Money saving tips

daytripping

Just now, Bad_Mobby said:

Seriously? 

wasn’t my style, but I do it unintentionally (now and again) 

Mind leaving the dancefloor to take a scoof of my bottled beer, nightclub 90’s, big scoof, bottle with a good few tabs in it (not mine obvs) Kowking  frenzy. Then just shimmied back on to the d-floor. Smoking ban helped eradicate those pitfalls. 

25 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

Mind leaving the dancefloor to take a scoof of my bottled beer, nightclub 90’s, big scoof, bottle with a good few tabs in it (not mine obvs) Kowking  frenzy. Then just shimmied back on to the d-floor. Smoking ban helped eradicate those pitfalls. 

Young hanz does need to remember the smoke machine was invented in those days and smokers everywhere, couldn't see fuck all for smoke, the sweepers dream. ?

4 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

No, everyone wasn't at it. Delayed gratification is tough, especially for the modern fuckwits but you minesweepers stood out a mile. One of my mates was the grippiest cunt of all and he used to do it when he was pisched and ran out of dough and never stood his hand enough. It's scum behaviour and only the gullible got teen. We looked after each other's drinks or went dancing between drinks, spending money on the new bird. 

Lot more danced in those days, a experienced sweeper would be looking like a hawk as the young guy took his maiden onto the dance floor. The minesweep was then a formality, most times the dudes dancing didn't even know they'd been robbed, they had a glass with a sliver of beer in it, thought the beer was drunk, Rinse and repeat. Don't blame me, was Thatchers fault I didn't have the readies. 

5 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Everyone aye? Harmless aye? You obviously didn't do it often. Particularly not in Aberdeen. I've battered men for less.

Aye I've never done it but I remember it happening to me in G casino last year, put it down for less than two minutes and it was gone. An impressive art I guess 

1 minute ago, rocket_scientist said:

I've no doubt there were easy pickings. It's still scum behaviour. Don't blame me? None of us had dough back then other than the rig pigs. Some of us worked harder or smarter to get some. Some of us gambled. I did both. I needed dough to get drunk AND meet birds. You don't pick up good quality pussy wi nae money in yer pocket. 

Different times, I was brought up on a council estate and spent the majority of those days living in hand down clothes and no money, we did our best to get by. I don't regret anything I've ever done, I've always been good to family, friends, neighbours and old folk, also anyone down on their luck. Sweeping a drink off a rich drunk in a club didn't keep me up at night. I was young, you want me to say sorry.

46 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

Naming a band, racing post is always a good place to go if yir struggling for inspiration. 

You got a tip the morn mick...?..?.the owner s of Glasvegas...are called..Weldspec...(Der Bosch)company????notable musically ...named horses...Glasvegas......Whats the Story....and Hipsway...and a fucker called Broxi...?

One of the best things and emotional to me about this site is the people you meet, usually it's trivial arguments that blow over in a day or two but just when I mentioned friends and family there it reminded me of something this site brought. I've only met Poodler in the flesh once, not for long couple of minutes. When my dad was dying in hospital he took a while out of his day to go and visit my mum and dad to have a chat, they both loved him and it made their day. Don't know what my point is here but maybe just try to not make every conversation end in an argument, there's great people here. I loved the advice I got on the woman thread.

Yeah it as at cans but not that many, more tired, night chaps, be nice. x

8 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Everyone aye? Harmless aye? You obviously didn't do it often. Particularly not in Aberdeen. I've battered men for less.

18 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Correct it wouldnt have happened often. Im talking as a mangled teenager sat at a bar post 2/3am waiting on slow service, a wee scoof out whatever was in front of me didnt seem out of the question. As an adult i wouldnt bother. Intentionally drinking someone elses drink is scumbag behaviour.

I used to pour my own pints in Amadeus as a teenager. Bar was so long, waiting an age to be served, just lean over and pull yir own pint. Initiative. Not something id do as an adult but there yi go. And that was on the mean streets of Aberdeen. 

13 minutes ago, daytripping said:

One of the best things and emotional to me about this site is the people you meet, usually it's trivial arguments that blow over in a day or two but just when I mentioned friends and family there it reminded me of something this site brought. I've only met Poodler in the flesh once, not for long couple of minutes. When my dad was dying in hospital he took a while out of his day to go and visit my mum and dad to have a chat, they both loved him and it made their day. Don't know what my point is here but maybe just try to not make every conversation end in an argument, there's great people here. I loved the advice I got on the woman thread.

Yeah it as at cans but not that many, more tired, night chaps, be nice. x

Knew instantly you were a man of character. And a bloody good wind up! 

3 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Dayts, that's good to hear re Poodler. Correction though; it didn't end in an argument. I was coming full circle when I learned that you were targeting the gullible. The one thing that sickened me wasn't that you were doing it - and as we know from the other thread (let alone many years on here) you are astonishingly honest - but that there was sycophancy going down and nae cunt speaking truth.

Your honesty is very Aberdeen but your scum behaviour was just you. That's not the city I grew up in. Most folk in Abz council estates weren't minesweepers. 

It was the 80's min, don't make out people were saints, anyone who knows me knows my character, I have nothing to prove to anyone. 

6 hours ago, daytripping said:

Lot more danced in those days, a experienced sweeper would be looking like a hawk as the young guy took his maiden onto the dance floor. The minesweep was then a formality, most times the dudes dancing didn't even know they'd been robbed, they had a glass with a sliver of beer in it, thought the beer was drunk, Rinse and repeat. Don't blame me, was Thatchers fault I didn't have the readies. 

mink behaviour

I mind being in  Cousin's, beside the bar at Union Street end.

We were drinking bottles of beer, canna mind fit, probably Becks.

Was mobbed, noticed some of our beers gan missing.

So to protect mine, I took it to the bog with me, beer in one hand, tadger in the other.

Actually finished the beer while pishing, so suddenly thought it'd be a good idea to pish in the bottle... then I could plant it back on the beer shelf, and the unsuspecting beer thief would then come undone by way of drinking my warm pish.

So back to where we were gathered, placed the beer on the shelf, kept watch out of the corner of my eye.

Unfortunately, one of our mates, who was unaware of the trap set, reached for said bottle.

Nae kidding, was like in slow motion, rest of us looked at each other, but couldnae manage to stop him in time before he took a healthy scoof of said pish.

"I didni touch it!" he protested.

The deluge of hot pish dripping fae your chin would suggest otherwise.

Nae proud of that een. Sorry J*****. It was done with the best intentions. x