Moyes to be sacked

Van Gaal? Would be very interesting to see his reaction the first time Rooney throws his toys out of the pram. Does not suffer fools.

Neither did Fergie but it never stopped Rooney then.

If Manchester United want to prove themselves to be the biggest club in the world (and they'll need to after this) they need to get the best manager in the world and pull out all the stops to get him. Step forward Jose Mourinho...

I can't help but feel he's a very overrated manager.

I feel sorry for him. You could almost smell the delight in the words of some journalists yesterday when the news started to break about this. There's many a manager that I could understand such a reaction with, but not Moyes.

At the time of his appointment, I thought Moyes was a sensible choice given the Man Utd mantra. It was clear that the vision was for him to have the job for a decade or longer. Now, though, nothing makes them any different from the likes of Chelsea, Man City and the like.

Simply changing the man in charge won't alter things too much. The squad needs serious improvement. Last season, winning the league was down to three main factors, in my opinion.

1) The Fergie factor: not so much his ability to get the best out of his squad, but the general fear of him. Their weaknesses weren't exposed last year because there weren't many sides who had the balls to challenge them. A psychological blockade for opposition managers that was just as important to Fergie's management of Man Utd than anything else.

2) Robin van Persie: sensation season last term for him. Arguably, though, his final flourish at the peak of his career? He was a stopgap signing by Fergie. Moyes wasn't able to enjoy a consistently fit RVP like Fergie was able to last season.

3) Weaker competition: I don't think Fergie thought he'd win the EPL back as soon as he did last season. Mancini made a terrible effort of his title defence. Arsenal were, well, same old Arsenal. The antics at Chelsea, especially when it ended up in Benitez taking charge, meant the title was much easier to win last season that I think anyone anticipated. This season though, the competition has been much stiffer. Liverpool have improved massively. Man City, for most of the season at least, seemed unstoppable. Mourinho's return to Stamford Bridge has galvanized them and Arsenal seemed to be the best they had been for many a year up until February. That's not, necessarily, an excuse for Man Utd lagging so far behind. But when you ask which Man Utd players would get into the first XI's of Liverpool, Chelsea, Man City or Arsenal, you'd probably only pick Rooney and Mata. A fully fit RVP perhaps. The rest of the side is average in comparison, regardless of whether Man Utd won the league last season.

Of course, his sacking might be down to more than what's happened on the field. Meetings regarding potential transfers might have worried the Glazers. His transfer business up to this point though is something being used unfairly to whack Moyes over the head with. The departure of David Gill was just as significant as Fergie's. The new chief exec, Woodward, was starting new in the job just like Moyes. No wonder their business last summer was a shambles. It culminated in the panic signing of Fellaini, a player I'm sure Moyes didn't really want, but such was the pressure felt by the board to not look like fools given the nature of their pursuit with the likes of Fabregas, then they went for Fellaini purely because they knew they could get him. As for his other bit of business, Juan Mata - there's not many clubs who wouldn't have gone for him knowing his availability. Fair enough, there didn't seem to be a system in place to accommodate Mata, but you can't turn down a player of that quality.

Moyes has suffered big time for Fergie's 'mistakes'. He's the fall guy. There's no sign of any real talent breaking through at Old Trafford (Januzaj perhaps the exception), and there's some real shite in that squad (Smalling, Buttner, Cleverley, Young, Welbeck etc). There's no way that Fergie isn't hugely to blame for that.

It's going to take a lot more than simply changing the man in charge to get Man Utd back to challenging for the title.

As a side note, found the discussion on Sky Sports' Monday Night Football programme regarding Moyes last night highly ironic. Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher were making sense with what they said, but the very fact they were criticising the culture of sacking managers in the EPL on Sky Sports had the irony detector going through the rood.

Reckon they'll ask Fergus' advice again.

Did he have a say in the sacking?

Moyes is the fall guy.

The 1st mgr always was going to fail. No matter who it was.

Now the Fergie rein is forgotten about; no longer relevant.

What a pile of pish. Did Sky Sports tell you that?

There's a difference between failing and not doing as well as Fergie. Moyes failed. Horrifically. That wasn't always going to happen. He did a bad job and got £10M for it.

Neither had Brendan Rodgers, he's on verge of winning league with Liverpool.

Not entirely sure I see your point regarding winning at Anfield or Old Trafford as some sort of headline grabber going onto a CV...

I thought he was a shit manager, and still do - but your point above is nonsense.

As usual, you've jumped the gun without thinking about it.

How many attempts did Moyes have? How much more of a budget did Moyes have?

I think its ridiculous they have sacked him,without even completing one season.

Its the same mentality as the huns - we have the right to win all the time, or there is something wrong.

And - other than to make a bung from redundancy pay - who would want the job now, given the remit is immediate glorious success or getting your jotters?

What a pile of pish. Did Sky Sports tell you that?

There's a difference between failing and not doing as well as Fergie. Moyes failed. Horrifically. That wasn't always going to happen. He did a bad job and got £10M for it.

No; you're the stupidbadtard, not me.

You just don't get it, canna see the bigger picture.

One man in charge of anything for 30 years will cause massive upheaval when he leaves.

He leaves an enormous void in things that aren't tangible, they can't simply be filled with a decent CV.

Listen min; I'm a corporate tiger. I understand these things better than you min

Mourinho is very overrated??

Lets be honest, this is not the first time Ferguson has attempted to sabotage one of his old clubs with shit choices. I mind in the 1990s him backing Alex Miller getting the job.

His choice to succeed him at Aberdeen was Sandy Jardine, the assistant Heart's manager. I suspect also that he wasn't looking for someone to instantly carry on being successful.

fergie will be chappin on his door wantin 50% of his severance.

or was it all a big piss take in the first place? concocted by fergie and moyes over a bottle of wine.

"so son, when you come to the theatre of dreams, you'll be playing gung-ho cavalier football, yes?"

"aye fergie aye"

"none of this dour pish that ye play at everton?"

"no no, i've got big ambitions"

what a puddin'.

I assume these cunts are having a harder time filling up their charter plane of glory hunters now?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/rich-aberdonians-charter-plane-to-follow-1086226

Many of them are now Aberdeen "fans" spotted a few United "fans" coming to our games lately. The guy Mike Wilson is a disgusting cunt hope he goes bust trying to cash in our recent success after years of refusing to show our games in favour of pandering to fellow EPL supporting geeks.

As I said the other day these type of guys are pricks.

No; you're the stupidbadtard, not me.

You just don't get it, canna see the bigger picture.

One man in charge of anything for 30 years will cause massive upheaval when he leaves.

He leaves an enormous void in things that aren't tangible, they can't simply be filled with a decent CV.

Listen min; I'm a corporate tiger. I understand these things better than you min

Yes. Upheaval was obvious, and maybe even unavoidable, what was avoidable was the gravity of the upheaval. Why are one of the biggest clubs in the world sitting SEVENTH in their domestic league and out of every cup competition the entered? Through Moyes' mismanagement.

To be fair they did win the community shield :winner1st:.

He'll be gone this week.

You can ask me how I knew and some of you didn't, and you know what, I'll tell you.

Nothing to do with "insider knowledge" either.

Here's the fuller history.

Jock Stein was a cunt. A thick cunt who hated the dentist within his Lisbon Lions team.

The reason he hated him was that he was cleverer than him.

In order to control a dressing room, you need 100% compliance.

Stein never trusted him, because he knew he was cleverer than him.

Ferguson had a history of not being able to handle the breadth of personalities that the world throws up.

SAF was a disciple of the Lanarkshire thick fuck Stein.

Archibald and Sir Joey Harper were two early examples. Beckham, Stam and many others were latter examples.

SAF is a cunt. A cunt heading for an inglorious end.

He maybe thought Moyes might have made it. If he did, if was cos he was stuck in the 1960's.

The rabbit in the headlights failed at Man U because he's not a very good manager.

The fact he got given the chance was cos the Govan tink said so.

SAF thought Moyes was like him was like Stein, a good ole Scottish socialist piece of shit.

He was, just not as good a manager.

So what told you that shit was going down this week? I can see by all that you knew he was going, but why this week?

Dude. You're nae a bad cunt, just young, like my son is.

You just framed it wrong.

Promise I'm not ignoring you. I'll just wait for a more intelligent inquisition if you don't mind.

Nae saying you're thick. Just young.

In fact, I hope this response gets responded to by some cunt with the right response, because there's hunners o cunts on here that ken the score too.

Ok min. The smell. The vibe. The obviousness of the situation.

Instinct + knowledge + experience.

Not rocket science.

Nothing new has ever been invented.

Until people invent it.

fergie seems to think loyalty was a big deal, but he didnae really show any cunt else loyalty. once you've ticked him off, yer out the picture! black balled, the lot.

it all sounds a bit hunnish.

Great observation. He demanded loyalty at all costs. Speak to Hewitt and Cooper to ken that.

It was testament to his growth that he got so much out of Cantona and Ronaldo, although they were the hardest training ground workers at the time and therefore fitted perfectly with his one dimensional philosophy.

Read the unauthorised biography. Speak to Aberdeen men over the age of 50. Fergie was, always has been, and always will be scum. Freedom of our city donchaknow.