Wildlife

Dad

Just now, Beachend Bootboy said:

I could sell you a pair o' DM steelies. Then you wouldn't see the homo socks and better protection than yer Adidas.

I know, I need to look into the right gear

I dont have goggles, so shut my eyes to protect them just before the axe made contact

Thankfully I did, as a bit of bark flew off and smacked me right above my right eye brow 

Can see me take a step back at the end which was from the impact!

56 minutes ago, Millertime said:

I dont have goggles, so shut my eyes to protect them just before the axe made contact

Thankfully I did, as a bit of bark flew off and smacked me right above my right eye brow 

Imo the risk:reward ratio is not worth it. 

Get central heating please mt. 

2 hours ago, Millertime said:

You not got sunglasses min? Just wear them

You're welcome.

Just now, Sooper-hanz said:

Get yourself some decent boots and eye protection. Other than swinging the axe like some office fairy it was ok. 

Haha come on... that's literally the 3rd time I've ever done it

I'm all ears for advice though 

Was some ash trees round my wee sisters bit that had fallen

Was round chainsawing them,  then splitting them here 

2 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Just joking pal. If you’re not used to it don’t do too much at once or you’ll get tired and the axe will head for your shins. 

I know, in hindsight it's pretty stupid swinging it with my eyes closed

Bloody satisfying though

Chainsawing into manageable pieces

Splitting it into usable logs

Testing moisture for under 20pc

Burning in the log burner

The mrs has never been so aroused

23 hours ago, Millertime said:

Haha come on... that's literally the 3rd time I've ever done it

I'm all ears for advice though 

Was some ash trees round my wee sisters bit that had fallen

Was round chainsawing them,  then splitting them here 

It's best to season the wood, it drys it out makes it easier to chop and it burns cleaner. Do this by leaving them out in the rain for 6 months to preferably a year, then inside or in a completely dry cover area for a year after that before you burn them. Having a wee stack inside drying out even more before you burn them also helps. 

Big in the wood chopping game myself MT. Get warmer chopping the wood than the heat that the fire provides. 

pulled up the veg patch yesterday - cauliflower/ broccoli/ carrots and beetroot. Cauliflower and Brocoli take up some space for one product. Won’t be doing them again. 

14 hours ago, Redforever86 said:

It's best to season the wood, it drys it out makes it easier to chop and it burns cleaner. Do this by leaving them out in the rain for 6 months to preferably a year, then inside or in a completely dry cover area for a year after that before you burn them. Having a wee stack inside drying out even more before you burn them also helps. 

“Hey archie - any chance you could light the wood burner i’m freezing.”

“Aye nae bother love - just give me a couple of years to sort the wood.”

Handy as fuck that like.

I just press a button and my air source heating comes on. ?

3 hours ago, Reed or deed said:

Handy as fuck that like.

Haha I have a wood burner, barely use it, chuck it on in the winter sometimes. 

You bide in Scotland, what like is your air source in the winter? Did you have to upgrade the size of your heaters? 

4 hours ago, Reed or deed said:

Handy as fuck that like.

Air source heating?

I looked into that - wouldn't suit my house with it being as big and old as it is 

Air source heating better suited to smaller, newer homes