U20's Thread

Sitting too deep for past 20 mins though. Not sure why we need Deano talking the ball off the defenders, in line with the back four. Can the defenders not pass forwards? Would like to see Deano receiving in front of the back four.

It happens in the top leagues. I'm nae sure of the reason but I'm sure there is something behind it.

Certainly not working for us... we're losing a man (Deano) from the midfield and starting to get over run in there. Fraser Murray is being given far too much space to run into... he's been the outstanding player, but we're giving him too much space.

Having said that, Hibs do look dodgy at the back and certainly very uncomfortable when our small forwards are buzzing around them.

RUL, on 27 Apr 2018 - 03:58 AM, said:

Are hibs that dodgy at the back? The left back isn't great but that porteus has probably been the best player on the park.

They've settled second half for sure. Plenty of loose balls and heavy touches in first half... very uncomfortable when Anderson was harrying. I felt we could force a mistake. Porteus has been very solid second half (and a well taken goal) but Fraser Murray has been best on ground IMO. Made the difference in the final third and caused us all sorts of problems with his movement.

After a bright start, we've been well beaten today. Disappointing.

Same bottle as their senior counterparts then.

I thought the way the coach set out the team did us no favours. Way too deep, showed absolutely no ambition - it's a cup final and these are young lads - let them go out and try and win it! Didn't get our good players, like Frank Ross, on the ball in the final third enough.

There were a few players who had stinkers too sadly... Harvie really struggled unfortunately.

Some decent football from both teams, Hibs looked physically stronger and were the better team.

Campbell does little wrong and uses the ball well, just a pity he was playing so deep, would have liked to see him more involved and playing further forward.

Said it all when tam said dean had played really well at the back...

Some decent football from both teams, Hibs looked physically stronger and were the better team.

Campbell does little wrong and uses the ball well, just a pity he was playing so deep, would have liked to see him more involved and playing further forward.

He looks very tactically aware and extremely disciplined - you can see why the coaches love him so much. However, I felt he played well within himself today - probably just sticking to the task given by Sheerin. Would like to see our best player driving the team forward, making things happen.

Certainly, if your going to to pick out youngsters who could maybe do a job for the first team... no question that Campbell could occupy the role that O'Connor has been playing for the first team - with the added bonus that he can pass the ball! Frank Ross also has ability and could be an option off the bench. The striker Anderson missed a great chance, but his energy and movement might help, late on in a game, when we need an injection of pace, and Rooney/May are tieing up...

The Campbell being too deep thing.

Not entirely dissimilar to the Maclean conundrum in the first team. Has Kenny dropped deep to get the ball to try to make something happen or because he's been told to sit deep and to try and make something happen from there (like Deano tonight apparently) when he's 60 yards from the opposition goal.

Not going to lie, enjoyed both teams efforts but, unfortunately, particularly Hibs. Didn't see bottle as an issue. Did see sitting deep and watching it happen particularly down the left as an all too familiar issue.

Pretty much every good team (being a team that is trying to pass the ball about and not just hoof it) has their defensive midfielder drop in there while the centre backs go wide and full backs push up.

It's how teams play out from the back.

Anyway, Campbell looks a player. As do Ross, Ross and Ross. (Though Ross struggled a bit to get in the game when he moved out wide)

Just back, dissapointing result, outmuscled in the end though played well in parts. They should have had a red in the first half as well, shocking tackle that could have been a leg breaker.

Thought Sam Roscoe had a great game, strolled it and his pass for the first goal was sublime, also think Ethan Ross did well before tiring, be surprised if he doesn't make it. Not sure on the game plan at all,first half we matched them and were better at times, second half we were all over the place, Bruce got zero service.

1600 crowd, not too bad, the shaved apes pal and fellow mates lost the singing section battle.

@@RAZOR never saw you, did you make it?

We missed the physicality of Ace and Toby Wells, both those guys love a tear up, Toby came on with a minute to go, was obvious some of our smaller players were done, way too late.

Anyway, learning curve for them all and at this level winning really isn't important, enjoyable night even if we didn't win.

Why do we more often than not resort to the age old "lack of bottle" is what beat us bs?

Maybe lack of abilities is the real truth a lot of the times but that is harder to accept so we try & hide that behind a "lack of bottle" excuse.

Hibs have won the league & now the cup. They clearly have something more than just more bottle than us.

I'm not just speaking about the youth team here. Just supporters in general at most clubs.

Some fans cannot accept being beaten fairly on the day & try & hide behind made up excuses because they cannot accept the loss for the real reasons sometimes.

Like for example when your manger is a tactical buffoon sometimes (just an example kiddies, before you cry)

On that showing none of them are remotely close to breaking into the first team.

Hibs worthy winners.

Not having that, Dons team way smaller and younger, they were up against it all over the pitch and the tactics dubious. Anderson is a player, never got a sniff tonight as we were bullied in midfield, Ethan Ross is tiny but was outstanding till he ran out of gas. Sam Roscoe never put a foot wrong, his pass to set up the first goal was Zidane like, won everything in the air.

Mckenna got a chance when we were knocked out of the league cup, now a Scotland starter, never a massive stand out at youth level. Put a player in with better players, give them a chance. Tonight was irrelevant, bigger team wins at youth level,hardly a shock. I was impressed by many tonight, the only poor thing was the singing section...cringe. haha.

I enjoyed the night more than I would have if it had been the first team, everyone on the pitch gave it their all, you could feel the passion they had for each other. First time i'd ever drove there though, could I fuck find a pub. Also I'll be writing to the SFA this week about the chip portion, thought i'd buy one to share with my daughter, it was tiny, one spud worth, near 3 quid.

The boys who have played first team for Hibs stood out a mile I think. Weird how a few games experience is so important.

Aye thought Porteous was incredible for them, can easily see him starting for Hibs next season and doing similar to McKenna next season. Thought Fraser Murray( I think thats his name) was a tidy wee player and Oli Shaw was a good outlet up front.

Do hope to see guys like Cambell, Anderson and Frank Ross given more minutes next season to speed up their development; think those 3 could become important players for us long term

The boys who have played first team for Hibs stood out a mile I think. Weird how a few games experience is so important.

I thought it came down to size at the end of the day, they were all units, we had kids. Not even sure if Dangana touched the ball. Should have thrown on Toby Wells, he was itching to get on. Know why he didn't start but he was there, should have been used.