Proposed new stadium, by Aberdeen beach

2 hours ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Only issue with that is that building a stadium from scratch with a capacity of 20000 plus will be cheaper in the long term than building a 16000 seater stadium and then expanding it in future when required.

The only way we're needing more than 16k is if we get bought by an Arab and have a realistic shot at the title, so I wouldn't worry about that.

8 minutes ago, Dr_Manhattan said:

Can't say too much about this, but I'm reliably informed this whole project is effectively deid.

ACC simply don't have the cash, and AFC are at it with what they're expecting from them.

Was highly unlikely to ever happen anyway. Posturing by a council on the way out in an attempt to win votes.

Just get it built at Kingsford and move on.

6 minutes ago, Dr_Manhattan said:

The only way we're needing more than 16k is if we get bought by an Arab and have a realistic shot at the title, so I wouldn't worry about that.

So you think things are so bad that we wont even get back to the days of 3 seasons ago when we had 6 attendances over 16000 and a further 5 over 15000?

7 minutes ago, Dr_Manhattan said:

Pretty much.

The world has changed. Not just Covid, but more and more people are watching online now. 

500 tickets max for the minkers from Glasgow, leaves 15.5k dons fans. 

In 2010 our average was under 10k a game at Pittodrie, within 7 years it was up to almost 16k. In that time we won 1 trophy. Don't need to be challenging for the title or winning trophies every year to get decent crowds back, just football worth watching.

Covid isn't the reason our crowds have dropped, eye bleedingly dire football is.

A 16k stadium for a top flight side in a one team city is totally backward thinking by the board. 
build it as 16k around 4 x lower tiers fair enough but build second tiers at each end like the DD & open for bigger games when needed. Build corporate & boxes (where the money is) all down one side upper tier & bars/prematch areas etc along other side. Hell could even build hotel on one side if ambitious enough & also a decent income generator. 

16k lower tier stadium would be fine with two ends upper tiers able to take another 3-4 k each when needed would be perfect.

I hate the backwards ways the club is headed. Far too small minded. 
Ever since Cormack came away with his ‘Top 100 club’ BS the club has been a complete joke shop.

We are the Fulham of the SPFL. Wee pathetic side with zero ambitions 

do like some other clubs do & have an upper tier with lease slots for various retailers etc. Different food vendors & bars etc. That can be open year round & not just game days

28 minutes ago, Tommy said:

Aberdeen is not a football city and the fact that close to 20% of the population are not Aberdonians contributes to that.

A 17,500 capacity is enough to cater for the regulars and any potential growth IF the team were doing well.

What diz that mean. On that statement glesgas nae.maist oh the punters that watch the big two hivna got a glesga post code.

We build a 20,000 seater stadium, we end up with a soulless bowl for up to 80% of home games.

It simply wouldn’t encourage the fans who pick and choose their games to ever purchase a season ticket.

16,000 seater promotes more folk to buy a ST for fear of missing out on the Sevco/ Celtic / European and cup games. 

It’s the only way we will ever get 15000 purchasing a ST.
As stated previously, the Glasgow pigs are only given 500 tickets for games up here 

2 hours ago, Sooper-hanz said:

A new stadium should have parts that could easily be sectioned off so that the place doesn't look empty but have scope for bigger crowds. 

We could do a deal where the stadium has no seats built into it. When you turn up at the match you hire a deckchair and as a result every seat inside the stadium will be taken. Win win….I will take 20% for the idea Davie Cormack!

2 hours ago, Robin Askwith said:

We build a 20,000 seater stadium, we end up with a soulless bowl for up to 80% of home games.

It simply wouldn’t encourage the fans who pick and choose their games to ever purchase a season ticket.

16,000 seater promotes more folk to buy a ST for fear of missing out on the Sevco/ Celtic / European and cup games. 

It’s the only way we will ever get 15000 purchasing a ST.
As stated previously, the Glasgow pigs are only given 500 tickets for games up here 

But if we were serious about the holy grail of Top 100 club then that would mean regular group stage football in Europe. 

That means losing out on a lot of home gate money for reduced capacity stadium just for the sake of selling a small % more ST’s & a better atmosphere against the likes of St Mirren 

Pathetic & zero ambition going forward.

Stadium should be 16/17k lower tier fair enough but both goal ends should have option of upper tier & Corporate can be all in upper main stand. 

I hate the way the club is headed. 
Steady ‘accepted’ by the support lapse into a wee diddy club status. No pride in the club anymore. It’s sad & pathetic 

5 hours ago, Tommy said:

Aberdeen is not a football city and the fact that close to 20% of the population are not Aberdonians contributes to that.

A 17,500 capacity is enough to cater for the regulars and any potential growth IF the team were doing well.

Sadly that IF scenario won't becoming to fruition anytime soon under Stephen Glass and Dave Cormack. 

5 hours ago, Tommy said:

That 20% probably represents a good deal of potential revenue, since they likely have a large amount of disposable income. 

They may not be 'football people' but they could be. They're a massive, untapped potential revenue stream for the only (big) team in the city. 

You build a stadium that caters to non-football people, and you target their wallets. You don't even have to watch the game, just spend your cash in our bars, restaurants, arcades, and well-appointed merch units. 

Cormack, of all people, should know all about that model of separating people from their money.  It's the standard model for any US sports team, and it works. 

22 minutes ago, Dr_Manhattan said:

Kelt min, football's not that kind of sport. You can't compare it to the US model. For a start, the games don't take 5 fucking hours to play.

People want to turn up to the game, watch it, then leave and either get blootered or go home. 'Twas ever thus.

I'd argue that it doesn't have to be that kind of a sport, though it could be argued a sport is a sport is a sport, when you're targeting the 'not really football people' we're talking about. 

Traditionally football is a working man's sport in the UK, and part of a 'go for a beer with your mates, go to the fitba, go for more beer with your mates' culture, and facilities are provided to suit those needs. Get in, watch the fitba, sell the punter a hamburger, get out. And you can cater to those fans with minimum effort. 

The problem with that is it doesn't address growth. You're simply sustaining your customer base. 

All the bells and whistles of the US model does address growth, and can be ignored by the traditional fan, but utilised by the non-fitba fan. 

8 hours ago, Ke1t said:

I'd argue that it doesn't have to be that kind of a sport, though it could be argued a sport is a sport is a sport, when you're targeting the 'not really football people' we're talking about. 

Traditionally football is a working man's sport in the UK, and part of a 'go for a beer with your mates, go to the fitba, go for more beer with your mates' culture, and facilities are provided to suit those needs. Get in, watch the fitba, sell the punter a hamburger, get out. And you can cater to those fans with minimum effort. 

The problem with that is it doesn't address growth. You're simply sustaining your customer base. 

All the bells and whistles of the US model does address growth, and can be ignored by the traditional fan, but utilised by the non-fitba fan. 

And the added bonus is that the non fitba fans won't notice how shite we are on the pitch. 

Aye. Let's dump all the real fitba fans and focus on the non fitba fans, they're the club's future. 

40 minutes ago, Andy_123 said:

Always felt we should go for a 20k, but have a section out of view of tv cameras that can be sectioned off. Like the upper deck in Hampden but obviously a lesser scale. Say 2.5 - 3k. 

Would leave us with a single tier which would be pretty much full most games (when we aren’t totally shite).

An excellent but probably expensive idea.

You'll get a 12 thousand seater stadium with a shite team and LIKE IT.

12 hours ago, Ke1t said:

Just can't see it working here, for the reasons already stated.

The atmosphere at football is entirely different. Can't see the wives happy to take the wee ones to the football to be exposed to mounted coppers and the like just for 90 minutes of 'amuse yourself for a while and see you after.'

Football clubs grow by winning things, not selling burgers and tat.

7 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

And the added bonus is that the non fitba fans won't notice how shite we are on the pitch. 

Aye. Let's dump all the real fitba fans and focus on the non fitba fans, they're the club's future. 

No part of catering to an influx of new fans eliminates the old fan base. 

And if it does, you're doing it wrong.