Europe 21/22

14 minutes ago, Medw1311 said:

If Chelsea qualify for the Champions League through the league does that affect things in any way?

If St. Johnstone do get bumped up to the PO round I'd guess they would take Randers place and be Priority 1 for the draw where they would play a Priority 4 or 3 team.

Have you got a maths degree?

Fucking ridiculous system.

36 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

apparently its confirmed now that st johnstone start in Europa QR3

Shame for them after what they achieved this season.

We would be absolutely gutted had it been us matching their achievements

edit. Only in terms of Europe, not cup wins 

Here's a dilemma...

Providing we get through QR2 we will definitely be in the Play Off Round Draw so what would we prefer in QR3?

1) Drawn against one of the "easier" seeded teams (likes of Dundalk, Santa Clara, Pacos de Ferreira, Suduva Marijampole etc) and not be seeded in the PO Round

2) Drawn against one of the "harder" seeded teams (likes of Basel, Gent, Anderlecht, Astana, LASK, Feyenoord, Qarabag, FCSB etc) and should we somehow win we'd be seeded in the PO round.

Seeded teams in the PO Round include the likes of Spurs, Roma & Villareal

Option 1 definitely. Get the shittest seed possible and play another poor team in playoffs. Being unseeded in the playoffs (if we made it) would be almost impossible even in this low tier competition. 

When I first heard of this tournement I wasn’t expecting quite the level of teams that there is. A lot of the teams in playoff round are similar level to Europa league. 

5 minutes ago, slippers said:

When I first heard of this tournement I wasn’t expecting quite the level of teams that there is. A lot of the teams in playoff round are similar level to Europa league. 

That's because the real objective is to make sure as many teams from the bigger countries get European group stage football.  They fully expect and want the teams from the smaller countries to get papped out in the qualifiers. 

Still inexplicable why, with an additional tournament wedged in, we still have so many qualifying rounds to negotiate so early in the season. It is of course designed as a further safety net for the bigger clubs, diluting the competitions for those of us who qualify. You should get one shot in whichever one you start out in and thats it. Get humbled by Lincoln Red Imps in your CL qualifier, tough shit, yer oot.

The fate of our Euro campaign lies squarely in getting a favourable draw so option 1 for me and just hope we catch a bigger club cold in the PO.

5 minutes ago, thedandydon said:

Still inexplicable why, with an additional tournament wedged in, we still have so many qualifying rounds to negotiate so early in the season. It is of course designed as a further safety net for the bigger clubs, diluting the competitions for those of us who qualify. You should get one shot in whichever one you start out in and thats it. Get humbled by Lincoln Red Imps in your CL qualifier, tough shit, yer oot.

The fate of our Euro campaign lies squarely in getting a favourable draw so option 1 for me and just hope we catch a bigger club cold in the PO.

Aye just copying the other European competitions. They are all just a mirror image of each other now. 

Would have been great if they'd just had a third competition which was unseeded and straight knockout (over two legs) .  What a breath of fresh air it would have been and would have added some excitement to the dull as dishwater European nights between August and December when the same teams play each other in the same groups time and time again. 

There's enough teams from England, Spain etc coining it in as it is. 

Guaranteed unseeded in QR3 now.

Here’s who’s anticipated to be seeded so far in the QR3 round

FC Basel **              Sui  49.000             
AA Gent **               Bel  26.500             
Anderlecht               Bel  25.000             
FK Astana **             Kaz  22.500             
LASK                     Aut  21.000             
Feyenoord **             Ned  21.000             
Qarabag FK **            Azb  21.000             
FCSB **                  Rom  21.000             
PAOK Thessaloniki **     Gre  20.000             
AEK Athens **            Gre  19.500             
Partizan Belgrade **     Srb  18.000             
BATE Borisov **          Bls  17.500            
Molde FK **              Nor  17.000            
Rosenborg BK **          Nor  14.000            
NK Maribor *             Slo  14.000            
NK Rijeka **             Cro  13.500            
Apollon Limassol **      Cyp  13.500            
FC Fehérvár *            Hun  11.500            
Dundalk *                Irl  10.500            
CD Santa Clara **        Por   9.709            
Paços de Ferreira        Por   9.709            
Suduva Marijampole *     Lit   8.750            

Seeded team anticipated so far in the PO round is

AS Roma                  Ita  90.000             
Tottenham Hotspur        Eng  88.000             
Villarreal               Esp >62.000             
Anderlecht *3            Bel  25.000             
LASK *3                  Aut  21.000            

+6more

18 minutes ago, afc1903mad said:

Guaranteed unseeded in QR3 now.

Here’s who’s anticipated to be seeded so far in the QR3 round

Anderlecht               Bel  25.000             
LASK                     Aut  21.000             
PAOK Thessaloniki **     Gre  20.000             
AEK Athens **            Gre  19.500             
Partizan Belgrade **     Srb  18.000             
BATE Borisov **          Bls  17.500            
Molde FK **              Nor  17.000            
Rosenborg BK **          Nor  14.000            
NK Maribor *             Slo  14.000            
NK Rijeka **             Cro  13.500            
Apollon Limassol **      Cyp  13.500            
FC Fehérvár *            Hun  11.500            
Dundalk *                Irl  10.500            
CD Santa Clara **        Por   9.709            
Paços de Ferreira        Por   9.709            
Suduva Marijampole *     Lit   8.750            

Doesn’t seem to be any easier at all compared to the Europa League.

St Johnstone will face a CL drop-out in EL QR3. I'm guessing they can't face Celtic, but one from the following: -

Seeded clubs                   coef.             Unseeded clubs                 coef.
------------------------ --- ----------------    ------------------------ --- ----------------
Celtic                   Sco  34.000             Rapid Wien               Aut  17.000
PSV Eindhoven            Ned  29.000             Galatasaray              Tur  17.000
Sparta Praha             Cze  17.500             FC Midtjylland           Den  13.500

Tough shift given they don't have any earlier rounds in Europe.

Scotland's country rating now is higher (currently 9th but will be classed as 11th for next season), therefore the cup winners (3rd) the next couple of seasons are placed directly into the PO round of the EL (Cup winners from countries 7-12) 

7 minutes ago, afc1903mad said:

St Johnstone will face a CL drop-out in EL QR3. I'm guessing they can't face Celtic, but one from the following: -

Seeded clubs                   coef.             Unseeded clubs                 coef.
------------------------ --- ----------------    ------------------------ --- ----------------
Celtic                   Sco  34.000             Rapid Wien               Aut  17.000
PSV Eindhoven            Ned  29.000             Galatasaray              Tur  17.000
Sparta Praha             Cze  17.500             FC Midtjylland           Den  13.500

Tough shift given they don't have any earlier rounds in Europe.

Scotland's country rating now is higher (currently 9th but will be classed as 11th for next season), therefore the cup winners (3rd) the next couple of seasons are placed directly into the PO round of the EL (Cup winners from countries 7-12) 

Big season next season then. Does the cup winnier (3rd) get a pass to the Europa Conference if get knocked out EL in PO round?

Where do you get your info from min?

18 hours ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Doesn’t seem to be any easier at all compared to the Europa League.

I think all they have done is made the Europa League smaller. Doesn't seem to be a huge amount of extra spaces in the Europa Diddy League. 

Wonder if the inaugural winners will be a side who were eliminated in both the champions league and europa league through the course of the season. How exciting 

8 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

I think all they have done is made the Europa League smaller. Doesn't seem to be a huge amount of extra spaces in the Europa Diddy League. 

Wonder if the inaugural winners will be a side who were eliminated in both the champions league and europa league through the course of the season. How exciting 

Can you drop from Champions League to Europa to Conference?

Ridiculous if you can. 

33 minutes ago, Betty Swallicks said:

Can you be a no mark club that have never had a sniff of 2nd never mind 1st, get bolstered by tv money that is precisely fuck all to do with your fan base, probably need half your squad to get passports just to get papped oot by some croatian postmen drop from Champions League to Europa to Conference?

Ridiculous if you can. 

FIFY

1 hour ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Yeah, the Europa League now consists of just top 15 nations and CL dropouts. It means there are fewer qualifying rounds (just QR3 and the PO) before the groups

It is possible to go from CL to EL to ECL.

1 hour ago, Betty Swallicks said:

Can you drop from Champions League to Europa to Conference?

Ridiculous if you can. 

Yes, you can. A number of ways.

If your interested (although maybe not) being ranked 11th this upcoming season means that the Scottish Premier League Winners would go straight into the CL PO round, to which losing means straight into the EL groups.

Next year (as were 9th) the Scottish Premier League Winners would be straight into the CL groups, with second place in QR3 non champions route (two rounds to qualify, but losing either puts you into the EL groups)

9 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

What a load of fucking bollocks UEFA are. 

That diagram is full of second and third chances for the big clubs from the big countries. 

Aye its crap. In my head, until recently, I thought it was gonna be the likes of us and our old mates Groningen, Rijeka and Kairat getting a decent run out in Europe. But now it is clear it is just another method to ensure all the money stays with the same clubs / leagues.

14 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Aye its crap. In my head, until recently, I thought it was gonna be the likes of us and our old mates Groningen, Rijeka and Kairat getting a decent run out in Europe. But now it is clear it is just another method to ensure all the money stays with the same clubs / leagues.

In essence there was 48 teams in th EL groups and now there will only be 32 (designed to optimised the higher placed teams / countries.

The ECL adds another 32 teams to its group stages, but although initially for the lower ranked nations, you’ll find the groups are heavily filled with top tier nations. That’s why the anticipated teams in the ECL PO so far are:-

20 hours ago, afc1903mad said:

Seeded team anticipated so far in the PO round is

AS Roma                  Ita  90.000             
Tottenham Hotspur        Eng  88.000             
Villarreal               Esp >62.000             
Anderlecht *3            Bel  25.000             
LASK *3                  Aut  21.000