In the News

Ramandu

1 minute ago, CCB III said:

I truly can't understand the people criticising him. Nothing about them, no understanding of the bigger picture, it's all about them, how it inconveniences them. 

One of those weird Tory towns. Not reflective of public support for the RMT, Big Mick and the strikers.

4 minutes ago, milne_afc said:

One of those weird Tory towns. Not reflective of public support for the RMT, Big Mick and the strikers.

Fiona Bruce is doing a better job defending the tories than the Tory MP. 

Interrupted oor Mick (and others) a fair few times. 

Edit;

Couple tidies in the crowd tbf

Guest Grays Babylon 1875
15 minutes ago, CCB III said:

We've no fucking chance. A woman actually said that. 

What she needs is a good shagging.

1 hour ago, CCB III said:

What that he says here is unreasonable?

Where I have said they don't deserve a pay rise ?

Do they deserve a pay rise, yes but not sure it should be 8% plus.

I have yet to speak to anyone who do not think that they deserve a "decent" payrise nor that "big Mick" as you call him is not doing a brilliant job when talking to the press.

Problem is it's easy to have an opinion on the 1 topic but when you are expected to have answers and opinions for lots of topics as politicians are then it's also easy to be labelled a useless prick.

5 minutes ago, For Fecks Sake said:

Where I have said they don't deserve a pay rise ?

Do they deserve a pay rise, yes but not sure it should be 8% plus.

I have yet to speak to anyone who do not think that they deserve a "decent" payrise nor that "big Mick" as you call him is not doing a brilliant job when talking to the press.

Problem is it's easy to have an opinion on the 1 topic but when you are expected to have answers and opinions for lots of topics as politicians are then it's also easy to be labelled a useless prick.

Problem is the Conservative party have systematically suppressed public wages, introduced higher taxes for the working people, and pointedly refused to address the wealth inequality in the country. They've even aided and abetted it. 

Mr.Lynch is being vilified by the pieces of filth you vote for, because he has the temerity do demand for his union, a respectable set of conditions and pay. 

How is it defensible @For Fecks Sake that there are more billionaires in the country than ever before, and simultaneously more people using food banks than ever before? 

How can there be more working poor than there's ever been, people relying on state benefits etc to supplement their full time wage, and more millionaires/billionaires created throughout the pandemic? 

What's the justification for it? Do we just accept it? That's the natural order?

You’re absolutely right Consi, keep up the good fight. 

id argue that the blue collar workers who are duped by the media campaign against Mick and the Unions are actually worse than yer Rees-Moggs etc. 

It really defies belief that not everyone would support lower paid workers in getting a pay rise. And supporting these people doesn’t make you a ‘socialist or commie’ with all of the negative connotations that come with that. Complete propaganda by the media and if you’ve fallen for it, you’re an idiot. Yer joe pike’s etc need a real good doin over 

6 minutes ago, CCB III said:

How is it defensible @For Fecks Sake that there are more billionaires in the country than ever before, and simultaneously more people using food banks than ever before? 

How can there be more working poor than there's ever been, people relying on state benefits etc to supplement their full time wage, and more millionaires/billionaires created throughout the pandemic? 

What's the justification for it? Do we just accept it? That's the natural order?

That's free market capitalism. That's the foreseeable future kid.

Thank fuck I'm a millionaire   

Just now, frankie_mac's_4 said:

That's free market capitalism. That's the foreseeable future kid.

Thank fuck I'm a millionaire   

It's unsustainable, in an economic and ecological sense. 

It's impossible for it to continue as it is. People can only take so much. 

Would you like to fund my alleged drug habit?

7 minutes ago, Poodler said:

You’re absolutely right Consi, keep up the good fight. 

id argue that the blue collar workers who are duped by the media campaign against Mick and the Unions are actually worse than yer Rees-Moggs etc. 

It really defies belief that not everyone would support lower paid workers in getting a pay rise. And supporting these people doesn’t make you a ‘socialist or commie’ with all of the negative connotations that come with that. Complete propaganda by the media and if you’ve fallen for it, you’re an idiot. Yer joe pike’s etc need a real good doin over 

Part of the problem is that peoples opinions don't match reality. 

Older people (a lot vote blue) are generally more concerned with nonsense principles like "decency, honour, integrity" or how the candidate etc appears on television, if they are entertaining. Actually, the entertainment value is something we're all susceptible to. 

Recently read a book by Neil Postman called 'Amusing Ourselves to Death' and it covers the topic of political discourse in modern media pretty well. He thinks it's impossible to have meaningful discourse through the means of television (written in 88) but he does grimly predict the state of things now with the internet. 

Dunno if you're a reading man, but I would recommend it, it puts a perspective on things and allows you to catch yourself. 

The reality/substance of what anyone is saying is irrelevant now. It's about how they come across. That's part of the reason someone like Corbyn lost to Johnson. 

Basically, technology and media has fucked us, and thanks to that we'll be at the behest of billionaires, oligarchs and technocrats until the world burns and they shoot off to space. 

Just now, frankie_mac's_4 said:

Aye well, maybe we're due an extinction event - best chance to start again cos this site's nae going away any time soon.

I'm nae really a millionaire - just trying to get a rise oot ye

This shite could go away with class consciousness. Unfortunately it's categorically unachievable in Britain. A nation of islands. 

3 minutes ago, CCB III said:

Part of the problem is that peoples opinions don't match reality. 

Older people (a lot vote blue) are generally more concerned with nonsense principles like "decency, honour, integrity" or how the candidate etc appears on television, if they are entertaining. Actually, the entertainment value is something we're all susceptible to. 

A major factor is the rigid and uncompromising mindset of your aging population. The likes of Maryhilldon etc - over 50 and have believed what they’ve been told their whole lives. They believe the politicians, support the queen, believe the moon landings happened and now that were in an era with mounting evidence on the contrary, they don’t want to admit they’ve been wrong for a lifetime 

the road is rapidly changing, get out of the way if you can’t lend a hand. Cos the times they are a changing.

Reed a book a week cheers ? 

10 minutes ago, Poodler said:

A major factor is the rigid and uncompromising mindset of your aging population. The likes of Maryhilldon etc - over 50 and have believed what they’ve been told their whole lives. They believe the politicians, support the queen, believe the moon landings happened and now that were in an era with mounting evidence on the contrary, they don’t want to admit they’ve been wrong for a lifetime 

the road is rapidly changing, get out of the way if you can’t lend a hand. Cos the times they are a changing.

Reed a book a week cheers ? 

Didn't suggest you didn't. 

Just suggesting one for you!

Guest Grays Babylon 1875

Be fabricated stories coming out in the press in the next few days about Lyncho having sex with men with mangled hands, against their will, from 1982.

Guaranteed.