11 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

So if league positions mean nothing does this mean clubs like Ross County and ICT would also be a sideways step from us? They've also won a trophy each in the last 20 years  if thats all that counts?

Only thing that really matters to a player is how much he's going to earn over the length of a contract.

We pay more on average than Hibs do, but on an individual case basis, they could match or even outpay us quite comfortably if they so choose. 

2 hours ago, GDON21 said:

All seems very strange tbh. These days clubs don't really bid for someone unless they know they have a realistic chance of getting the player, either the club have set a fee or the player has indicated they'd want to come via an agent.

Maybe we have said to Boyles agent that we will pay him very good money on a 4 year contract and the player is interested and we have tested the water with a bid. If a club activates the release clause from outside Scotland then maybe Hibs will be willing to accept a bit extra from us, if the players preferred destination was Aberdeen despite being direct rivals. 

If this is purely a publicity stunt after Sunday then it is a very dangerous game because even if we don't get Boyle, the fans will be expecting we go and spend that money on someone else. We have also now shown our hand to clubs like St Mirren when bidding for McGrath, that we do have 500k to spend on a player. 

All seems very strange because there is no chance in hell we get our direct rivals best player for 500k, so seems a complete waste of time. 

An awful lot hinges on qualification to group stages or the sale of Ferguson and it could lead to some moves. However, I feel Cormack is so desperate for Glass to do well that he will back him with a couple more good signings regardless. 

I think you may well be close to the truth with the player keen to come and we are just testing the water with a first bid.  It’s been pretty well documented that we have been interested in him for months now.   When Glass and Gunn did that interview a few weeks back Boyle was the only player outwith the club  Glass mentioned by name.  A bid of maybe 600k + player (McGeouch)  may tempt them tho.  

25 minutes ago, BonnieDon said:

I'd love to see us sell Ferguson for 3.5 million. Sign Boyle (600k) and McGrath (800k). Hedges signs a new 2 year contract.

Reality: None of that will happen.

Should really have payed more attention to McGrath if he’s worth more than Boyle 

1 hour ago, zeroisgod76 said:

have finished above us 15 time out of 51 attempts since 1970

Good stat!

How many times have the Dons finished above them in that period?

1 hour ago, Ernie McCracken said:

A league cup and a Scottish cup in the last 20 years, versus our solitary league Cup. 

2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th means nothing. Not sure what's making our shadow so big - it's certainly not trophies. 

Of course league positions are meaningful, it's the yardstick by which a team's success is measured!

1 hour ago, Ten Caat said:

Only thing that really matters to a player is how much he's going to earn over the length of a contract.

We pay more on average than Hibs do, but on an individual case basis, they could match or even outpay us quite comfortably if they so choose

But what happens if we choose to pay more?

1 hour ago, zeroisgod76 said:

So if league positions mean nothing does this mean clubs like Ross County and ICT would also be a sideways step from us? They've also won a trophy each in the last 20 years  if thats all that counts?

Well you could factor in crowd/support size in terms of size of club, in which case ourselves and Hibs are in the same ballpark. But my comment was in relation specifically to youre claim that they had been in our shadow in the past 20 years. 

Historically (ie going back further than 20 years) we are far more successful than Hibs, but we're in the same region in terms of size.

4 hours ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Having a wee peak at hibs.net to see their thoughts on the Boyle situation and the delusion amongst Hibs fans is hilarious. Moving to Aberdeen would be a sidewards or downwards step apparently, 1 half decent season (and even then they weren't anything special) and they think they're billy big bollocks... they genuinely seem to think they are a bigger club than us. Looking at their history its just a matter of time until they're relegated again, a yo-yo club if ever there was one.

Boyle would be mad to not push for a step up from such a diddy team!!

The problem being that the gap between the two isn't big enough in finance or stature to make it a no brainer. Then you have the fact that nobody of sound mind would chose to live in Aberdeen over Edinburgh. 

8 minutes ago, perthshirered said:

The problem being that the gap between the two isn't big enough in finance or stature to make it a no brainer. Then you have the fact that nobody of sound mind would chose to live in Aberdeen over Edinburgh. 

.....and only a lunatic would choose to live in Perth over either

1 hour ago, perthshirered said:

Not sure about that I lived in Edinburgh most of it’s a shite hole 

7 hours ago, Tord31 said:

bahahhah. Unless they are away to sell someone for millions. He'll be going to the EPL

Middlesbrough sold their striker to Southampton for around £15,000,000 in the summer. 

Neil Warnock is the manager, his type of player. Get the bid in, Boro.  £3.5 million and a 15% sell on clause and its a deal. 

2 minutes ago, G31DON said:

Middlesbrough sold their striker to Southampton for around £15,000,000 in the summer. 

Neil Warnock is the manager, his type of player. Get the bid in, Boro.  £3.5 million and a 15% sell on clause and its a deal. 

Who was that Britt AssBolonga or Yakubu?