We desperately need a CAM, like a proper attacking mid to link things up. Somebody to play in front of Longstaff and Brown.

I kind of hope Ferguson does leave at this stage as it would be a good earner and he’s back to his sitting deep pish which IMO is a waste of his talent. Especially with Brown sitting already. He was going proper box to box first few games which was more exciting. I think were well prepared for his exit and the fee could maybe get us that last CAM option. 

28 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said:

Aye i work with his father in law and spoke to him yesterday about it. 

Hibs obviously didn't know his current wage.

If St J turned down Hibs' offer, how did Hibs even get to the point of offering him a wage in the first place?

They may well have enquired about his current wages through the loon's agent but until St J accept an offer they cannot be in any sort of negotiations with the player. That would be tapping up which is a big old no no

46 minutes ago, ThomohawkKid said:

We desperately need a CAM, like a proper attacking mid to link things up. Somebody to play in front of Longstaff and Brown.

I kind of hope Ferguson does leave at this stage as it would be a good earner and he’s back to his sitting deep pish which IMO is a waste of his talent. Especially with Brown sitting already. He was going proper box to box first few games which was more exciting. I think were well prepared for his exit and the fee could maybe get us that last CAM option. 

This. 100% agree. For all the attacking football we've been promised i don't see any of the current signings able to fulfill the role. Longstaff looks like he will be a more than capable replacement for Ferguson. But there is still far too big a gap between the midfield and forward players. Ramirez still isolated. Will improve when Hedges is back but i'd like to see it addressed before Tuesday. Not convinced it will be though. 

42 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

If St J turned down Hibs' offer, how did Hibs even get to the point of offering him a wage in the first place?

They may well have enquired about his current wages through the loon's agent but until St J accept an offer they cannot be in any sort of negotiations with the player. That would be tapping up which is a big old no no

Who said the offer was turned down for Kerr? It was turned down for McCart 3 times. 

Also it happens all the time where the player and new club have agreed personal terms but yet to agree fee with old club. They can still be granted permission to discuss contract by the selling club i assume?

Just now, Durrant Dived said:

Who said the offer was turned down for Kerr? It was turned down for McCart 3 times. 

Also it happens all the time where the player and new club have agreed personal terms but yet to agree fee with old club. They can still be granted permission to discuss contract by the selling club i assume?

So St Johnstone have accepted a bid for Kerr from Hibs?  Do you know how much? 

Surely Scott Burns will be along late tonight and/or tomorrow night with our final in and outs.

Kennedy surely get a loan move?

Any late bids for Fergie over £3M?

Loan moves for Ruth? Ngwenya? Hancock?

In the way any move for McGrath would surely only be if Fergie goes.

Maybe a loan defender for 4-5 months to cover Consi injury? 

9 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

Surely Scott Burns will be along late tonight and/or tomorrow night with our final in and outs.

I’d be happy for Ferguson to go & be replaced with McGrath.

Ferguson is one of 3 or 4 similar types in midfield.

I don’t think Kennedy going would lead to someone coming in though, or the younger lads going out on loan. 

16 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

Not entirely sure there will be any more incomings. Certainly going by his post match comments. A few out and that'll be us. 

41 minutes ago, AyrshireSheep said:

Not entirely sure there will be any more incomings. Certainly going by his post match comments. A few out and that'll be us. 

Nae sure I believe him? Even without selling Ferguson we made the bid for Boyle and bid/s for McGrath.

I doubt the Bates fee is equivalent. I presume the Bates fee was merely funding his pay off from Hamburg

9 hours ago, Tord31 said:

Nae sure I believe him? Even without selling Ferguson we made the bid for Boyle and bid/s for McGrath.

I doubt the Bates fee is equivalent. I presume the Bates fee was merely funding his pay off from Hamburg

I would imagine any cash that we had has gone on part of Longstaffs wages.  Still think we will get 1 more in but will need to see 2-3 leave.  

10 hours ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

I’d be happy for Ferguson to go & be replaced with McGrath.

Ferguson is one of 3 or 4 similar types in midfield.

I don’t think Kennedy going would lead to someone coming in though, or the younger lads going out on loan. 

Longstaff is Ferguson's replacement. 

1 minute ago, Sonoftherock said:

Where is Fergie going?  Late in the day now?  Tomorrow night at 11pm... reckon he'll be sitting at home willing his phone to ring!

Haven't got any word of where he is going. Only thing i got told before Longstaff was announced was that he was signing as a replacement for Ferguson. 

13 minutes ago, Sonoftherock said:

Where is Fergie going?  Late in the day now?  Tomorrow night at 11pm... reckon he'll be sitting at home willing his phone to ring!

If the rumours on Twitter are to be believed, Newcastle will loan Ferguson until the end of the season at which point they will pay 3 million plus add ons. 

Ferguson is clearly one of our better players however since Watford expressed their interest in him he's not been so great. I think it's best for all parties that he leaves before the window closes.

45 minutes ago, BonnieDon said:

If the rumours on Twitter are to be believed, Newcastle will loan Ferguson until the end of the season at which point they will pay 3 million plus add ons. 

Ferguson is clearly one of our better players however since Watford expressed their interest in him he's not been so great. I think it's best for all parties that he leaves before the window closes.

A try before they buy like what was attempted with McKenna ? can't see it 

42 minutes ago, BonnieDon said:

Already been rubbished as Internet rumour. 

38 minutes ago, BonnieDon said:

Why the hell would we get sucked into a scheme such as that?

Pretty much mirrors what Aston Villa wanted to do with McKenna a couple of years back.......a free trial period with a supposed set fee sale at the end of the loan. But you can bet your bottom dollar the loan agreement would come stuffed with legalese caveats allowing Newcastle to welch on any sale if Ferguson either suffered a bad injury or turned out to be hopeless at that level.

If it's part of the agreement bringing Longstaff here then it's truly bizarre, loaning us a supposedly far higher rated player in return for us loaning them Ferguson. Unless Newcastle have already written Longstaff off as being not good enough.

If a team wants him, they can pay the fee we ask immediately.

4 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

Why the hell would we get sucked into a scheme such as that?

Pretty much mirrors what Aston Villa wanted to do with McKenna a couple of years back.......a free trial period with a supposed set fee sale at the end of the loan. But you can bet your bottom dollar the loan agreement would come stuffed with legalese caveats allowing Newcastle to welch on any sale if Ferguson either suffered a bad injury or turned out to be hopeless at that level.

If it's part of the agreement bringing Longstaff here then it's truly bizarre, loaning us a supposedly far higher rated player in return for us loaning them Ferguson. Unless Newcastle have already written Longstaff off as being not good enough.

If a team wants him, they can pay the fee we ask immediately.

Its not so bad if it's an obligation to buy but an option to buy is ludicrous. 

1 hour ago, BonnieDon said:

That arrangement would also make it difficult for us to re-invest it in a replacement. 
I suppose we could still pay £500k for a new player if we knew £3m was coming next year.

That said, I cannot see AFC letting an asset go without some cash up front. 

I see Mcgeouch never made the bench on Saturday, I can see him moving on as well if anybody wants to take him. Decent player but no point having one of our highest earners not contributing especially given the amount of centre midfielders we have just now.

McGeouch, Kennedy and McGinn could all go and no one would really notice. Ferguson needs sold.

2 minutes ago, Redmist1903 said:

I see Mcgeouch never made the bench on Saturday, I can see him moving on as well if anybody wants to take him. Decent player but no point having one of our highest earners not contributing especially given the amount of centre midfielders we have just now.

McGeouch, Kennedy and McGinn could all go and no one would really notice. Ferguson needs sold.

Would certainly free up a chunk of wages. However McGinn only just signed an extension in the summer, so doubt he's going anywhere. 

6 minutes ago, StandFree1982 said:

Would certainly free up a chunk of wages. However McGinn only just signed an extension in the summer, so doubt he's going anywhere. 

Bizzare McGinn got a new deal, been hopeless for some time now, can only hope his wages were massively reduced when he signed a new deal