Calvin Ramsay

6 hours ago, slippers said:

Ramsey will go on to play at a much higher level than Jess ever did. Im confident of that. Hard to compare when both completely different types of players.

I think he will play at the same level as Jess did but for a far better team and for far longer than 3-4 seasons 

9 hours ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

You dont think Calvin Ramsay will win more than 18 Scotland caps and play more than 2 seasons in the Premier League?

Yes I do indeed. He is that good & brings so much opportunities to a team to create  chances. Once he signs for an EPL club he will be in the same categories as likes is Tierney, Robertson & Gilmour as far as Scotland stars/chat goes & the Huns will be greeting that he’s surpassing Patterson 

1 hour ago, King Street Loon said:

Ramsey will sign an extension.

He will know it's good for his development to play regularly here. Plenty time on his side to get his move.

If he does his agent will insist on a fixed transfer fee release clause. And you can be sure it would be for a good bit less than we are all thinking/hoping we might get for him (I'd guess at £3m)

I'd rather we just left things as they are for now, he's still got plenty time left on his current contract that we don't need to act hastily. If he hasn't been sold by this time next year then we can think about offering him an extension

13 hours ago, slippers said:

Ramsey will go on to play at a much higher level than Jess ever did. Im confident of that. Hard to compare when both completely different types of players.

Different eras. 
Jess wouldve got snapped up by an epl side pretty quick into his career in this era. 
He was a lot better than Mcginn and he plays every week for Villa. 

If only Gurr was half way decent & could be played & told to just concentrate on defending at RB & play Ramsay as right winger. Gurr just defends & feeds Ramsay for attack. 
Shit that we have such a great player in Ramsay & he’s being asked to do so much work all down right side basically on his own.

Campbell done a decent job filling in at LB, can he do same at RB I wonder ? 

Would love to see how good Ramsay could be without having to burst a gut getting back into RB all time after all his attacks, especially when he’s taking all corners as well. Poor cunts getting beasted.

Playing him on RW would also get that useless fk Ojo out of the first team quicker as well.

Also worth trying Samuels at CF rather than that useless fk wit Ramirez 

front two of Samuels & JET

midfield four of Ferguson, Brown, with Ramsay & maybe Hayes on each wing (or swap out Hayes for Longstaff, McGeouch, McCrorie.

back four of MacKenzie, Bates, Gallagher (if we must) or McCrorie & Campbell, or Gurr (if he can handle it)

25 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said:

If only Gurr was half way decent & could be played & told to just concentrate on defending at RB & play Ramsay as right winger. Gurr just defends & feeds Ramsay for attack. 
Shit that we have such a great player in Ramsay & he’s being asked to do so much work all down right side basically on his own.

Campbell done a decent job filling in at LB, can he do same at RB I wonder ? 

Would love to see how good Ramsay could be without having to burst a gut getting back into RB all time after all his attacks, especially when he’s taking all corners as well. Poor cunts getting beasted.

Playing him on RW would also get that useless fk Ojo out of the first team quicker as well.

Also worth trying Samuels at CF rather than that useless fk wit Ramirez 

front two of Samuels & JET

midfield four of Ferguson, Brown, with Ramsay & maybe Hayes on each wing (or swap out Hayes for Longstaff, McGeouch, McCrorie.

back four of MacKenzie, Bates, Gallagher (if we must) or McCrorie & Campbell, or Gurr (if he can handle it)

He’s an attacking modern day full back. That’s his position. And he’s really good at it. 

Liverpool aren’t playing Andy robertson at left wing. Real Madrid have never tried Marcelo there and Brazil didn’t play Cafu or Roberto Carlos as wingers. They are full backs. Doing what full backs do. Attacking from deep positions where they get space. It’s completely different positions. 

come on mate we can disagree on the dons but this is embarrassing 

4 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

He’s an attacking modern day full back. That’s his position. And he’s really good at it. 

Liverpool aren’t playing Andy robertson at left wing. Real Madrid have never tried Marcelo there and Brazil didn’t play Cafu or Roberto Carlos as wingers. They are full backs. Doing what full backs do. Attacking from deep positions where they get space. It’s completely different positions. 

Could not agree more. Utter insanity. 

On 9/16/2021 at 8:17 AM, NEM said:

Aye as soon as Anderson fucked off plugs limitations were badly exposed

Severin held his hand for a season or 2 after that. Things fair took a rapid decline when he fucked off. The littany of shite we had at the back until Reynolds/Anderson MK II was madness.

18 hours ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

I’m only suggesting he be given less burden & not have to burst a gut getting back to defence so much. He’s a young lad & we’re asking a lot of him. Risks of burn out or injuries more with him being used so much. Not saying he isn’t capable of defensive work, just that he be used more where he’s most effective & ease his load

21 hours ago, fine-n-dandy said:

I’m only suggesting he be given less burden & not have to burst a gut getting back to defence so much. He’s a young lad & we’re asking a lot of him. Risks of burn out or injuries more with him being used so much. Not saying he isn’t capable of defensive work, just that he be used more where he’s most effective & ease his load

Why don't we try playing a right midfielder in front of him so he actually has a hand now and again?

2 hours ago, RUL said:

Why don't we try playing a right midfielder in front of him so he actually has a hand now and again?

2 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

We don't have one. 

Apart from maybe McLennan? 

The rest are all left wingers, some of which have been used as inverted right wingers. 

Maybe Campbell could do a job there. Seems fairly capable in any roles he’s been asked.

On 9/18/2021 at 11:09 PM, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Bear in mind FnD once suggested playing Shay Logan at left wing ?

Steve Clarke says Aberdeen youngster Calvin Ramsay needs more time to settle into Dons first team before international recognition will come - Evening Express

Pish from Clarke. Didn't need to give Patterson any time to settle into the hun first team before he got called up did he? Ramsay has played more first team games than Patterson now, yet Patterson has made 3/4 squads and had a cap. 

The Faroes game is exactly the type of game a guy like Ramsay should be getting a chance early on in his career to get him used to the international set up.

1 hour ago, Andy_123 said:

Steve Clarke says Aberdeen youngster Calvin Ramsay needs more time to settle into Dons first team before international recognition will come - Evening Express

Pish from Clarke. Didn't need to give Patterson any time to settle into the hun first team before he got called up did he? Ramsay has played more first team games than Patterson now, yet Patterson has made 3/4 squads and had a cap. 

The Faroes game is exactly the type of game a guy like Ramsay should be getting a chance early on in his career to get him used to the international set up.

He's right for now.

Ramsay is still physically maturing, still suffers cramping at times after 75 minutes or so and has to improve his defensive skills a bit before he's ready for a full international cap. I get he's playing more regularly than Patterson but he's also nearly 2 years younger than him...Patterson turns 20 next month. O'Donnell and Patterson are Clarke's first choices for the position and unless both get injured, that isn't going to change during the WC qualifying campaign. We saw last month that even if they do, he'll turn to someone experienced (Paul McGinn got the nod) rather than Ramsay.

A year in the U21's will do Ramsay no harm and then he can start to make his claims for a full cap. He should certainly get a chance in a friendly prior to next year's WC finals whether we make it or not and it will then be up to the loon to make sure he's a regular feature in squads. There's a reasonable chance by then that we will have cashed in on him anyway and if he's at an EPL club his chances of doing so will be massively enhanced.

18 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Patterson is sitting on the bench for Huns and scotland 

Ramsay's development gained by playing for Aberdeen and Scotland u21 for the next wee while will see him leapfrog the Hun colt who barely gets any football. 

You’ve spelt cunt wrong - it’s unt not olt