Aberdeen 3 - 3 Celtic

Aye they'll pay for that hurried decision to appoint Lennon by losing possibly the last ever chance of a club winning 10IAR. They had Brenda under contract and held all the cards. They should've told Leicester/Brenda that if he was so keen to join them, that he would be allowed to do so in the close season and not before. This may well have caused Leicester to look elsewhere but if not, it would have given Celtic time to source a competent replacement. Instead, they knew that Lennon was available and arrogantly thought that they could bank £6million compensation whilst saving about £70k/week in wages and still be guaranteed to land 10IAR before sevco inevitably eventually caught them up.

They still could've kept the £6m and got a competent manager, they only installed Lennon as a temporary manager until the end of the season.

They appointed him as a permanent manager after the SC final in May. 

They are fucked if they stick with Lennon until the end of the season.

9 minutes ago, Lencarl said:

To win a League you must win games like the one today.

Drawing is not good enough.

Aberdeen are close to competing but not quite there.

Today is not the days that we lose the chance to win the league, it's the United 0-0 games that screw us over.

Similar to 2016 season, the draws against dross like ICT, Partick etc. around about Christmas time was as big a reason that we didn't win the league as the Rooney injury and the Ward recall to Liverpool. 

If we win the majority of games against the other 9 teams and get close to 80 points, we'll be close to a title winning season.

11 minutes ago, Parklife said:

I might be deluded but we're as good as both Celtic and the Huns. The league is there for us if we believe it. 

You are deluded. 

We need upgrades on Taylor (no explanation required), Considine (well deserved 2 Scotland caps but ageing and as seen today..not  got the pace to be a cog in a championship threatening side) and this one which might cause some on here to have apoplexy...A new keeper. Joe is generally steady enough, but every season has 2 or 3 absolute howlers which cost us points. The very top class keepers have one such howler per season at most. And for his size, he's pretty shocking at dominating the box when crosses come in. 

However on the upside, the team we have now is night and day better both to watch and as an effective unit. I think it's very unlikely with our current level of investment that we can win a league ahead of both the arse cheeks but when one has a bad season then we are certainly good enough to be able to get second ahead of that team.

Just now, shut up meg said:

They still could've kept the £6m and got a competent manager, they only installed Lennon as a temporary manager until the end of the season.

They appointed him as a permanent manager after the SC final in May. 

They are fucked if they stick with Lennon until the end of the season.

Today is not the days that we lose the chance to win the league, it's the United 0-0 games that screw us over.

Similar to 2016 season, the draws against dross like ICT, Partick etc. around about Christmas time was as big a reason that we didn't win the league as the Rooney injury and the Ward recall to Liverpool. 

If we win the majority of games against the other 9 teams and get close to 80 points, we'll be close to a title winning season.

You've got to do both. 

Take your share (or at least close to your share) against both Celtic and the Huns. 

And win the majority of the other games. 

We've done the latter a few times but failed miserably at the former for the most part. 

Very poor again from McInnes regards to the two subs in two mins effectively making us play the last half an hour without the chance of changing things, if he’d waited a couple of minutes he could have had Cosgrove and Wright on at the same time. Not the first time this season he has made an arse of things with the new sub rule 

13 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

You are deluded. 

We need upgrades on Taylor (no explanation required), Considine (well deserved 2 Scotland caps but ageing and as seen today..not  got the pace to be a cog in a championship threatening side) and this one which might cause some on here to have apoplexy...A new keeper. Joe is generally steady enough, but every season has 2 or 3 absolute howlers which cost us points. The very top class keepers have one such howler per season at most. And for his size, he's pretty shocking at dominating the box when crosses come in. 

However on the upside, the team we have now is night and day better both to watch and as an effective unit. I think it's very unlikely with our current level of investment that we can win a league ahead of both the arse cheeks but when one has a bad season then we are certainly good enough to be able to get second ahead of that team.

Doug Considine was a cog in a league winning season and he was only slightly better than Steve Ritchie.

7 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Thought Hayes was excellent against that wee PingPong geezer. Didn't dive in and knew he could watch him for speed in a race.

He needs to go further upfield before crossing the ball.

Maybe his aging little legs are gone.

His crossing certainly has.

Apart from that he was okay.

• Downvote 3
3 minutes ago, Lencarl said:

He needs to go further upfield before crossing the ball.

Maybe his aging little legs are gone.

His crossing certainly has.

Apart from that he was okay.

Very harsh. 

We play down the left all the time and ask a lot of Jonny both attacking and defensively. He's our most important player imo. 

He's also been carrying an injury and was up against a young energetic full back on his side. 

3 minutes ago, shut up meg said:

Doug Considine was a cog in a league winning season and he was only slightly better than Steve Ritchie.

15 league appearances covering for  injuries to Miller and McLeish is actually more than I remember him making that season. Willie Garner made 20. 

Given that Miller played 31 and McLeish 35  in a 36 game league...arithmetic says that a fair number of Garner and Considine senior's appearances must have been as substitutes, this in an era when only 2 subs were allowed.

I think Lennon was the right man to bring in for their treble treble as no one else would have “got it” quickly enough.  And of course he was cheap and had manufactured his release from Hibs 3 weeks earlier.

poor and arrogant decision to appoint him permanently though if a better option was available.  And then whether by design or instruction he’s totally fucked the window and let the cunts in.

either way, fuck him.  And fuck them.  Only themselves to blame.  The implosion will be magnificent. No reason we can’t get something out of it, not least since the alternative is particularly unappetising.

28 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

You are deluded. 

I disagree with a lot of that. Particularly the talk on Lewis. He's the best keeper in the division. 

1 minute ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

I think Lennon was the right man to bring in for their treble treble as no one else would have “got it” quickly enough.  And of course he was cheap and had manufactured his release from Hibs 3 weeks earlier.

poor and arrogant decision to appoint him permanently though if a better option was available.  And then whether by design or instruction he’s totally fucked the window and let the cunts in.

either way, fuck him.  And fuck them.  Only themselves to blame.  The implosion will be magnificent. No reason we can’t get something out of it, not least since the alternative is particularly unappetising.

A fine post. 

I'm yanking your chain TC, the chances of us winning the league is close to 0% however with a bit of belief, poor versions of Rangers and Celtic on the field and both of them concentrating on the 10 IAR pish, there is a very small chance of doing something great this season.

Win against all the dross and get above 80 points and you never know, maybe we'll see a "Leicester" up here.

8 minutes ago, Parklife said:

I disagree with a lot of that. Particularly the talk on Lewis. He's the best keeper in the division. 

McGregor is an odious cunt but I still think he's a better keeper than Joe. Craig Gordon would also have been better than him had Celtic not bizarrely allowed him to walk away. 

I agree he's better than the rest. But there are plenty goalkeepers throughout the world that are better than Joe. Whether they fall into our budget range might be open to question, but I'm certain there are some that do. It's up to our scouting dept to find them.

• Downvote 5
Just now, aberdeen1970 said:

Crazy talk now. 

Punting Lewis and replacing Hayes with Leigh is bonkers. 

You think we shouldn't always be looking to find better players than the incumbents in place? 

I'm not saying Lewis is a duff keeper. But I'm positive there are better keepers out there. If they're within our budget then I want us to sign them. 

2 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Why the hell would I down vote you , 1903 ?  Not me.  I thought Celtic's main threat was getting PingPong  to the byline and Hayes was fantastic against him. 

Probably one of the comic nerds. 

Going forward offered fuck all and seemed to give the ball away. Maybe I missed him covering their right back. 

1 minute ago, Ten Caat said:

You think we shouldn't always be looking to find better players than the incumbents in place? 

I'm not saying Lewis is a duff keeper. But I'm positive there are better keepers out there. If they're within our budget then I want us to sign them. 

I think there are possibly half a dozen positions we need to improve before we look at the goalie 

1 minute ago, aberdeen1970 said:

I think there are possibly half a dozen positions we need to improve before we look at the goalie 

I don't . Taylor and Considine for sure. A  true number 10 possibly. 

I knew my suggestion wouldn't go down well with some. I'm just not overly convinced that Lewis is anything more than a steady keeper. If there's someone better we identify, I don't care if there are other positions that might need upgrading. I want that better option signed

3 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

I don't . Taylor and Considine for sure. A  true number 10 possibly. 

I knew my suggestion wouldn't go down well with some. I'm just not overly convinced that Lewis is anything more than a steady keeper. If there's someone better we identify, I don't care if there are other positions that might need upgrading. I want that better option signed

2 centre backs

Right wing back (and a back up) 

Attacking midfielder 

Back up left wing back 

Striker (or two) 

Probably all required before a new first team goalie. 

21 hours ago, afc1903mad said:

That’s not good. Who do you think McInnes is likely to turn to if he doesn’t make it?

21 hours ago, NEM said:

I’m sure the council won’t notice if we borrow one of the 10 thousand traffic cones littering the beach area 

If McInnes has any ambition of winning the cup he better be on the phone to the council first thing tomorrow. Fucking donkey turned inside out for 2 of Maris Piper FC’s goals ?

Blatantly obvious he’s the weak link.

That aside decent performance and hopefully gives us the confidence to have a right go tomorrow. Big Hampden pitch should suit the likes of Hedges, Wright and Watkins whereas previously it’s been advantageous to the tims

Just reading some of the wild takes on here. Always raises a chuckle.

We were decent today, not amazing but a huge improvement on recent games at home to them. Would have been a huge disappointment to not take anything. Ash Taylor was done for two of their goals, the Griffiths one was a good finish and the McGregor goal was good from an attacking point of view but poor defensively. Cosgrove fouled in direct lead up to Griffiths' goal though...

Pleased to see Cosgrove back. Wright played well when he came on. Need to go in to next weeks game with a similar mindset, they really are there for the taking. Duffy is a complete fucking donkey. Jesus christ. I know we have Taylor but this boy was on £40k a week at Brighton. 

9 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

Good luck today. You'll need to perform better than losing the last hour 0-2 to the Hamilton fucking Accies and their shrewd fox manager. He ain't coca-cola, unlike your champagne manager and the 17 grand a week you pay him.

You will notice that Cove are top of the league, 100% this season, 100% at home since two seasons ago. Having gone to Balmoor yesterday and taken on their former star striker (who dropped a division to join us) in injury time with the points already in the bag, swapping off our real star striker, that was rubbing it in.

The best team in the NE has yet to be determined. You'll say it's Aberdeen and money and budgets will be your rationale. We hope you'll join us one day - love Imagine (Gaga version) - and see that money isn't everything. It's been your excuse for years, boo hoo hoo they've got more money than us. Look forward to showing you that it isn't everything. We'll be ready for you in a couple of years you loser faggots to show that on a tiny fraction of your wages, competing is more than what you pay cunts. 

Shut up you silly cunt, sevcove ain’t from Aberdeen. South of the river hun shitebags 

We get a good draw after years of disappointing performances against the Tims and all that can be discussed is replacing our Captain and best keeper we have had since Leighton and Snelders. His Point saving save at Tannadice last week must have passed some by, we have a few small issues in a good squad but Goalkeeper absolutely isn't one of them