1 hour ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Overly long and the ending is shite.

Consider it to be poverty porn.

I strongly believe that 'the English establishment' encourage literature or any other art that paints Scotland in a depressing light - hence the 2020 Booker award.

Given the writing style it won't take that long to read so provided it will fit in your suitcase(?), I'd check out a copy from your local library instead.

'Ham on Rye' by Charles Bukowski covers similar ground (coming of age with a different temperament) in a much better and more fulfilling way.

Thanks. Will be reading on the kindle (my kindle cover actually has an image of  "The Great Wave off Kanagawa" by Hokusai on it). Will add your selection to my "wish list" too and get it read. 👍 

Will be reading Shuggie Bain also though 😉

Any Japanese novels (translated obvz) you'd recommend? 

3 minutes ago, For Fecks Sake said:

🥱 Fucking hell

Well, over the last 10 to 20 years in America, there seems to have been a push to get black people (and other minorities) into meaningful film roles beyond being the crusading black person a la Sydney Poitier. Black folks, quite rightly, seem to want to see themselves represented in media in positive, non subservient roles.

I grew up in Scotland in the 80's and 90's and nothing I saw on ITV, BBC or Channel 4 put Scotland in a positive light.

Characters like Taggart, Cracker, Groundskeeper Willie and Scottish characters in soap opera's were always painted as broken people, they had some kind of skill but their darkness or the darkness of their surroundings seemed to overpower them. 

Anything that didn't fit that mould was put up as being twee or for children. 

(Other than me being mentally ill), That can't all be a coincidence now, can it?

15 minutes ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Well, over the last 10 to 20 years in America, there seems to have been a push to get black people (and other minorities) into meaningful film roles beyond being the crusading black person a la Sydney Poitier. Black folks, quite rightly, seem to want to see themselves represented in media in positive, non subservient roles.

I grew up in Scotland in the 80's and 90's and nothing I saw on ITV, BBC or Channel 4 put Scotland in a positive light.

Characters like Taggart, Cracker, Groundskeeper Willie and Scottish characters in soap opera's were always painted as broken people, they had some kind of skill but their darkness or the darkness of their surroundings seemed to overpower them. 

(Other than me being mentally ill), That can't all be a coincidence now, can it?

They made Scotty in Star Trek a Scottish character because of our renowned engineering talents. Shrek's a good cunt as well. The yanks love us.

6 minutes ago, Parklife said:

Thanks. Will be reading on the kindle (my kindle cover actually has an image of  "The Great Wave off Kanagawa" by Hokusai on it). Will add your selection to my "wish list" too and get it read. 👍 

Will be reading Shuggie Bain also though 😉

Any Japanese novels (translated obvz) you'd recommend? 

I'd love to know how you feel about Shuggie Bain once you've finished it!

About Japanese books; I'd recommend the following;

Fiction:

No Longer Human like Catcher in the Rye done in the Japanese idiom.

Woman in the Dunes (Check out the film as well - it's good too).

The Miner by Soseki Natsume, one of the big names of 20th century Japanese literature.

The Cape and other stories from the Japanese ghetto  Lifts the lid on lower working-class life in Japan.

Non Fiction:

Underground by Haruki Murakami (that one). Not fantasy but a series of interviews with people involved in/connected to the terror attacks on the Tokyo subway carried out by a Japanese cult in 1995. Really gets into how Japanese people think and behave. 

2 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

They made Scotty in Star Trek a Scottish character because of our renowned engineering talents. Shrek's a good cunt as well. The yanks love us.

Scotty - works in the boiler room (below stairs) and is more emotionally connected to his engines than to actual people. Kirk never defers to him as he does to Spock or Dr. McCoy.

Shrek - the whole film is about him overcoming himself and his flaws!! 

5 minutes ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Scotty - works in the boiler room (below stairs) and is more emotionally connected to his engines than to actual people. Kirk never defers to him as he does to Spock or Dr. McCoy.

Shrek - the whole film is about him overcoming himself and his flaws!! 

Kirk, McCoy, Scott. All good Scottish names. The backbone of that mission.

47 minutes ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Could be that black folk have been deliberately overlooked for roles purely based on the colour of their skin and not their talent? Must be fairly depressing having to watch the likes of Nicholas Cage get roles and accolades he really doesn't deserve!

I also grew up in the 80's and 90's and aye I remember telly being pretty dreary regardless of where it was set. However I also remember Take the High Road, Hamish Macbeth, Super gran, Tuti Fruiti and Monarch of the Glen. 

Sounds to me like you are referring to stereotypes. Yes you have the hard drinking and living Glaswegian, but you also have the posh Edinburgh set and the dour aberdonian.

However how many detective's the world over are also jazz/classical loving alcoholics with a broken family/divorced etc.

1 hour ago, Dal Riata Don said:

I'd love to know how you feel about Shuggie Bain once you've finished it!

About Japanese books; I'd recommend the following;

Fiction:

No Longer Human like Catcher in the Rye done in the Japanese idiom.

Woman in the Dunes (Check out the film as well - it's good too).

The Miner by Soseki Natsume, one of the big names of 20th century Japanese literature.

The Cape and other stories from the Japanese ghetto  Lifts the lid on lower working-class life in Japan.

Non Fiction:

Underground by Haruki Murakami (that one). Not fantasy but a series of interviews with people involved in/connected to the terror attacks on the Tokyo subway carried out by a Japanese cult in 1995. Really gets into how Japanese people think and behave. 

Cheers man. Will check them out in the morning and get them all added to the list. 

I've really got interested in Japanese culture over the last few years. We were meant to be there for 3 weeks in September 2020 but obviously never got to go. 

While it's obviously not as otherworldly and unique as it once was (thanks to globalisation) it's still somewhere that I think is totally different from the west. Looking forward to finally making it there. 

6 minutes ago, Parklife said:

Cheers man. Will check them out in the morning and get them all added to the list. 

I've really got interested in Japanese culture over the last few years. We were meant to be there for 3 weeks in September 2020 but obviously never got to go. 

While it's obviously not as otherworldly and unique as it once was (thanks to globalisation) it's still somewhere that I think is totally different from the west. Looking forward to finally making it there. 

Went to Tokyo a few years back and it was brilliant. What an amazing place and one of the highlights was spending a day at the sumo wrestling. Drinking Ashai and watching traditional geisha girls do their ritual's etc was quality.

Well worth a visit Parkie. The main museum in Tokyo has an original signed copy of the declaration of their surrender which was impressive.

1 hour ago, For Fecks Sake said:

Went to Tokyo a few years back and it was brilliant. What an amazing place and one of the highlights was spending a day at the sumo wrestling. Drinking Ashai and watching traditional geisha girls do their ritual's etc was quality.

Well worth a visit Parkie. The main museum in Tokyo has an original signed copy of the declaration of their surrender which was impressive.

Aye. Will make it there one day soon. 

Did you go anywhere outwith Tokyo? 

Just now, For Fecks Sake said:

Unfortunately not, however friends have done Kyoto taking the bullet train to it and they said it was also amazing.

Destination for Mrs FFS next milestone birthday 👍

How long were you in Tokyo? 

We had Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka & Hiroshima planned on our trip. Probably trying to cram too much in to 3 weeks but we always want to see all we can. 

Just now, Parklife said:

How long were you in Tokyo? 

We had Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka & Hiroshima planned on our trip. Probably trying to cram too much in to 3 weeks but we always want to see all we can. 

4 nights only, a very quick break!

If you plan it right I reckon you could easily do thise 4 cities in 3 weeks.

Tokyo fish Market is a must see.

5 minutes ago, For Fecks Sake said:

4 nights only, a very quick break!

If you plan it right I reckon you could easily do thise 4 cities in 3 weeks.

Tokyo fish Market is a must see.

A long trip for 4 nights! Was it a stopover? 

Seen a few vids on that. They've moved it these days though. Not in the old original market spot and apparently lost a bit of its charm. Probably overrun with tourists like us 😂

Just now, Parklife said:

Seen a few vids on that. They've moved it these days though. Not in the old original market spot and apparently lost a bit of its charm. Probably overrun with tourists like us 😂

They banned tourists from the Tuna saleroom as too many pissed up folk interrupting.

Might not be the original, but it was quality seeing all the different live things on sale. And the Sushi in the places next to it was unbelievable.

7 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Holy fuck. Are there any characters in The Simpsons that aren’t ‘dysfunctional’ to some extent ? 😂

I take your point but Groundskeeper Willie states that he was conceived, born, raised and educated on a pool table. That's pretty low.

6 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said:

As for your point regarding TV detectives that is half their appeal that they have their character flaws and is not just stereotypical of Scotland. 

Even Sherlock Holmes had his failings. 

Sherlock Holmes is clearly a member of the ruling class; his membership and knowledge thereof, he uses to help him solve many of his crimes.

Yes, he has flaws but they are only ever 'reactive' flaws, he takes drugs, goes off in a huff when he is bored or underworked. When he's on a roll, they disappear and never drag him down. Scottish characters tend to be inherently flawed - they arrive that way, are that way and continue that way.  

10 hours ago, For Fecks Sake said:

Could be that black folk have been deliberately overlooked for roles purely based on the colour of their skin and not their talent? Must be fairly depressing having to watch the likes of Nicholas Cage get roles and accolades he really doesn't deserve!

I also grew up in the 80's and 90's and aye I remember telly being pretty dreary regardless of where it was set. However I also remember Take the High Road, Hamish Macbeth, Super gran, Tuti Fruiti and Monarch of the Glen. 

Sounds to me like you are referring to stereotypes. Yes you have the hard drinking and living Glaswegian, but you also have the posh Edinburgh set and the dour aberdonian.

However how many detective's the world over are also jazz/classical loving alcoholics with a broken family/divorced etc.

All good points and more balanced than my initial point of view.

2 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Your point regarding The Booker Prize is the very definition of crass. 

I don't agree with this assessment but I respect your right to disagree with my point.

I would ask you to look at the panel for the prize; they are always establishment figures.

I don't mind people doing well for themselves but it's beyond a joke for me that such people can select a novel that depicts lower working class life in Scotland with any kind of authenticity.

There can't be any other purpose for it in my mind than that it confirms negative Scottish stereotypes for the purpose of reinforcing them for English folk and to keep Scottish people in what the English establishment sees as 'our place.'  

A list of the panelists is below. None are Scottish and only one comes from a lower class background (He's now an OBE and a member of the Royal Society of Literature). 

https://thebookerprizes.com/media-centre/press-releases/shuggie-bain-wins-2020-booker-prize#:~:text=Margaret Busby was joined on,Emily Wilson%2C classicist and translator.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margaret_Busby

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Child

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sameer_Rahim

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lemn_Sissay

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emily_Wilson_(classicist)

17 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

There have been two Scottish Booker Prize winners in its history. The judging  panel is changed every year as well. Your theory that for this one year a Scottish book was chosen as the winner,because in doing so it would ‘confirm negative stereotypes’ is absurd. 
 How does the fact that the judging  panel for 2020 were chosen BEFORE the actual winning book was actually RELEASED fit in with your ridiculous theory ?😂

We're going to have to agree to disagree here.

Your timeline argument is a non sequitur.

It doesn't matter when the panel were assembled relative to the books release.

That an assembled group of English establishment figures selected it, and why I believe they did so, does.

6 hours ago, Dal Riata Don said:

Nah, you're just deflecting now. I don't see the relevance and you haven't framed it.

Honestly, thanks for the discussion though. I'm done.

Have a great rest of your day!

6 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said:

I’m not deflecting anything. I destroyed your dopey reasoning and you realised you can’t back up your claim hence ‘I’m done’. 

Pish poor response, Hanz. Classless.