Raf Reserves

Jack_Glass

Its aboot the government deciding to sack all the real soldiers/airmen/sailors and replace them with a peoples army filled with amateurs who know nothing about war, fighting, danger, being shot at, Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya...

Well thankfully I am an ex-reg with two Bosnia tours under my belt and I have no problem going to places like Afghanistan. We've all got to earn a living and we all get our fix in different ways.

No new soldier knows anything about war until they actually experience it first hand. Don't matter if they are civilian / part-time or regular soldier. People are born as civilians and become soldiers, so they all have to start somewhere.

Many civilians can become excellent soldiers in a Reserves reg, thanks to better training and better equipment. Bare in mind these folk get attached to regular units, for 6-12 months at a time.

It must be due to the fact that all the Rafers are now working in Oil n Gas and are a bunch of arse licking c**ts.

They love rolling out an Iraq story to impress, all they did judging by the pictures was hang around the base drinking tins while the army went out to shoot towelheads.

Out of at least 100 there are only 2 that are trustworthy

Most of the forces hang about drinking tins & sun bathing. Grunts n special forces always do the dirty work with various units in support if required.

Thankfully there's more to a war-zone than just killing the enemy, like rebuilding communities, treating wounded civilians, intel, hearts & minds...so plenty of tin drinkers out with the RAF as well.

The RAF Regiment's also in Afghanistan & Libya and they don't role out tours to impress anyone. Take it from someone in the know. :checkit:

f**k that!

Don't understand why folk would do that, the TA or be a Police Special.

sh*te jobs fan its full time and getting paid, to do it for "fun" at the weekend is crazy talk to me.

Many do it because whatever they get paid in civi-street they get the equal of it by the reserves. A doctor joining a specialist medical unit will still get his doctors salary and return to his job after a tour. Nothing daft about that. Plus you get several grand tax free for being away in a war-zone on top of your wages, a two week break, plus a weeks adventure training and 30days holiday taken at the end of a tour...fully paid. :thumbs:

It's better in my opinion than the normal boring every day 9-5.

Many do it because whatever they get paid in civi-street they get the equal of it by the reserves. A doctor joining a specialist medical unit will still get his doctors salary and return to his job after a tour. Nothing daft about that. :thumbs:

Daft as f**k imo.

So i'd get paid the same but there is a much higher chance I'll get killed or injured and I will actually have to do some work?

Magic!

As far as I ken nae c**t here is setting bombs on my route to work, or by my desk or by the coffee machine.... I could be wrong as I think some c**t had left off a dirty bomb in the bogs this morning.

TA, Special Coppers etc I just don't get it.

If you want to be a soldier or a copper be a soldier or a copper.

Anyone here in the RAF Reserves?

I've got my interview & test next Wednesday with 603 SQD in Edinburgh. Should that go well it's the medical & fitness test. I should breeze the fitness test and the medical should be fine as well. :crossfingers:

I think I know a guy who is in 603 in Edinburgh, haven't seen him in a while though but he was always heading off places with them. He seems to enjoy it and doesn't have a bad word to say about being a reservist.

Well thankfully I am an ex-reg with two Bosnia tours under my belt and I have no problem going to places like Afghanistan. We've all got to earn a living and we all get our fix in different ways.

No new soldier knows anything about war until they actually experience it first hand. Don't matter if they are civilian / part-time or regular soldier. People are born as civilians and become soldiers, so they all have to start somewhere.

Many civilians can become excellent soldiers in a Reserves reg, thanks to better training and better equipment. Bare in mind these folk get attached to regular units, for 6-12 months at a time.

Really? What reg?? Wouldnt that make you over 32 and therefor to old for the TA's?? Oh unless you mean well after the conflict which would mean contacts were minimal to non-existent and your idea of a war zone is Next on Boxing Day.

Soldiers are trained for war, 13 weeks basic and then another 12 weeks intense before leaving base. TA's are part timers with 2-4 days a month training, the rest of the time they are counting beans and playing rugby. If you tried that in any other walk of life companies would collapse but the UK government is happy to send part timers with minimal training onto the front line. There is no defending that.

If the equipment and support isnt good enough for the full timers then your last sentence can only draw 1 conclusion, the part timers dont know what good equipment is. The standard rifle, the SA-80 used to crack in low temps, they even broke in Fort George FFS. They cant handle the sand of the desert, I know squadies that would swap for an AK as soon as they found one in Iraq.

If you really are ex forces I'll get you a private tour in Iraq starting next week Jack. Could have you fighting pirates within 10 days of Africa as well if you want. Really good money, rotational, usually 3 months in and 1 month out.

Many do it because whatever they get paid in civi-street they get the equal of it by the reserves. A doctor joining a specialist medical unit will still get his doctors salary and return to his job after a tour. Nothing daft about that. Plus you get several grand tax free for being away in a war-zone on top of your wages, a two week break, plus a weeks adventure training and 30days holiday taken at the end of a tour...fully paid. :thumbs:

Does that mean you'd be coming back to 6 months of giros? Sorry, couldnt resist :laughing:

Tax free? Funny, I dont know anyone who hasnt paid tax on tour. You've got to be out of the country for 285 days before you can pay no tax, thats why 6 months usually the max, means people still pay tax on their earnings.

Really? What reg?? Wouldnt that make you over 32 and therefor to old for the TA's?? Oh unless you mean well after the conflict which would mean contacts were minimal to non-existent and your idea of a war zone is Next on Boxing Day.

Soldiers are trained for war, 13 weeks basic and then another 12 weeks intense before leaving base. TA's are part timers with 2-4 days a month training, the rest of the time they are counting beans and playing rugby. If you tried that in any other walk of life companies would collapse but the UK government is happy to send part timers with minimal training onto the front line. There is no defending that.

If the equipment and support isnt good enough for the full timers then your last sentence can only draw 1 conclusion, the part timers dont know what good equipment is. The standard rifle, the SA-80 used to crack in low temps, they even broke in Fort George FFS. They cant handle the sand of the desert, I know squadies that would swap for an AK as soon as they found one in Iraq.

If you really are ex forces I'll get you a private tour in Iraq starting next week Jack. Could have you fighting pirates within 10 days of Africa as well if you want. Really good money, rotational, usually 3 months in and 1 month out.

Does that mean you'd be coming back to 6 months of giros? Sorry, couldnt resist :laughing:

Tax free? Funny, I dont know anyone who hasnt paid tax on tour. You've got to be out of the country for 285 days before you can pay no tax, thats why 6 months usually the max, means people still pay tax on their earnings.

Hmmmmm.

I think Jack is a story teller.

:itch-chin:

It must be due to the fact that all the Rafers are now working in Oil n Gas and are a bunch of arse licking c**ts.

They love rolling out an Iraq story to impress, all they did judging by the pictures was hang around the base drinking tins while the army went out to shoot towelheads.

Out of at least 100 there are only 2 that are trustworthy

Aye,and every c**nt that works in oil and gas is a stand up solid good guy, nae a posing big heided flash c**nt amongst the lot of them.

Get a grip min, out of 1000,s ive met I would only give a f**ck for a handfull of them.

Good on them for serving the country in any branch of the armed forces,not just serving there wallets and wanking off to BMW,s latest catalogue.

Oh and aye I did serve in the RAF if youre wondering.

I'm joining the RAF Reserves you donkey not the T.A. and the age limit is 56. I know all about the failings of the old SA80 (not tried the SA80 A2 myself yet) and the lack of equipment the regulars have suffered in theatre is well documented everywhere...so what's your point?.

Are you trying to call me out? If so just do it and stop trying to call me some kind of liar, which I am definitely not.

I said I have no problems going to a war-zone if and when required, so STFU and jog on. I'm sure you'll recognise the docs below. But other than that I'm not justifying myself to the likes of you or any other dafty on here that thinks I'm lying.

armydoc.jpg

I'm referring to the Reserves Tax Free annual Bounty...think before you speak. :deadhorse:

Interview passed and the simple wee aptitude test passed as well. Medical at the end of the month at RAF Leuchars. Fitness test will be a breeze if I get past the medical.

Must say I'm surprised / disappointed at the folk who criticise for joining things like this and especially idiots attempting to challenge my military credentials. Idiots that don't have a fucking clue who I am or ever met me. But if that is the level of your intelligence and personality, I'm glad I don't know you...you know who you are, so jog the fuck on.

I think I know a guy who is in 603 in Edinburgh, haven't seen him in a while though but he was always heading off places with them. He seems to enjoy it and doesn't have a bad word to say about being a reservist.

Good to know...cheers :cheers:

The lads I met up there all seemed like a sound bunch. Quite a relaxed atmosphere as well which was to be expected. I'm looking forward to it. Gives me something different to do and pays a bit as well. Suites my nature as I enjoyed my military life until the wife got unhappy, thus I left. Plus I keep fit a lot, this will add a wee bit to that as well.

Just looking forward to refreshing my old army skills and learning some new stuff. I've been out the regular army for many years now. Had I not been married with 2 young kids at the time I never would have left. Now I'm separated and my kids are old enough I can now go back in on a part-time basis. At 40yrs old I can't join the regs again, so the RAF Reserves is a good fit.