Average Attendance 2014-15

Scottish Football is in huge danger. The culture under Ernie Walker was poison. It's not improved since then. FORTY YEARS LATER.

The specific problem is people. Chairmen and owners are in it for themselves. The SFA and SPL are quango type organisations thereby attracting quango type people.

Interesting that in our case, we had a great owner. His son took over and fucked everything up and then a thieving little cunt took over from him and never even owned 30% of our club and ran it into the ground.

Recently, a tcheuchter couple stepped in and cleared the debt. I can't imagine Wm Donald was so dumb as to be pissing away eight figures for no return. I'm not waiting with bated breath for investment in "the product" - the football side of the business, what the fuck else is there Stewrat? - but every year that goes by, we are losing custom.

AFC, being ruined by incompetent and greedy wankers since Dick died.

Scottish Football is in huge danger. The culture under Ernie Walker was poison. It's not improved since then. FORTY YEARS LATER.

The specific problem is people. Chairmen and owners are in it for themselves. The SFA and SPL are quango type organisations thereby attracting quango type people.

Interesting that in our case, we had a great owner. His son took over and fucked everything up and then a thieving little cunt took over from him and never even owned 30% of our club and ran it into the ground.

Recently, a tcheuchter couple stepped in and cleared the debt. I can't imagine Wm Donald was so dumb as to be pissing away eight figures for no return. I'm not waiting with bated breath for investment in "the product" - the football side of the business, what the fuck else is there Stewrat? - but every year that goes by, we are losing custom.

AFC, being ruined by incompetent and greedy wankers since Dick died.

Good post. Out of interest what do you believe is a realistic average attendance that Aberdeen should be aiming for?

Absolutely no fucking way have Celtic averaged 42,000 this season.

7 figures.

But the debt was more than 10 million?

They said the Donalds paid off the debt. Details on specifics still not available for some weird reason.

Good post. Out of interest what do you believe is a realistic average attendance that Aberdeen should be aiming for?

14k should be easily achievable as an average. Christ we even got three consecutive full houses under fat orange cunt, I remember, 1-0 v. Hearts (Lee Miller), 4-2 v. sellick and the most boring 0-0 v. huns.

If the football was exciting and the atmosphere was good, we could do so much better. Milne doesn't give a fuck about the fans. Customers to him are an annoyance. He's like the rest of the people who run Scottish fitba. Visionless myopic incompetence and greed is killing the goose. The next generation aren't going to be so blindly loyal.

Folk would get bored playing the same team every week. Probably result in a drop in attendance.

PATG would definitely drop.

Certainly took a hit on saturday,

Heard some cunt moaning like fuck that him and his son had to pay £46 to get in........ be lucky if his son was 10 years old :S

Whilst I don't disagree about the ineptitude of many aspects of the running of AFC, this shite about attendance figures is fucking nonsense if you ask me.

In the 80s when we were fucking legends and winning the Cup Winners Cup, our average attendance was about 14500.

So why do people suddenly think we could now get an average of 17000 if we dropped prices?

Aberdeen 1981-82 11360 Aberdeen 1982-83 15537 Aberdeen 1983-84 17138 Aberdeen 1984-85 15877 Aberdeen 1985-86 14326 Aberdeen 1986-87 12627 Aberdeen 1987-88 13460 Aberdeen 1988-89 14107 Aberdeen 1989-90 15444 Aberdeen 1990-91 15280 Aberdeen 1991-92 11798 Aberdeen 1992-93 11176 Aberdeen 1993-94 12723 Aberdeen 1994-95 13737 Aberdeen 1995-96 12764 Aberdeen 1996-97 12458 Aberdeen 1997-98 13329 Aberdeen 1998-99 12654 Aberdeen 1999-00 12892 Aberdeen 2000-01 12493 Aberdeen 2001-02 14038 Aberdeen 2002-03 11784 Aberdeen 2003-04 10389 Aberdeen 2004-05 13576 Aberdeen 2005-06 12727 Aberdeen 2006-07 12474 Aberdeen 2007-08 11993 Aberdeen 2008-09 12928 Aberdeen 2009-10 10890

Apart from the 2 years after the European CWC win, we've very rarely broken 14k

We really aren't a massive footballing city and we need to be doing more to attract more people and commercialise the football club. I think we've actually done quite well with this in last 2 years with our Dons in the community and other bits and pieces.

Aberdeen 1981-82 11360 Aberdeen 1982-83 15537 Aberdeen 1983-84 17138 Aberdeen 1984-85 15877 Aberdeen 1985-86 14326 Aberdeen 1986-87 12627 Aberdeen 1987-88 13460 Aberdeen 1988-89 14107 Aberdeen 1989-90 15444 Aberdeen 1990-91 15280 Aberdeen 1991-92 11798 Aberdeen 1992-93 11176 Aberdeen 1993-94 12723 Aberdeen 1994-95 13737 Aberdeen 1995-96 12764 Aberdeen 1996-97 12458 Aberdeen 1997-98 13329 Aberdeen 1998-99 12654 Aberdeen 1999-00 12892 Aberdeen 2000-01 12493 Aberdeen 2001-02 14038 Aberdeen 2002-03 11784 Aberdeen 2003-04 10389 Aberdeen 2004-05 13576 Aberdeen 2005-06 12727 Aberdeen 2006-07 12474 Aberdeen 2007-08 11993 Aberdeen 2008-09 12928 Aberdeen 2009-10 10890

We really aren't a massive footballing city and we need to be doing more to attract more people and commercialise the football club. I think we've actually done quite well with this in last 2 years with our Dons in the community and other bits and pieces.

Indeed, a lot of the support comes from outwith the city

I think you ken fine that the Donalds didn't put in more than £9,999,999 and you are trying to make your theory seem more convincing.

I have no idea what they put in. Please enlighten me?

I thought we got told they cleared the debt? And the debt was eight figures, not seven?

Whilst I don't disagree about the ineptitude of many aspects of the running of AFC, this shite about attendance figures is fucking nonsense if you ask me.

In the 80s when we were fucking legends and winning the Cup Winners Cup, our average attendance was about 14500.

So why do people suddenly think we could now get an average of 17000 if we dropped prices?

Actually using the 1980's is an unfair comparison. European football on the whole had extremely low crowds due to several stadium disasters, economic recession and crowd trouble.

Aberdeen has the fan base to achieve a much higher average attendance. Getting big crowds is not Aberdeen's problem, its getting fans to turn up regularly.

Guest RosemountRed

Ahhhh so many of my pet hates in one post.

Aberdeen is not a 'footballing city' - whatever that means, the 45,000 people we had at the cup final and around 80,000 on Union Street suggest otherwise. This is an incredibly lazy and old cliché.

Comparing 2014 to the 80's is as about relevant as comparing 2014 to the 50's when we used to get 30,000+., again this is just lazy nonsense.

All over the world football attendances are increasing, we should be looking at Holland as the model to follow, similar sized nation with 2 dominating clubs yet loads of other smaller clubs stillcompete (AZ, Twente, PSV etc.)

Aberdeen, with a population, in city and shire of 450,000+ should be aiming of getting 4% of that population to Pittodrie 19 times per season, that's 18,000+. That is not even close to being unrealistic.

This can be achieved by:

1. On field progress

2. Lower ticket prices, better deals for under 21's etc.

3. Alcohol in grounds

4. Fans being treated better and with respect by the clubs and Police Scotland

5. A redeveloped Pittodrie or a new modern stadium with better facilities

6. Better promotion and advertising

Actually using the 1980's is an unfair comparison. European football on the whole had extremely low crowds due to several stadium disasters, economic recession and crowd trouble.

Aberdeen has the fan base to achieve a much higher average attendance. Getting big crowds is not Aberdeen's problem, its getting fans to turn up regularly.

Using the 80s is not really an unfair comparison. The European crowds actually increase the average so it would actually be worse if you don't count Europe. And the 80s are a good comparison because it was our most successful period on the park. Lots of people are claiming that if we sort the product on the park, we'll suddenly get averages up to 17-18k - which is simply not true.

Your second point I agree with, but this is not simply done by having a successful team or by lowering prices. If AFC want to get regular attendences up, they need to do something that the club has NEVER done in their history. Offer a much better match day experience. Better catering, better facilities (ie refurb the stadium or build the mythical new one), better marketing, standing section, entertainment pre-match and half time, etc etc. The match day experience at AFC is fucking garbage and that's fine for the 10K who turn up regardless, but if the club want to get the average attendance up to levels they've NEVER been at, then they need to do something they've never done. And that's got fuck all (or certainly a lot less) to do with the product on the park.

Now don't misunderstand my comments. The product on the park is of primary importance, but its not got a whole lot to do with the attendances.

Aberdeen is not a 'footballing city' - whatever that means, the 45,000 people we had at the cup final and around 80,000 on Union Street suggest otherwise. This is an incredibly lazy and old cliché.

Comparing 2014 to the 80's is as about relevant as comparing 2014 to the 50's when we used to get 30,000+., again this is just lazy nonsense.

All over the world football attendances are increasing, we should be looking at Holland as the model to follow, similar sized nation with 2 dominating clubs yet loads of other smaller clubs stillcompete (AZ, Twente, PSV etc.)

Aberdeen, with a population, in city and shire of 450,000+ should be aiming of getting 4% of that population to Pittodrie 19 times per season, that's 18,000+. That is not even close to being unrealistic.

This can be achieved by:

1. On field progress

3. Alcohol in grounds

It's not a lazy argument at all. It's a correct statement. Your points on how to get greater numbers along to Pittodrie are absolutely correct, but this is because we need to offer a more inclusive matchday experience because people don't want to come along just to watch a football match - (ie it's not a footballing city) - they want MORE than that.

Success on the park alone, is not enough.

This can be achieved by:

1. On field progress

3. Alcohol in grounds

It would take a huge shift in attitude towards Aberdeen FC and football as a whole. In that respects, and the fact we've not had 18k since the 70s, suggests that this is pretty unrealistic.

English football is Aberdeen and Scottish footballs biggest problem. Sky are very good at their job .

You are making a tit of yourself.

It wouldn't be the first time but again, I ask for clarification.

What was the investment made by the Donalds if it wasn't paying off the debt?

Milne and Gilbert/AAM converted their loans into share capital with the Donalds putting up the rest (I read somewhere a figure of around £3.5m, or enough to secure a 10% shareholding?). The AFC community trust received a 9% shareholding as a condition of the deal and ordinary shareholders voting rights were to be diluted by a fair proportion which may indeed raise the spectre of a future share or rights issue.