Sweeties You Liked As A Loon(And Maybe Still Do)

Torry Tosser

1 hour ago, manboobs109 said:

Really bad for you but a bit tablet with a cup of tea is hard to beat. I've tried making it but it's a bit of a hassle.

Very easy to beat! Tablet coats yer teeth afterwards - annoying. 

never been into sweets. Big in the biscuit game though. Massive, in fact. The Jamie dodger is a thing of beauty 

27 minutes ago, shut up meg said:

McCowans Toffee, I think they went bust

Eugene Diamond on Twitter: "I'll leave people of a certain age with a  memory of a penny chew .....This one McCowan's Highland Toffee was by far  the biggest seller in my early

Egg & Milk Chews .....think they were maybe McCowans too.

Mintola.....bit like After Eights.

Week-end .... a box of mixed sweets that my granny used to bring with her whenever she came to stay with us.  Aye, nae the same box every time. She took a new box each time.

1 hour ago, redone said:

Egg & Milk Chews .....think they were maybe McCowans too.

Mintola.....bit like After Eights.

Week-end .... a box of mixed sweets that my granny used to bring with her whenever she came to stay with us.  Aye, nae the same box every time. She took a new box each time.

Yup, as previously stated, panny caramels.

33 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said:

Yup, as previously stated, panny caramels

Canna mind on penny caramels , or was that just a generic collective name for these type of chewy/toffee sweets?

There was something called a Penny Dainty ....da ken if that was McCowans.

1 hour ago, redone said:

Canna mind on penny caramels , or was that just a generic collective name for these type of chewy/toffee sweets?

There was something called a Penny Dainty ....da ken if that was McCowans.

In my area it mostly meant them McGowan chews but could refer to any such thing for a penny (old money too).