Aberdeen V Livingston

That was horrible..and really cant blame the conditions too much. Livi's tactics were spot on and we had no creativity to break them down after the first half.

Mclennan is a great raw talent but he seems to lose his direction way too much and fall over his own feet after a mazy run to nowhere in particular.

It shouldn't be about "rangers" though

Finishing second is exceeding expectations, winning the title is a non goer with the disparity in finances

Fuck rangers and fuck fuelling their thoughts of them being all we think about

I'd rather finish second and lose to them each game than finish below them and beat them in one on ones

That’s cause you’re a hun cunt

Finishing second is exceeding expectations, winning the title is a non goer with the disparity in finances

I'd rather finish second and lose to them each game than finish below them and beat them in one on ones

But the debate wasn't "finish second without beating Rangers, or finish third having beaten them", it was comparing the two seasons.

The cups have made this a better season.

I'd agree there have been more highs and lows this season.

We could actually beat Rangers 4 times in Glasgow this season and still finish 4th or 5th (could easily happen with our home form). If we lose the SC semi i'm not so sure I'd say our season as a whole was better than last year when we finished 2nd and above Sevco for the second year running. If Sevco finish second by a decent distance people will start saying that's the old duopoly back.

But yes beating "them" 4 times in Glasgow in the one season would be pretty special. But if it meant we missed out on Europe because we kept slipping up against teams we normally beat it would all be in vain.

Well obviously finishing 4th or 5th and not winning a cup is not as good, but the argument was would we accept dropping to third for doing better in the cups.

No the argument / debate was more around would we accept better results against the old firm but worse results against the lesser teams (like this season) in exchange for the opposite (last season) even if it meant finishing lower in the league.

I guess Hibs last season is a good guide. Would any Dons fan swap what they did last season with what we did? They won at Ibrox twice (and took 7/12 points from them), beat Celtic at home and drew at Parkhead twice. They qualified for Europe just like we did. But they finished 4th and we finished 2nd despite us having far poorer results against the ugly sisters ( we took 4 points off them combined Hibs by comparison took 12 off them). Maybe some Dons would genuinely have preferred that.

Most would obviously rather finish 2nd than 4th.

But Panda has a point, as fans we want some excitement too and winning in Glasgow definitely creates that.

It's been 5 years since we won a trophy. I'd swap the Scottish Cup this year for a fair few of those second place finishes.

I'm not knocking the achievement, it's an impressive display of league consistency over a decent length of time.

But winning trophies is what we remember when we're looking back. Not how great it was to finish 2nd a few years in a row.

This is a really decent chance to win the cup this year.

Classing 2nd place as an achievement is an embarrassment when it was the bare minimum when Rangers, Hearts and Hibs were all out of the league at various points especially given the money we've spent to get there, the fact we've only won 1 trophy in that time too is just a joke.

I agree it's all about trophies. You'd take a 6th place finish every year if it meant winning a trophy every season. But if we can't win a trophy I'd rather finish 2nd than 4th even if it means poorer results against the old firm to achieve that. Hibs did fantastically well against both of them last season but I'd still rather have had the season we did.

Classing 2nd place as an achievement is an embarrassment when it was the bare minimum when Rangers, Hearts and Hibs were all out of the league at various points especially given the money we've spent to get there, the fact we've only won 1 trophy in that time too is just a joke.

Why is it a joke? How many other clubs outside of Celtic have won more than 1 trophy in the last 5 years? You do realise two of the four second place finishes were achieved with Rangers in the league?

Hearts been back in the top league for 4 years now so that argument doesn't stand up. Hibs had a top 4 standard squad while they were in the first division. Sevco have had by far the second biggest budget in Scotland since their inception and have won sweet fuck all in their 7 year existence despite probably spending 10x what we have in that period.

It would have been great to have won more than 1 trophy but we have reached 4 cup finals. Unfortunately whether you like or or not in 3 of them we came up against a far superior team who went 24-0 in domestic cup ties under Rodgers at Parkhead.

The only people that don't get excited by 2nd are ingrates

Total pish

Being consistent in the league is great. I remember almost getting relegated in the 70s. I remember the embarrassment of staying up after being relegated because of stadia clauses. I remember shitting myself during the play off year.

But it's almost 30 years since we won the Scottish Cup and it's 5 years since McInnes won his only trophy. The Scottish Cup is the most important thing this year now.

It is all about the Scottish Cup now it's by far the most important thing we have left to play for this season.

But we need to be careful in the league because we could easily finish 5th if our home form doesn't improve. That would mean missing out on europe and about £500k in prize money. That is very important too.

It is all about the Scottish Cup now it's by far the most important thing we have left to play for this season.

But we need to be careful in the league because we could easily finish 5th if our home form doesn't improve. That would mean missing out on europe and about £500k in prize money. That is very important too.

If we finish 5th it won't be because of the cup. A lot of the damage in the league has already been done.

It will more likely be because of our inability to beat teams we should beat at home. Such as 4 of the current bottom 5 in the last couple of months.

We could/should already almost have Europe in the bag.

I agree it's all about trophies. You'd take a 6th place finish every year if it meant winning a trophy every season. But if we can't win a trophy I'd rather finish 2nd than 4th even if it means poorer results against the old firm to achieve that. Hibs did fantastically well against both of them last season but I'd still rather have had the season we did.

I take your point but I don't know if I would... I, like today, am wondering how we can contain and beat the two arsecheeks but can't beat St Mirren, Hamilton, Livingston and Stenhousemuir at home. Winning a cup but finishing 6th would still ask those questions. Why can't we be consistent ? I've said for years a strong run in Europe is where the big bucks are anyway... The zombies will be cursing their luck domestically but I certainly wouldn't be too disappointed with the Europa League cheque when it  cashed...

No the argument / debate was more around would we accept better results against the old firm but worse results against the lesser teams (like this season) in exchange for the opposite (last season) even if it meant finishing lower in the league.

Which is the same thing really.

I guess Hibs last season is a good guide. Would any Dons fan swap what they did last season with what we did? They won at Ibrox twice (and took 7/12 points from them), beat Celtic at home and drew at Parkhead twice. They qualified for Europe just like we did. But they finished 4th and we finished 2nd despite us having far poorer results against the ugly sisters ( we took 4 points off them combined Hibs by comparison took 12 off them). Maybe some Dons would genuinely have preferred that.

Aberdeen's two wins to Hibs' one last season was actually the difference. Hibs win one of those and they would have finished above us on goal difference.

Finishing lower in the league isn't necessarily just 3rd place. It could be 6th. We could still very conceivably finish 6th this season if we don't sort our home form out.

You're right if Hibs had managed another win against us they would have finished above us. But they didn't despite their heroics against the big Glasgow two. And as much as I admired Hibs for going toe to toe and generally matching them in the league head to heads no way would I swap places with them despite as you say our season on the whole being a bit meh with less highs than this season.

The point is though the majority of the fans are at home games not away.

Some can only take so much of paying good money to see the same shit at home all the time,and it also affects attendances....

As another poster said Scottish Fitba is shite,paying to watch that shite today is criminal.

Saw a better game last week watching Banks O Dee....10 times more commitment.

Due to where I live I've seen like 8 home games this season.

Aberdeen are doing precisely what we should expect.

3rd above hearts and hibs in a semi final with a nasty never say die attitude on the road.

Obviously, we could do better at home but we can't have it all. 1-1 at home to livi is awful. However, we are still in the hunt for a cup.

I'd swap top 6 for a cup. That's how much it means to me. The players and manager know it's shite. I don't doubt next season we will come back stronger.

We just beat the Huns 0-2 at the fucking girodome and never looked in doubt. If you offered that result and 1 all today I'd have had it.

We are doing well, all is fine.

Finishing lower in the league isn't necessarily just 3rd place. It could be 6th. We could still very conceivably finish 6th this season if we don't sort our home form out.

You're right if Hibs had managed another win against us they would have finished above us. But they didn't despite their heroics against the big Glasgow two. And as much as I admired Hibs for going toe to toe and generally matching them in the league head to heads no way would I swap places with them despite as you say our season on the whole being a bit meh with less highs than this season.

Hibs are shocking.

McNulty is a player.

I made a fuss about Gauld but hes been average.

I have semi pro mates who'd do better.

Hibs are shocking.

McNulty is a player.

I made a fuss about Gauld but hes been average.

I have semi pro mates who'd do better.

I forgot Gauld was there. That said, being average is still better than the likes of Gleeson for us.

Don't think Gauld would fit in our team anyway. He could probably just about replace Stewarts contributions.

McNulty has been a good loan for them. Hibs fans are delighted with him. Hope they don't persuade him to sign.

Shite you talk.

That’s the issue though. Derek has got a wee win-in-Glasgow thing going on which has clearly benefitted us. But he’s allowed the smaller clubs to get a foothold again. Were SMurren, accies even Stenny shiting it about coming? Clearly not.

Points wise that’s what has hurt us but like others I agree you can’t discount the toe hold we’ve built down in weegland.

On our budget we should still expect both.

That’s the issue though. Derek has got a wee win-in-Glasgow thing going on which has clearly benefitted us. But he’s allowed the smaller clubs to get a foothold again. Were SMurren, accies even Stenny shiting it about coming? Clearly not.

Points wise that’s what has hurt us but like others I agree you can’t discount the toe hold we’ve built down in weegland.

On our budget we should still expect both.

On our budget I don't think you can.

Home form is clearly an issue but thats a mental failing of the players. Also, Derek clearly struggles to get them motivated for every game. 

We're frustrating Celtic and rangers at home, who have huge budgets in comparison. Other teams do the same to us.

On balance, 3rd and a cup semi at this point is about what we can expect.