Scottish Independence Referendum 2

Henry

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

273 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No

1 hour ago, CCB III said:

McManus. V and A. DJAcad, constantly good shit on the go here. 

Art gallery was good when it opened, last time I went was not much going on. 

I wish I preferred Aberdeen, but it has a reputation. Often I used to think it was unfair but since moving back I can see where people are coming from. 

God speed the rebirth of our once great city. 

I’m with you on this. Aberdeen < Dundee by a country mile. 

2 hours ago, NEM said:

Princes streets a hole - does that mean Edinburgh's a dump? 

Okay this has to be a fishing expedition.

But I'll bite.

The princes street with a 5* hotel.

Scott monument

Princes street gardens and bandstand

Royal Scottish Academy and national gallery.

The views of the castle.

Johnnie Walker experience.

I could go on.

Those thousands of tourists that walk up and down it daily must be mistaken.

Give me the comparative for union street ...

1 minute ago, patrick bateman said:

But I'll bite.

Scott monument

The views of the castle.

I could go on.

It’s in Aberdeen. 

Wins by default. 

Dundee beats both. 

19 minutes ago, patrick bateman said:

1.) Than cunt sounds so much like Pat Nevin, maybe looks like him too if wee Pat cut his hair. 

2.) technically he's right. That doesn't mean there isn't an appetite for it, it doesn't mean the question can't be asked, it doesn't mean they can't run on it, and it doesn't actually disparage any arguments for a referendum. 

As long as the SNP continue to be the most voted for party in the Scottish Gov, there will be calls for a referendum. It's that simple. 

Let them have it- every chance it falls on its arse, and providing this happens, it's probably dead for at least 50 years. 

The problem being found by the unionists now is, there's not many scary stories to put the fear into folk. 

IMO they are more scared now, because of the disaster Brexit is/will be, the potential issues in Northern Ireland, and the fact there's a shaved ape running the country, who's incredibly unpopular even within the people who vote for him.

They are scared.

39 minutes ago, patrick bateman said:

But I'll bite.

Scott monument

The views of the castle.

I could go on.

Aye ok greyfriars bobby chill oot ?

The retail parts a dump (across from the gardens) 

Plenty beautiful buildings on Union street especially top and bottom end, doesn’t stop folk calling it a dump cause of the assortment of charity shops and bookies in the middle bit.

For the record I think Edinburgh's a cracking city ??

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
8 minutes ago, NEM said:

For the record I think Edinburgh's a cracking city ??

Aye ok Mark E Smith. 

2 hours ago, CCB III said:

Nah, Dundee you can walk from the top of Perth road, to the Odeon Dundee (in Douglas) in about 1hr15/30. Everywhere you'd want to go is in generally in walking distance.

? Who wants to walk for an hour and a half?  And what's your definition of 'walking distance '?  Technically, London is walking distance, depends how far you can be arsed walking.

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
1 hour ago, NEM said:

It improved when you fucked off out of it spud 

So did I.  #winning

7 hours ago, patrick bateman said:

You need to stop believing establishment people with a vested interest.

Of course STV etc are going to dig out someone against it.

But they never seem to ask them the correct questions like if its not a thing why has it already been done in a UK general election in 1918 with Ireland?

8842650-B-EABF-44-E9-8-AAA-1490-EB8-D14-

Can’t see any unionist replying to this as they keep saying they don’t like whataboutry 

Tory sleaze:

rape, assault, sex in office, parties
Tory corruption: PPE scandal, Track & Trace, Russian money, Lobbying
Tory incompetence: Covid, NHS, Cost of Living, Social Care
Tory Absolute Shit: Brexit Disaster

work blow jobs,  shagging his hairdresser (to be confirmed)

Tories just keep on giving

2 minutes ago, caledonia said:

Can’t see any unionist replying to this as they keep saying they don’t like whataboutry 

Tory sleaze:

I am a balanced supporter of the SNP, basically because,  like yourself, I hate the cuntservatives with a passion dating back to Thatcher. 

However the nats are not squeaky clean in several similar issues relating to sleaze, embezzlement, cover ups, ferry fuck ups, drug death management etc etc.

Furthermore after 15 years in power there isn't a lot of evidence of any improvement in our NHS, Education system etc etc.

Unfortunately independence referenda shouldn't be a best of 3 scenario, whatever we think, especially with the spiralling interest rates at present and how much debt we would be in should we ever ultimately vote for independence.

That coupled with the lack of quality politicians beneath Nippy would lead me to vote no this time around. 

15 minutes ago, caledonia said:

Tory sleaze:

You can’t make a case for independence without whatabouttery. The tories are inept cunts, newsflash so are the snp. Vast, vast majority of politicians are.

Explain how and why we’d be better off independent, that’s the only way you’re going to change peoples minds (which you need to do according to the polls)

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/other/scottish-independence-polls-what-the-latest-polling-says-after-nicola-sturgeon-announces-second-referendum/ar-AAZ0hal

Or you could just stick to memes, whatabouttery and insults - you never know that might work 

I'd vote Yes as ultimately a win for the Yes campaign would signal the end of the SNP as a major political party. An independent Scotland would in all likelihood be run by a Labour / SNP type hybrid with the SNP splitting into various smaller parties (Alba type ones)

53 minutes ago, caledonia said:

Tory sleaze:

Applies to the SNP and Labour as well.

The standard of politicians everywhere is shit.

ps If you vote no then I would change my mind to yes.

1 hour ago, NEM said:

Or you could just stick to memes, whatabouttery and insults - you never know that might work 

Said this exact same thing to him only yesterday. Continuing with the memes, pointing out Tory sleaze that we all know about while glossing over the SNP failings will do nothing to change a No voter to a yes voter.

The SNP know this, are trying a different approach but it feels like their core support have not changed and all they can do is point and say "but but but the Tories"

8 minutes ago, For Fecks Sake said:

Said this exact same thing to him only yesterday. Continuing with the memes, pointing out Tory sleaze that we all know about while glossing over the SNP failings will do nothing to change a No voter to a yes voter.

The SNP know this, are trying a different approach but it feels like their core support have not changed and all they can do is point and say "but but but the Tories"

Spot on. I also told him yesterday for the Yes sides sake they better not have the glaikit cunt out canvassing ?

2 hours ago, caledonia said:

Tory sleaze:

Only 4 for me.

1 hour ago, caledonia said:

Tory sleaze:

Totally agree with you min on everything you state about the odious filth that are the Tory government.

You define the likes of me for being a unionist simply because I wish for us to remain part of the UK, for reasons already  stated. I would define myself as an economical realist and socialist. 

I don't trust the SNP one iota and hypothetically, if Scotland gained independence and they were still in power at that time, our nation would end up going backwards, reminiscent of a third world country.

Our town and city centres reflect already how bad things are economically, being part of an alliance. It can only get worse if we got it alone. 

41 years on and this song is still applicable today.......

5 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Our town and city centres reflect already how bad things are economically, being part of an alliance. It can only get worse if we got it alone. 

Our town and city centres (up and down the country and also in other countries) are in the state they are for a number of reasons.

1) People's buying habits have changed thanks to technology. The rise of Amazon and the sheer speed and ease of online buying has changed the way in which the majority of people shop.

2)The UK's love of supermarkets where you can get everything in one place has also had an effect on small independent shops - bakers, butchers, fruit and veg shops etc.

Both points above are purely down to an individual's own decision but have had a devastating effect on city and town centres.

Also

3) Councils insisting on charging high rates for shops and units in the perceived "best shopping locations" (i.e. Union Street) while not acknowledging that shoppers habits are changing.