winds from the interior blowing west through the mountains and passes  that spread already burning wild fires.

Any thing that ridiculous Tangerine fuck says..do and believe the opposite

4 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Yes I agree re Trumpington, a total whack job and balloon. 26 years ago I met Roger Anthony in Melbourne, a remarkable man who ran this course called Crocodiles not Waterlilies. He advocated the 95% principle which is find out what 95% of people are doing, saying and thinking and then do, say and think the complete opposite. That appeals to me as much today as it did then.

Man-made climate change? It may well be, I don't know. My gut says it's a combination of both planet and man but I'm not qualified to say. What puzzles me now that you say it, with such a strong opinion as you have, is why science hasn't been able to present a more convincing case? Of course they may have already and the powerful lobbies and corporatocracy kleptocrats have suppressed it (definitive evidence that it has been man-made) but I do support the efforts of Greta, Extinction Rebellion etc. and was pleased to see that the key messages in David Attenborough's piece 48 hours ago made the MSM tonight. The pollution of our environment is beyond crisis now.

I didn't mean to  say 100% man made,  but our increasing population and increasing pollution of the atmosphere is driving it at a faster rate.

Your first paragraph, its like that here in rural areas. Its so depressing hear them spew the latest Trump thing and when you bring up a solid reason why he is lying ( usually) they zone it out and call you "Antifa"  that's the latest thing now. 

If this coming election gets fucked up i can see increasing violence on a greater scale than now. Luckily i have kept my British passport despite being a citizen here. And i am armed. Most of the right wing wackadoodles thing the "liberals" are against guns. Not now , you might have to protect your family if the election goes crazy or if Biden wins. The militias will respond if Trump  makes up stories about fictional electoral fraud if he loses.  To make things worse there are now Left wing militias appearing. Its a clusterfuck

21 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Jesus fuck min. I get what CNN report but even they're too pussy to report your actual experience of the truth.

Trump is dividing to conquer, an old tactic but a proven one. The only way he can be even close to having sufficient credibility left (not to be out on his ear already) is the sheer stupidity of the average Amerikun. It's a tragedy that the Dems couldn't put forward a stronger candidate than Biden. He's a cardigan, not a leader but the only viable option on the ballot given the thick, orange, corrupt, woman-abusing, racist cunt in situ.

Trumpism has become somewhat of a cult. The average Trump supporter watches Fox News and listens ti right wing talk shows. That's all the "news" they need.

I had many "friends" on Facebook who i considered OK back in 2016..now some are like crazy posting memes of muscle bound Trump on top of a tank..or walking hand in hand with Jesus..a few years ago I would have laughed thinking it a parody. But tit is not for them. I dont know how they can recover from this except in a mass purge of violence. I am worried.

I dislike Biden also but would crawl over a mile of broken glass to vote for him this time.  

12 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

How's the race situation where you are?

Could the shootings in Compton and the hijacking of other deputies in the last few days be the start of some serious race stuff?

It's obviously been disaffected blacks taking matters into their own hands so far but will this inspire a white vigilante backlash?

What can the country possibly do to stop the hijacking of police and/or random whites continuing?

The black community have had anger building up for many decades, centuries even. Racist white cops killing blacks has been happening for ages but the 2020 highly-public stuff started with BLM protests but may prove to be the catalyst, the spark that incites a BIG backlash and in the worst case scenario, it could get real ugly and very anarchic, particularly with so many guns floating about. Is this possible do you think?

Mostly OK. Most minorities here are Latino/ Mexican, Asian mainly Japanese/Chinese/ Vietnamese etc. Of course the Red Necks hate em all for "taking their jobs".

Small black minority in Portland that have got f*cked over by gentrification and the police in Portland do seem to be racist.

Some recent murders of cops at the rioting have actually been done by the "Boogaloo Bois"  a white extreme anti-government gang. They like to wear Hawaiian shirts under body armor and are named after what they call the new civil war ( The Boogaloo)..look it up you will be shocked. But the media even when the commit murder dont say much.

Do you only like Scottish humour then RS?

I must confess, I am more drawn to Scottish comedy such as Limmy and Chewin the Fat, although I think Burnistoun is far superior to Chewin the Fat. But without Chewin the Fat, there would be no Burnistoun...so that's a conundrum. 

Found myself down a youtube rabbit hole the other day watching episodes of City Lights and Naked Video...happy days. 

Have seen quite a lot of stand up comedy shows, mixture of Scottish and non-Scottish. My two favourites would have to be Stewart Lee and Jim Jeffries. Both very different, but both get me laughing a great deal.