Changes You Want To See At Afc

If you were Chairman of Aberdeen Football Club what changes would you make? It could anything from making changes to the playing/coaching staff, through to changing board members, ticket prices or doing something different regarding the new stadium.

I'll start:

1.) In my opinion Aberdeen makes the same mistakes as nearly every other team in the world. We give the manager full responsibility to acquire new players and shape the team over the next few seasons. The reason that this is a problem is that in virtually most cases the manger is only ever at a club for between 2 to 3 years, hence they are only ever interested in the

No that would have certainly been a stumbling block. But im sure whatever the issues were, a building getting used is better than a building sitting empty

But that place could have been opened most nights of the week.

Monday night darts, Tuesday Night pool, Wenesday night / Thursday night champions league / europa games Friday night supporters night (pool night, darts comp, quiz night, race night, casino night, poker)

Opertunitys are endless as RTYD & co have proved with the SFYD nights, people will support the club if they bother their arse to do anything.

Could have been used as a good template for the new stadium.

Will it work?

Would be come to arranged events?

Take a year lease out on it and see what sort of response it got, then any positive feedback could have been incorporated into new stadium.

Imagine I'm Chairman of AFC? OK, here goes...

"Hello everyone. Sorry for the years of abject failure and misery. I'll get me coat".

Sound reasonable?

Simple really.

Major priority would be a progressive and forward thinking board of directors, with the necessary financial resources and acumen who can seek out and appoint an inspirational manager to create a skilled, committed and winning football team.

Pap on!

Bin Miller, move Brown upstairs oot the wi, take on Hartley and Alloa compo with Millers wage, let him work with Knox for a year, then he can bring in his own gadgies.

Say cheerio to Brown and Knox this time next year, no compo.

What I dont get is, why cant a manager be sacked (therefore not requiring a payout from their contract) for incompetence if they dont achieve expectactions?

Surely they could be set targets within their contract say - finish in the top 6, get to 1 cup semi final or whatever, and then if they dont achieve it (by a huge margin) then sacked for not fulfilling your role.

why are we constantly paying out to get rid of failing managers? it doesnt happen in any other industry. if you're sacked, you get fuck all (most of the time).

What I dont get is, why cant a manager be sacked (therefore not requiring a payout from their contract) for incompetence if they dont achieve expectactions?

Surely they could be set targets within their contract say - finish in the top 6, get to 1 cup semi final or whatever, and then if they dont achieve it (by a huge margin) then sacked for not fulfilling your role.

why are we constantly paying out to get rid of failing managers? it doesnt happen in any other industry. if you're sacked, you get fuck all (most of the time).

What about the Banks and the captains of industry. The all have carefully worded service contracts with "golden parachutes" when they get fired. It seems that the higher up you go, you get rewarded for failure.

ALLOW HIGHER WAGES FOR SPECIFIC KEY HIGHER QUALITY OFFENSIVE POSITION PLAYERS (WITHIN THE WAGE BUDGET)

ITS F'CKING SIMPLE AFC - BREAK THE WAGE STRUCTURE

THIS SEASON;

-AFC HAVE LOST THE SAME GAMES AS HEARTS

-AFC HAVE CONCEDED THE SAME GOALS AS MOTHERWELL

-AFC HAVE CONCEDED 7 GOALS LESS THAN DUNDEE UNITED

BUT

-WE ARE THE LOWEST SCORERS IN THE LEAGUE-!

Sorry for the caps boys but I feel the need to SHOUT as AFC fail to recognise year on year what our problem is - its goals create dand goals scored for f'cks sake-!

Watched a recording of an old TV program. That was the Team That was, I think it was called.

The overiding bit for me was Fergie being interviewed on the park at Hampden after we'd BEATEN rangers in the cup final of 83.

He was fxckin mad and rantin about how it was a disgrace that an Aberdeen team had played so poorly.

Winning cups is irrelevant was the gist of what he was saying, performances like that ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE AT ABERDEEN FOOTBALL CLUB!

So what I'd like to see is a bit more of that attitude. Miller in his own words,was proud to have been part of that fairy tale season in 83.

He should be instilling a bit of that teams attitude, but no no, the fxckin attitude is that we aren't financially capable of competing, so why should we bother.

It's fxckin criminal, and until that changes, nothing else will around Pittodrie!

Agree with all of that.

For me we need:

Club to be proud of (ok aye performances need to be good but also even a bit more spin and jacknory al la the OF to hype shit up), the identity of the club should be separate from the team. Aberdeen FC aren't the 11 on the pitch at the weekend there is over 100 years of history there.

Fair to Fans, don't rip the eyes out of the fans for a substandard product. ~

Had another thought on this. Given that Aberdeen is a serious business capital to what extent are they looking to turn the new stadium into something akin to a conference center*? Gonna have good transport links, rakes of car parking spots and be massive. Haven't seen the plans but surely we could get a reasonable revenue stream from it? I remember from a few years back we made quite a large dunt of our cash off commercial which I (maybe wrongly) assume is this kinda thing?

*Aye obviously just for utilisation during the week or away weekends when we've no games.

Changes I'd make.

Stewart Milne removed as Chairman and replaced by an elected Chairman on a 2 or 4 yearly basis, with no second term.

A department formed dealing exclusively with gaining investment.

A weekly football camp for schoolkids in Grampian. Multiple camps preferable, and coached by first team players.

Schools given several hundred free tickets for ALL games, regardless of whether the opposition is Queen of the South or Real Madrid.

An internet or local radio station dedicated to the club.

A TV spot on a Friday... say half an hour, detailing club news, upcoming games and ticket/merchandise deals.

NO bending over to the OF. First thing would be telling them to jam their 5% extortion demands straight up their hoop.

The creation of a scouting network.. and the mere fact that we don't have one is testimony to the level of incompetence of Stewart Milne.

The forming of a non-OF cartel involving the non-OF clubs, capable of talking with a united voice and applying pressure to the OF, Scottish authorities, and media.

The dismantling of the drinking culture at the club.

The instant dismissal of ANY player found to overtly support another football team, a'la Diamond's Celtic Birthday.

The instant dismissal of any player exhibiting signs of 'not trying', and the refusal to pay any wages or severance to that player.

The intention of winning EVERY game, regardless of opposition.

The goal of signing a minimum of ONE promising U21 player each season, rather than guys like Ifil, Young or Chris Fucking Clark.

The admission that the club has fucked the pooch regarding the new stadium and that it won't happen, so get used to staying at Pittodrie.

The immediate dismissal of any manager who fails to finish top 6, with this written into the contract so no compensation is paid out.

The signing of promising youth players on extended contracts. If they want to learn their trade at AFC they'll sign up for the long haul so we, at least, get some form of compensation.

No more playing players out of position. If we need width then sign a wide player, don't play a goalkeeper in attack, don't play a striker on the wing.

The appointment of a fans representative, with a means by which that representative can act as a bridge between fans and club. I don't mean like Chris Gavin... let's be serious.

No more bullshit. Don't tell us there will be 'significant investment' when you're cutting the budget. Word games just makes the club look like the fucking cunts that they currently are.

Treat the fans like the club's lifeblood, rather than an inconvenience.

Had another thought on this. Given that Aberdeen is a serious business capital to what extent are they looking to turn the new stadium into something akin to a conference center*? Gonna have good transport links, rakes of car parking spots and be massive. Haven't seen the plans but surely we could get a reasonable revenue stream from it? I remember from a few years back we made quite a large dunt of our cash off commercial which I (maybe wrongly) assume is this kinda thing?

*Aye obviously just for utilisation during the week or away weekends when we've no games.

Good suggestion.

I heard that Arsenal are making more from their corporate hospitality (per match) than Man Utd do from ticket sales (per match).

Does it still exist. I thought all that had been stopped?

Given the lack of professionalism at AFC I'd be surprised if there wasn't still a booze-culture at the club... which to be fair seems to be a Scottish football thing, not just AFC... but if it has been eradicated then I guess I can check that off the list :checkit:

Does it still exist. I thought all that had been stopped?

It was attempted a couple of years ago leading to lost dressing room and manager eventually getting punted.

A certain group of players on Twitter certainly like clubbing and "Tiger Mondays" seems really popular amongst our younger players.