Scottish Cup 2020/21

3 minutes ago, super_al said:

So really the recent hype around third place is because we believe the Scottish cup spot will be handed to the team in third and they will now go into the playoff for the Europa?

Yes and also a top 3 team could win the cup if it is completed. 

5 minutes ago, super_al said:

So really the recent hype around third place is because we believe the Scottish cup spot will be handed to the team in third and they will now go into the playoff for the Europa?

If that's the case we actually get less teams in the Europa League qualifiers than we did before. 

This whole thing is starting to sound like uefa shunting the smaller countries down to a third tier competition and away from the money in the Europa League. 

But maybe I'm just being cynical 

1 minute ago, aberdeen1970 said:

If that's the case we actually get less teams in the Europa League qualifiers than we did before. 

This whole thing is starting to sound like uefa shunting the smaller countries down to a third tier competition and away from the money in the Europa League. 

But maybe I'm just being cynical 

100% that is the case.

If you can be bothered to google you'll find articles about the Dons complaining (because when it was announced scotland was down the rankings and would get no spots in europa qualifying at all).

The huns resurgence though means we have three teams in group stages two seasons in a row, minimum. 

Just now, Tord31 said:

100% that is the case.

If you can be bothered to google you'll find articles about the Dons complaining (because when it was announced scotland was down the rankings and would get no spots in europa qualifying at all).

The huns resurgence though means we have three teams in group stages two seasons in a row, minimum. 

I am hugely cynical about uefa.  Their main mission is to keep clubs in the big leagues happy to stop them threatening to break away. 

I think the champions league has been terrible for European football in general. 

Seeded to fuck, rich get richer creating a huge gap between the haves and haves not. Extra tv money just because you come from a big league.  Country fucking coefficients to make sure all the teams from the big leagues are at an advantage. And 'country protection' to boot. 

As well as the destruction of the competition in smaller leagues as the teams who qualify from them end up with riches way beyond the rest of the clubs in that league. Who get a pathetic 250k in ' solidarity' payments. 

And the end result?  The same teams playing the same teams every year in a bore fest until you reach at least the quarter finals. 

2 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

I am hugely cynical about uefa.  Their main mission is to keep clubs in the big leagues happy to stop them threatening to break away. 

I think the champions league has been terrible for European football in general. 

Seeded to fuck, rich get richer creating a huge gap between the haves and haves not. Extra tv money just because you come from a big league.  Country fucking coefficients to make sure all the teams from the big leagues are at an advantage. And 'country protection' to boot. 

As well as the destruction of the competition in smaller leagues as the teams who qualify from them end up with riches way beyond the rest of the clubs in that league. Who get a pathetic 250k in ' solidarity' payments. 

And the end result?  The same teams playing the same teams every year in a bore fest until you reach at least the quarter finals. 

Aye. Complete bore fest.

The worst thing tho is getting knocked out of the CL and dropping into Europa League.

The tims must have made tens of millions through that pish, to the absolute detriment of Scottish Football.

Over the last 10 years or so, or whenever the "champions route" was introduced, it's almost been impossible for them not to end up with at least a shot in the Europa League PO minimum against some pish.

Unless they are beat in their first tie in CL qualifying by some cunts from Gibraltar or Andorra.

10 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

?? 

1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said:

4 rounds to get into the conference group stages?? 

Fucking hell. 

This spreadsheet has a list of who is currently qualifying for the 3 European competitions. I don't know if it has updated this weekend's results yet but it's certainly updated to last weekend.

https://onedrive.live.com/view.aspx?resid=4FE4712A1E3EA4FA!301&ithint=file%2Cxlsx&authkey=!AI0j65LlMWkMofc

1 hour ago, muttonhumper said:

Aye. Complete bore fest.

The worst thing tho is getting knocked out of the CL and dropping into Europa League.

The tims must have made tens of millions through that pish, to the absolute detriment of Scottish Football.

Over the last 10 years or so, or whenever the "champions route" was introduced, it's almost been impossible for them not to end up with at least a shot in the Europa League PO minimum against some pish.

Unless they are beat in their first tie in CL qualifying by some cunts from Gibraltar or Andorra.

Aye. The fact you need a 'champions route' in the fucking Champions League to make sure a few champions get there tells you it's all a load of pish. 

2 hours ago, Tord31 said:

Leitch saying the diddy club return will be announced this week.

Scottish cup back on the radar, sort of.

Just to clarify if the Scottish cup is played out and the winner is not from the top 3, the Europa playoff spot goes to the Scottish cup holder? If so Hibs are really silly for banking on third financially. 

45 minutes ago, super_al said:

Just to clarify if the Scottish cup is played out and the winner is not from the top 3, the Europa playoff spot goes to the Scottish cup holder? If so Hibs are really silly for banking on third financially. 

Aye stupid stupid hibs eh?, glad it isn’t us?,whit the fuck ???

same as the rangers boardroom banking on winning the league and euro latter stages by flinging money at themselves?daft stupid huns eh!

bet it doesn’t work for them——oh wait!!!

8 minutes ago, super_al said:

No but there is alot of carry on about coming third when there is several if's and but's to be decided. 

It’s almost March,all the teams lower than the championship hasn’t played in a year!, highly doubtfull that the Scottish club is going to be played now?if so there would be a bigger sporting advantage than normal which a don’t think will be allowed!, it will come down to placement in the league as it would be a bit crass while folk are still losing there lives to play a cup that doesn’t need played,last year for example it was us that got the euro spot without the competition meaning anything

• Dildo 2
1 hour ago, super_al said:

Aye Scottish cup being completed by may 31st is a challenge though at this point.

1 hour ago, Dons79 said:

It’s almost March,all the teams lower than the championship hasn’t played in a year!, highly doubtfull that the Scottish club is going to be played now?if so there would be a bigger sporting advantage than normal which a don’t think will be allowed!, it will come down to placement in the league as it would be a bit crass while folk are still losing there lives to play a cup that doesn’t need played,last year for example it was us that got the euro spot without the competition meaning anything

Scottish cup should never have been played then.

I think what the SFA might want to do is similar to last season, play the cup to the quarter final stage this season (where they don't benefit from gate receipts) and hold over the semi and final to the beginning of next season where this time there probably is a realistic chance of getting fans in, so the SFA benefit from gate receipts from 3 Hampden games. That is probably more realistic given the likely lack of available dates to finish it this season and it suits the SFA as well

3 hours ago, Don Shula said:

I think what the SFA might want to do is similar to last season, play the cup to the quarter final stage this season (where they don't benefit from gate receipts) and hold over the semi and final to the beginning of next season where this time there probably is a realistic chance of getting fans in, so the SFA benefit from gate receipts from 3 Hampden games. That is probably more realistic given the likely lack of available dates to finish it this season and it suits the SFA as well

But too late for any club outwith the arse cheeks to benefit from its main bonus for winning it now.......direct access to the EL play-off round.