Ever played in a game with or against a Dons player and how highly did you rate them?

More for the amateurs than any old pros on here. I was at best an average amateur, but most would say i was shite, which was justified..

Have you ever played against, or with a Dons player and how highly did you rate them? Proper game, kick about, fitever...

A few for me. 

1. Mixu- pre season when he was at DU. Very good. Couldn’t get near him or the ball. Quicker than you would think and strong as fuck.

2. 7 asides with Darren Young. Thought he was pish.

3. 7 asides ( same day) with Derek Young. Feet were fast as fuck, technically very good. Very quick.

4. Gordon Strachan- 11 asides, about 8 years ago. Even then he was incredible. Ran the game. 

Roy Aitken when I was 12 at Butlins. (He had just become full time Celtic captain that year). The best 8 players got to play with him in an exhibition match with the Butlins coach (a Welsh loon who played for Arbroath for about 3 seasons by the name of John Cain)

Aitken wasn't holding back any despite the oldest of us being 13. Cain was shite...at least 3 of us were already better than him by then. Lanky and slow, 

I won boy of the week which won a free week's holiday at any Butlin's camp to be taken the following year at any time outwith the Fair fortnight. Parents never even shoved me a tenner for my efforts.......cubts

Steve Tosh at goals. 5 a side. He seemed phenomenal, but me and my mates are pretty shite so who knows. 

Martin Boyle at 7 a side at Banks of Dee. Far too quick for anyone of me or my mates limited ability. Would have never guessed he’d end up at the level he has.

Stuart Armstrong used to have a kick about with us at school. A few years younger than us, but again would have never guessed he’d end up at the level he has. 

I played against John Hewitt when he was at Deveronvale. I was just a young loon then, so offered him the line and didn’t dive in as I was confident I’d take him for pace. Good lesson for me as a player he just curled it round me with his sweet left foot for a pinpoint cross into the box, so I needed to get closer and not stand off so much.

I also played against Dougie Bell and Simmie in a charity match. I played CM and they strolled it. I was half decent back in the day, but they just popped it off whenever I closed them down. They were both probably late 30’s by then but absolutely oozed class in their play.

I also joined in with the first team training in 86 down at Seaton Park, when I wasn’t even a teen. It was just after the World Cup and whilst Ferguson and Knox were there, Leighton, Miller, McLeish and Bett had been given some extra time off having been away with the WC squad so wasn’t there. The team were doing laps and I just joined in. Bryan Gunn told me to lead the way (just probably to get me out of their way), so I set off in front and stayed ahead of them for the duration.  When the team had finished the laps, I was shattered and lay flat on my back to get my breath back. Fergie told me to get up on my feet and as I had done the running, it was now time for a game. I can’t remember too much bout the week kick-about to be honest, but is was another good lesson that with effort, you get reward.

Coming up against that calibration of players made you realise how easy they made the game just by their awareness of the space around them.

21 minutes ago, afc1903mad said:

I played against John Hewitt when he was at Deveronvale. I was just a young loon then, so offered him the line and didn’t dive in as I was confident I’d take him for pace. Good lesson for me as a player he just curled it round me with his sweet left foot for a pinpoint cross into the box, so I needed to get closer and not stand off so much.

I also played against Dougie Bell and Simmie in a charity match. I played CM and they strolled it. I was half decent back in the day, but they just popped it off whenever I closed them down. They were both probably late 30’s by then but absolutely oozed class in their play.

I also joined in with the first team training in 86 down at Seaton Park, when I wasn’t even a teen. It was just after the World Cup and whilst Ferguson and Knox were there, Leighton, Miller, McLeish and Bett had been given some extra time off having been away with the WC squad so wasn’t there. The team were doing laps and I just joined in. Bryan Gunn told me to lead the way (just probably to get me out of their way), so I set off in front and stayed ahead of them for the duration.  When the team had finished the laps, I was shattered and lay flat on my back to get my breath back. Fergie told me to get up on my feet and as I had done the running, it was now time for a game. I can’t remember too much bout the week kick-about to be honest, but is was another good lesson that with effort, you get reward.

Coming up against that calibration of players made you realise how easy they made the game just by their awareness of the space around them.

Brilliant..I misread the John Hewitt bit. Thought you offered him a line ?..nae sure that would have slowed him doon mind..

Played against a few good players for killies boys club, then Crawley but no dons players, best av played against by far is billy gilmour, five a sides Astro in ardrossan almost every week for 2 months.couldn’t get near the prick.but suppose an ancient compared to him and with about 1% of his ability.couldn’t even kick him he was that fast and his turn away from danger was something to behold how quick he could turn you and gone.like a fart in the wind.seen he was on the bench for Chelsea last night champs league semi, wee prick lol

2 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

This is a very Scottish disease.

We're a Jack Tamson's bairns.

Resentment, envy and jealousy is built into the psyche.

Even when admiration and acknowledged genius is in evidence.

Me me me me me me me. Sick as fuck. 

What? Literally stays in the same street faggot unlucky

his parents haven’t even moved yet!,even though they will have a fair share of money now.

9 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

This is a very Scottish disease.

We're a Jack Tamson's bairns.

Resentment, envy and jealousy is built into the psyche.

Even when admiration and acknowledged genius is in evidence.

Me me me me me me me. Sick as fuck. 

Nothing more to say?, would you like me to post a picture of his family home when a finish work?, or record a conversation with wee Harvey saying about the Astro pitch ardrossan playing fives?,thats his wee brother for your info.but you wouldn’t know that?,keep talking pish about cryptos and the extra fiver you will make?, now go boil up some of that pakora sauce so your wife isn’t disappointed, heard she’s desperate for that Simon Weston look?

1 hour ago, Dons79 said:

Played against a few good players for killies boys club, then Crawley but no dons players, best av played against by far is billy gilmour, five a sides Astro in ardrossan almost every week for 2 months.couldn’t get near the prick.but suppose an ancient compared to him and with about 1% of his ability.couldn’t even kick him he was that fast and his turn away from danger was something to behold how quick he could turn you and gone.like a fart in the wind.seen he was on the bench for Chelsea last night champs league semi, wee prick lol

Hud on, you played for Crawley? At Town Mead? Or Broadfield?!

Not played against any Dons players but played against Darren Jackson, Scott Crabbe, Alan McLaren, and Henry Smith in a charity game a few years back.

Hard to say how good they were as the team I was in was half full of non-footballers (nae me).

I scored a cracker of a goal too, and caught Darren Jackson on the ankle.

1 hour ago, muttonhumper said:

Played regularly against (or with) David Robertson at Morrison Drive fieldy.

He was fast, a year below me at primary, and not that good to be honest.

Just fast.

Though did slow doon a bit when regularly being kicked up into the air.

Played with Robertson for Aberdeen primary school select and against Willie falconer in a champion street final. He was a big bastard. Was also a ball boy when Scotland under 15 played NI. Norman Whiteside was a big bastard too and miles ahead of anyone else on the pitch.

Edit: Robertson wasn't anything special

1 hour ago, Poodler said:

Hud on, you played for Crawley? At Town Mead? Or Broadfield?!

Broad field bud. A think they had just moved there!,Scottish manager at the time, knew my uncle and that’s how a got a trial with them, played a year and moved on. Stayed round the corner from the 3 bridges train station.good times

Andy Considine year younger than me and started at AFC Development after me. Used to play games with 3 age groups bundled together so played alongside him when he was a left winger (I know). 

Paul Lawson also in amongst that squad who ended up having a solid enough SPL career. Couple of local gadjees that Tommy and Ebbe know well in there too. 

Lot of the veteran first teamers would sometimes take the training on the ash car park across from Main Stand (Brian Irvine, Brian Grant, Roy Aitken etc) so played alongside them in training games. 

5's with Jim Bett and Jim Leighton (opposite teams). Bett absolutely unreal. 

Davie Donald (handful of first team games under Pele and JC) ended up at Sportsmans and played them in Scottish Amateur Cup 5 years ago or so. He got brought up playing for the same boys club as me but a couple of years below. Probably loads of ex young players at the top amateur clubs (Sportsmans, Woodside etc). Callum McHattie when he played for Quarryhill, Northfield and Aberdeen. He was something else as a kid, absolutely exceptional but never ended up in the first team here. 

Played against Maloney for school. Wasnt a standout and we always targetted others in his team. 

Best player i played with wasnt an ex Aberdeen player but Stuart Holden (USA international and ex Bolton). Team mates at King Street boys club before he moved to Houston. Always was absolutely class with the ball at his feet. 

Played against a notorious poster from here many a time. Big Ebbe. Broke our heart a few times. To be fair he was about 7ft tall when he was 10. 

Took Pen's against one of the reserve keepers in the 80's David Lawrie.  This was at School or maybe youth club.  Think he only played one game.  Good guy.

Not an Aberdeen player but Played fives with Martin Bavidge a few times.  What a finisher he was.

5 minutes ago, davieb said:

I have a friend who played "briefly" for Aberdeen in the early 90s, Graeme Ferguson, regularly played with and against him at school and youth level, he was never really a stand-out at that level.

A fine IT worker at one of the North Sea's biggest oil producing companies. 

Played football at school with Baldur and Callum Bett and Lee Mair. 

Baldur was a decent player and you could see he was slightly better than the rest of the team. He was Jim back then of course. But changed his name to Baldur when he was 15. 

Lee was decent enough. Was quite surprised he made it to the level he did though. 

Didn't think much of Callum to be honest.