Proposed new stadium, by Aberdeen beach

5 hours ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Gutted. I was very keen on the UK World Cup bid. Weird that England havent hosted a World Cup since 1966 really. 

No chance we'd get in on it though. Grounds will need to be at least 30 or more likely 40k to host the Euros. No use to us. And theres plenty grounds across the UK and Ireland without needing to build any.

Not that much of a surprise england not getting to host things. They have hosted two tournaments since 1966 snd there has been trouble at both of them 

Cormack's on a hiding to nothing with this one and for once it isn't really his fault.

The council have got everyone's hopes up of staying at the beach now, yet have offered the club no help towards the additional funding required and no timeline for their beach regeneration project (not to the public anyway). Is Cormack supposed to just sit on his hands for the next decade or more while the council fuck about like they always do when it comes to a big project like this?

I'll still be surprised if we end up staying at the beach rather than moving to Kingsford.

6 hours ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Get it built at Kingsford.... if it weeds out the part time supporters who wont go any more if they have to travel 7 miles from the city centre then that can only be a good thing. True fans won't care where they have to go to watch the Dons.

We have the site all ready for the stadium to be built on.... why even bother looking elsewhere.

Get to Fuck how do you expect toonsers to l have to travel outwith the city, 

7 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Dave will tell us that since only 5,000 of our season ticket holders are turning up regularly to watch Glassball we only need a 10,000 capacity stadium now. 

Got to hand it to Cormack. His plans for regular capacity crowds are well on track.

First introducing a ‘different way of doing things’ rapidly driving away the support so as to only need a small stadium.

Build small stadium & hey presto. Delivers on promises 

57 minutes ago, Alex Ferguson said:

If only we could look to the future and the Euro 2028 bid, we should be hosting matches at that.

Not a fucking chance. 

Scotland would get one group section and  a last 16 tie. Not even convinced we'd get a quarter final tie to host.

The Group ties would be carved up between Parkhead, Ibrokes, Hampden and maybe one  token game at either Easter Road or Tynecastle

Last 16 tie at Hampden

1 minute ago, Ten Caat said:

Not a fucking chance. 

Scotland would get one group section and  a last 16 tie. Not even convinced we'd get a quarter final tie to host.

The Group ties would be carved up between Parkhead, Ibrokes, Hampden and maybe one  token game at either Easter Road or Tynecastle

Last 16 tie at Hampden

Aye. 

If they picked one game outside Glasgow they'd probably give it to Murrayfield so Hibs or Hearts didn't get any cash. 

9 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

Not a fucking chance. 

Last 16 tie at Hampden

Easter Rd and Tynecastle not too small?

8 minutes ago, Jigsaw666 said:

Easter Rd and Tynecastle not too small?

Plenty big enough for a tie between 2 of the the 2nd/3rd/4th seeded sides in a group which could come out as along the lines of Romania v Finland or the likes

Presumably Scotland would qualify automatically as hosts and would stay in Glasgow for all 3 ties

If they chose Murrayfield rather than one of the 2 football grounds then Scotland could conceivably play a group tie there

29 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

Plenty big enough for a tie between 2 of the the 2nd/3rd/4th seeded sides in a group which could come out as along the lines of Romania v Finland or the likes

Presumably Scotland would qualify automatically as hosts and would stay in Glasgow for all 3 ties

If they chose Murrayfield rather than one of the 2 football grounds then Scotland could conceivably play a group tie there

Not a chance the Tynecastle pitch meets the criteria for a major European tournament. It's too small. Stadiums need to be 30k plus also. 

7 minutes ago, Gooby1983 said:

Not a chance the Tynecastle pitch meets the criteria for a major European tournament. It's too small. Stadiums need to be 30k plus also. 

It was 30k when it was 16 teams but I’ve a feeling it’s 40k now. I’m sure I remember reading when they expanded the euros to 24 it effectively ruled most smaller countries out of hosting it. 

4 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Currently it would but would be very short term thinking

Agree! If we are looking to get 15,000 season tickets a 16,000 stadium is absolutely ridiculous. Its a question of if they will/can get that amount or if its just more bullshit! If the club see that as a realistic target it seems incredibly short sighted. Short term it will prove alot cheaper but it leaves little to aim for in the future.

3 minutes ago, Robin Askwith said:

Aye yer right, but if it was built in a way we could extend if need be

16,000 to start with, and giving Sevco and Celtic 500 tickets when they come up 

That's all very well but how many of these stadiums who have the ability to extend ever get extended after the event? 

It's normally just a line to appease the fan base. 

7 minutes ago, slippers said:

Agree! If we are looking to get 15,000 season tickets a 16,000 stadium is absolutely ridiculous. Its a question of if they will/can get that amount or if its just more bullshit! If the club see that as a realistic target it seems incredibly short sighted. Short term it will prove alot cheaper but it leaves little to aim for in the future.

It'll be a long time/if at all before we get 15000 Season tickets

The only chance of 15000 ST's  is if we build for example a 16000 seater and AFC Marketing come out and say, the only way your guaranteed a ticket for Rangers /Celtic and European games is buy buying a ST.

Absolutely no point at the moment building a 20,000 seater.

Matchdays with 10,000 - 12,000 in it, will be as soulless as ever

22 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

As long as you're OK then. 

Nae that we'll be worrying about demand exceeding supply for a fair while yet, if ever 

Correct. If the club have ambitions to reach a top 100 UEFA European club, we need to start acting like one.

MK Dons are a prime example, 30,000 seater stadium, with an average attendance of 9000.

No point in building a thing that holds 20,000.

the only time it will ever be filled is if we play Man Utd in a friendly 

1 hour ago, Robin Askwith said:

Aye yer right, but if it was built in a way we could extend if need be

16,000 to start with, and giving Sevco and Celtic 500 tickets when they come up 

Only issue with that is that building a stadium from scratch with a capacity of 20000 plus will be cheaper in the long term than building a 16000 seater stadium and then expanding it in future when required.

50 minutes ago, perthshirered said:

No need for 20k, never has been a need even when they peaked. Those days will never return and with some harder times coming for the city then id reckon 17,500 would be the absolute max required. 

Its backward thinking.... at this exact moment in time and based on how the last 2 seasons have gone its hard to disagree however in each of the 2 seasons before covid we had 5 home attendances over 17500. Why cut off our nose to spite our faces? Get a winning team on the pitch and entertaining football and the fan base is there to have larger crowds.

16 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Its backward thinking.... at this exact moment in time and based on how the last 2 seasons have gone its hard to disagree however in each of the 2 seasons before covid we had 5 home attendances over 17500. Why cut off our nose to spite our faces? Get a winning team on the pitch and entertaining football and the fan base is there to have larger crowds.

If we can do what the club say they are going to do I have absolute no doubt we should be building a 20k stadium. The question is 15,000 a completely ridiculous season ticket count or realistic. If we get to the point where at minimum we trail the OF by 10-15 instead of 40 at end of season and a genuine challenger for trophies I see no reason why we cant average 17,000-18,000 a game and selling alot more for certain games. The club will be able to do some figures and show how many times the club has to sell x amount of tickets a season for it to be sustainable. If Cormack is being genuine about 15,000 season tickets its mental speaking about building a 16-17k stadium. They do also claim 10-15% of season ticket holders don't turn up each week though? Not sure if that's true or not?