Aberdeen Stag

Jambo83

Doing Aberdeen for my stag do in a few weeks and looking for tips from the natives for bars etc...?

I know some of you will say it's mince, go to Poland or Czech Republic or wherever, but it's cheap & cheerful which was perfect considering we all booked up in January when everyone is skint. Deals I got for trains / hotel was brilliant so 22 of us heading up for a couple of days pub crawls.

Obviously been up a few times for the fitbaw and done the normal pubs on / around Union St like Korova, Monkey House, Old Blackfriars. Was also in some bar that had been converted from a church, can't mind the name of it, but mind seeing Lee Miller & another Dons player in it that night.

Cheers

You'll stumble across loads of bars cos there's so much choice. Just see where the wind takes you is my advice.

Nothing worse than trying to find somewhere on a night out or whatever, just get in a bar you like the look of and order a pint. :cheers:

this is the best advice you can get

a stagger is not where you go, its who you are with and what you make of it. one of the best stag weekends I have had was in chester.

this is the best advice you can get

a stagger is not where you go, its who you are with and what you make of it. one of the best stag weekends I have had was in chester.

Yeah, suppose you're right. Done the same in York & Whitley Bay, no daft activities, just plenty of beer and banter with mates. That'll do me nicely.

Was more thinking if there are any wee hidden gems off the beaten track that most folk wouldn't stumble upon.

Yeah, suppose you're right. Done the same in York & Whitley Bay, no daft activities, just plenty of beer and banter with mates. That'll do me nicely.

Was more thinking if there are any wee hidden gems off the beaten track that most folk wouldn't stumble upon.

if you end up in the 524 then its an experience you won't forget

524 Cocktail Bar on George Street.

Pub with a few pool tables is not a bad shout for the friday afternoon actually :thumbup1:

Hawthorn is about 20 min walk from the center of town mind.

The Globe in Golden Square (behind Music Hall) usually has good bands on a Fri/ Sat and is usually very busy.

The Grill (opposite Music Hall) has a great selection of whiskies.

Head down to Castlegate early Sat morning to Portals for an early morning beer.

Watch out for places like Paramount, hoaching with yon 22yo Audi driving losers.

See where the night goes anyway. Espionage usually has a fine array of nurse/dr talent, its nae called NHSpionage for nothing.

Soul Casino (the church) does a fine 4am breakfast too.

Most Staggers I have been on in Aberdeen have started down the Harbour bars.

Great laugh in those pubs and most are rough enough for the bedlam of a stagger.

I think a few of them have closed down now but try crown n anchor and work your way back up into union st.

Alternatively you could start somewhere up along union st and work your way towards the harbour bars. They are quite lively at night and good for a laugh!

For a Stag Do I'd recommend any of the Bars on Market Street/The Green/Surrounding areas.

Start off at the Snuggery at the top of Market Street, then you have a fairly decent bar crawl at your disposal of:

Snuggery

Wilsons

Malones

Gas Lamp

Then go down the wee lane at the left of Gas Lamp and you hit

Wagleys

Spirit Level

Hen Hoose

Market Bar

Old Kings Highway

If you manage to get through all of that lot in one piece you'll have a cracking night and every single member of yer Stagger will be absolutely cunted :thumbup1::cheers::beer:

Ask boofon if you dinna believe me.

We tore up King Street after the St Mirren game and were at the train station in about 15 minutes, anither 5 and I'd have been in the Hawthorn.

I had the loon with me which was slowing me down of course.

That is correct. I could have caught the 17.15 train but stayed for a few pints.

We left after full time as well.

For a Stag Do I'd recommend any of the Bars on Market Street/The Green/Surrounding areas.

Start off at the Snuggery at the top of Market Street, then you have a fairly decent bar crawl at your disposal of:

Snuggery

Wilsons

Malones

Gas Lamp

Wagleys

Spirit Level

Hen Hoose

Market Bar

Old Kings Highway

If you manage to get through all of that lot in one piece you'll have a cracking night and every single member of yer Stagger will be absolutely cunted :thumbup1::cheers::beer:

:Party:

Id agree with Karl, Market Street and surrounding bars for the Saturday night Jambo. Start at supper time there. Maybe go top end of Union Street for the Friday night. College, Justice Mill (pish but full of old wifies and cheap drink, so good stagger venue) McNastys, Grill, Howff, Soul, Paramount, Tonik etc. Depending what you are into club wise, theres Club Tropicana which is an 80's club and a good laugh if in a big group, if you are more upmarket end up in Babylon maybe which is above College. Many a good night had in there. Or there is the option of just going to one of the casinos after the bars close at 1.

The Grill, opposite the Music Hall. A real pub.

Snuggery

Wilsons

Malones

Gas Lamp

Wagleys

Spirit Level

Hen Hoose

Market Bar

Old Kings Highway

I presume Jambo83 isn't actually 83 years old Karl. That's an OAP bar line up. :clangers2:

Wear chinos and carry a manbag if you want to go to the places dazzy is recommending there Jambo83 min.

What amazes me more than anything else on this thread is that there were already 82 Hearts fans registered on here when Jambo83 attempted to join.

That's more than Hearts Mad ffs!