• You cannot reply to this topic

Sensible Soccer

#1 User is offline   Jeff Stelling Icon

• Graduate from the Len Taylor School Of Football
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Bryn Law

Posted 08 February 2010 - 05:33 PM

Don' t get games like it. Had the 1992 version.

Remember none the Dons team names was right Wett was Watt :thumbsdown:

#2 User is offline   stumain Icon

• The Next Big Thing
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 05:35 PM

wtf? r u pissed

#3 User is offline   robbo Icon

• Dons Legend
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 08 February 2010 - 05:54 PM

my mate got the plug and play version of this last year.

hes 27 and was living wi 19-20yr olds in student accommodation. brings it home and plugs it in ready to recapture his youth. his flat mate comes in for a 2 player. bearing in mind its sensible soccer - a D pad with shoot and pass buttons, his first question....how do you sprint? you dont sprint, you pass and shoot. ah, okay...how do you do a through ball then? you cant. you have to pass it around. okay, i gotta now. so how do i chip it then?

needless to say, the flatmate gave up pretty quick and went back to pes

#4 User is offline   Jeff Stelling Icon

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 06:14 PM

These young ones don't know how lucky they have it with the Graphics in Fifa and Pes.

2 Subs could be made and all your players looked the same apart from hair colour.

#5 User is offline   snoyl Icon

• Fan's Favourite
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 06:40 PM

Love this game! Espically when you have a few mates around having a bevy.

Have it for the sega megadrive. Always give away pens when i try to clear the ball from a corner cause tackle is the same buttom! :forbesz:

Nearly as good as Road Rash 2 :minijc:

#6 User is offline   Jeff Stelling Icon

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 06:44 PM

View Postsnoyl, on 08 February 2010 - 05:40 PM, said:

Have it for the sega megadrive. Always give away pens when i try to clear the ball from a corner cause tackle is the same buttom! :forbesz:

Road Rash is quality.

Best bit is when you get on the Police bike and start hitting folk with the baton :hunbash:

#7 User is offline   redsparrow Icon

• Under 19
  • PipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 07:07 PM

View PostJeff Stelling, on 08 February 2010 - 04:33 PM, said:

Don' t get games like it. Had the 1992 version.

Remember none the Dons team names was right Wett was Watt :thumbsdown:

All players names were wrong, if only by one letter down to copywrite laws at the time. The teams were the same so they were named cities, or as close to the name as the could get away with, hence teams like Turin (juventus), Istanbul (galertasery) , glasgow (one of them, cant mind which) etc.

#8 User is offline   Jeff Stelling Icon

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 07:22 PM

View Postredsparrow, on 08 February 2010 - 06:07 PM, said:

All players names were wrong, if only by one letter down to copywrite laws at the time. The teams were the same so they were named cities, or as close to the name as the could get away with, hence teams like Turin (juventus), Istanbul (galertasery) , glasgow (one of them, cant mind which) etc.

Mind the players names being wrong. Forgot about the team names.

Wett
Snalders
Jass

#9 User is offline   redsparrow Icon

• Under 19
  • PipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 07:30 PM

View PostJeff Stelling, on 08 February 2010 - 06:22 PM, said:

Wett
Snalders
Jass

Might have to go an dig out the al amiga from the loft now, got me thinking of a few good classics now!

#10 User is online   SuperHans Icon

• The Next Big Thing
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 08:20 PM

Loved this. It was awesome.

It actually got voted one the 10 most important computer games of all time by Stanford University's (US Ivy League) History of Science and Technology dept. My link

#11 User is offline   Stuartini Icon

• i be pimpin'
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 09:06 PM

View Postsnoyl, on 08 February 2010 - 05:40 PM, said:

my mates were awesome of this and i wisnae, hated it and always gave away pens and chopping down 4 players with 1 tackle! tommy wright would've been proud....

#12 User is offline   snoyl Icon

• Fan's Favourite
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 08 February 2010 - 10:57 PM

The fact that you were NEVER in control of the ball was another feature that added to the enjoyment.

And the suspense you got waiting for if your 4 man tackle killing spree merited a red card above your head.........the joys! :applause:

#13 User is offline   woohoo Icon

• First Team Regular
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 09 February 2010 - 06:14 AM

I'm genuinely convinced that for a period in my life, 1994-1999, I was the best in the world at this game. :scouser: :scouser: SWOS on the Amiga is of course the definitive version. :applause:

Got it on the Xbox too and its nae a bad port across. Bit crap that the names are all buggered up but I still destroyed every single person on Live by at least 5 goals... Pity no-one seems to be playing it these days, the lobbies have been completely empty last few times I've tried. :dontknow:

#14 User is offline   archiemacdougal Icon

• Dons Legend
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 09 February 2010 - 07:53 AM

View PostJeff Stelling, on 08 February 2010 - 07:22 PM, said:

Wett
Snalders
Jass

Paul Mince was a classic!

#15 User is offline   thebladder Icon

• The Next Big Thing
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Drinkin, Fitba, Boxin, F1 and PS3

Posted 19 February 2010 - 04:42 PM

View Postwoohoo, on 09 February 2010 - 05:14 AM, said:

I'm genuinely convinced that for a period in my life, 1994-1999, I was the best in the world at this game. :scouser: :scouser: SWOS on the Amiga is of course the definitive version. :applause:

Got it on the Xbox too and its nae a bad port across. Bit crap that the names are all buggered up but I still destroyed every single person on Live by at least 5 goals... Pity no-one seems to be playing it these days, the lobbies have been completely empty last few times I've tried. :dontknow:

The Amiga version was perfect.

Remember being 12/13 and for a while every Friday night was a Sensi tournamanet at someone's house. I was pretty good, usually got beat in the Final by the same boy though :thumbsdown:

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users